We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with a gorgeous beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I spent 8 nights and 9 days here and we enjoyed every second of it! All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful! This resort is very well maintained. We spent the majority of our time at the beautiful beach. We loved being able to snorkel right off our beach....we recommend packing your own snorkel gear though instead of renting. We tried to get down to the beach early to get front row chairs. ;) One day we drove over to the Mauna Kea Resort to spend the day on that crescent-shaped beach. To our surprise, we were told since we were guests of Hapuna we could valet park for free! We also rented a paddle board here and were able to charge it to our room at Hapuna. We were very pleased with how clean and beautiful everything was. The rooms were also beautiful and the bed was SUPER comfortable! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for visiting! We're happy you enjoyed some excellent beach time at two of the best beaches in Hawaii during your stay with us. We'll look forward to your return soon. Mahalo and Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 3,703 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wife and I live on Windward Big Island. For our anniversary, we like to go over to the leeward side for a short holiday. The Hapuna Prince is located on the Kohala Coast, where it's almost always sunny. The Prince's beach is perfect mix of sun, sugary sand, gentle breezes, and everything a main lander dreams about. Accommodations are deluxe. Cuisine is scrumptious-ono. A fantastic resort and conveniently located to Kailua-Kona.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dodgerblu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We love welcoming kamaaina to our resort and we appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return to the sunny Kohala Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay at Hapuna Beach was fantastic. We stayed 6 nights, but we could have easily stayed longer. Despite the fact that we were there on a travelzoo voucher the staff upgraded us for our honeymoon, which was greatly appreciated. Our room was huge with a great lanai. Although it was a bit of a trek from the parking garage, our room had easy access to the grounds and pool. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. The location was amazing, the beach is gorgeous and the surf is fun for body boarding. It is definitely a relaxing getaway spot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Congratulations on your marriage and mahalo for choosing to Honeymoon with us! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return to celebrate many anniversaries to come. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Being able to walk from our room down to the swimming pool and then out to one of the most beautiful beaches was really a treat! Being on Hapuna beach is the reason to stay at this hotel. We swam a few times every day.The water was easy to get into and it was never crowded. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. Our room was good size with a large bathroom, and we had a balcony with a partial ocean view. The rest of our view was of the landscaped grounds which were very pretty. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Views from the lobby and breakfast buffet were amazing. Really, a beautiful spot. I would recommend having a car so you can travel around, since the hotel is somewhat secluded. It is quiet at night. The Big Island was great, with so much to see and if you want to stay right on a beautiful beach stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank N0rCalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Mahalo for staying with us and for your wonderful comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a getaway, in a beautiful location, with amenities to suit any style, this is your place.
Off the beaten path, you can find peace and serenity, if that's what you're looking for.
If you are in need of easy access to beach make sure you request that when booking. The layout of the buildings can be a hike for those with small children or mobility issues. The breakfast buffet is first rate. The staff, from the moment you walk in, is extraordinary. The concierge helped to plan activities prior to arriving, which was very helpful.
Evening dinners are a bit pricey. They charge for parking, a new, odd trend that I think is unnecessary.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Mahalo for your remarks and choosing to stay with us! We appreciate all you had to say and look forward to your return soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The best and most relaxing of our Big Island stops. Short walk to well-kept pool and splendid beach good for playing in waves and snorkeling. Our best oceanfront dinner during this trip was at Coast Grille--flawlessly prepared, great view, quiet feel. Walked over to Manta at the Mauna Kea for a pricier, not quite as nice dinner, but seeing the manta rays was memorable. Plenty of space everywhere, uncrowded, not much happening, in a good way. Spacious room and bath with dated fixtures. Garage parking keeps car out of sun. Royal palm walk above lobby was the best spot on the island we found for stargazing--the whole area is dark and quiet, and the Mauna Kea visitor's center was packed with people. Though our room was high above the beach and the view of the ocean was partly blocked by other buildings, the sound of the waves lapping up on the beach made our room wonderfully relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ipu-wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your visit and that you enjoyed the serenity of our resort. Thank you for staying with us and return soon! Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed her for 3 nights for 30th marriage anniversary. The ocean view from 9th floor was just excellent specially at sunrise and sunset. We were so relaxed and everything was more than I expected. I am sure I will stay here next time I come to Kona.again. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hir03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Owner at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Congratulations on your 30th anniversary and mahalo for celebrating your special occasion with us! We look forward to your return soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
0.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
27.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $265 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing