We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Vacation!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid for us (family with two kids 6 and 9) was perfect. We were never out of things to do. Our room on the 3rd floor was perfect no issues. The resort itsself is beautiful and well kept. Ping Pong at the pool is fun BUT hot. The food was OK but not great, for a good night away from the resort try to get to Tommy Bahamas restaurant at the mall near the resort we went twice as it was the best food we had all week. The Island was cloudy for most of our stay, however NOT over the Fairmont as it was always sunny and hot. We found the price to eat and drink on the resort a little high, however everywhere you go on the Island seems expensive. For us the Bay on the resort is where we played the most, snorkeling and paddle boarding. We did the UmaUma Zipline adventure and I would highly recommend this adventure its perfect for families with kids. Try to get to Hapuna state park, its about 7 minutes down hwy 19 and its a blast the waves are great bring a body board you will play all day.

We will be back that's for sure, our kids loved it. See you next year Fairmont Orchid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve4020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Steve4020, thank you staying with us! We are very pleased to know that you and your family had a great vacation on Hawaii Island, and excited that you plan to return next year. We look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,453
    954
    305
    123
    54
See reviews for
1,110
1,900
52
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent a wonderful week at the Fairmont Orchid. The location is fabulous, but my applause does not stop there. I took advantage of the Walls Without Walls on my first full day there. I can't think of a better way to start a vacation but to have almost two hours of luxurious spa attention (I had a massage and a facial treatment) just mere feet from the ocean. Brown's Beach House serves terrific food (and large portions) with an unobscured view of the ocean and those magnificent sunsets. The staff is very kind and cordial. My ocean view room was out of this world and quiet. I visited in early July when the hotel wasn't too crowded. I understand from speaking to hotel staff that occupancy can increase over the course of the summer, but early July was, well, paradise at the Fairmont Orchid. I wish I had discovered the Luana Lounge sooner in my stay as I had a great "small meal" at the bar the night before I left. The Hale Kai restaurant has an outside bar area that presents a tremendous view and an ocean breeze. The Hale Kai also serves as the bar area for the pool, but I never felt crowded by folks at the pool that came to get beverages. In a nutshell, the Fairmont Orchid is just a lovely, lovely place. I plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at Orchid for five nights with older daughter and teenage son. Great location with just the right amount of activites. Having both a nice pool area as well as the ocean beach area offered nice variety. Service was great across the board. Rooms were nice, bathrooms terrific with tub and separate shower. As others have said nice view from every room. Grounds are immaculate and while its a big resort it has an intimate feel to it, unlike the Hilton up the road. Breakfast buffet in the morning as part of our package was a big plus. Lots of variety and food was great. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least good views of beautifully landscaped grounds and many have at least partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jn1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

They got this one right, from the design of the site and grounds to the layout and design of rooms and public spaces, execution is successful throughout. It helps that they enjoy one of the best locations along this coast. If you have not been to the area yet, it's a bit disconcerting viewing the landscape you pass through from the airport, empty and hot lava fields (the road itself is part of the annual ironman challenge course). Once on-property, it's quite a different world with lush grounds and a generally breezy expansive ocean exposure.
Everything about the property seems solid and well done, including dining options. The breakfast buffet is among the best we have found, a slight annoyance being the number of birds waiting around to sneak a bit from your plate (kids loved hem at first but even they grew tired).
There is a good selection of lunch and evening dining options, all solid and somewhat on the costly side, I guess this being not such a surprise. One hint if you want something lighter and sort of a deal, the lounge offers quite a few items and some drinks one-half price between 8-10, really enough of a selection that we made this dinner twice (and it's a nice overlook patio location).
Snorkling, sunsets, sea turtles, etc all great, everyone will find things to like about the beach.

Room Tip: The main wings are perpendicular to the oceanfront so most room have an angled view. Rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A beautifully maintained resort in all aspects, from public spaces and rooms to the superbly designed tropical gardens. Everything looks new and perfectly attuned to the Hawaiian culture. The staff is most congenial and welcoming. Our room was extremely quiet and well furnished with amenities, including a small empty refrigerator for fruit, wine, beer or whatever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a wonderful time here with my wife and two small daughters. Good food and excellent breakfast. The pool area was very nice and having turtles coming up on the beach is testament to how well the area is preserved. Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhsymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed on the Gold floor this last week. The staff was super attentive and helped us with activities and reservations. Nice spread for breakfast, tea, and happy hour. The beds were extremely comfortable! We also enjoyed the beach and snorkeling that was right on site so easy to access. Our kids are actually adults now, but it looked very family friendly.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the north side of the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCA34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Property: Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing