We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

They got this one right, from the design of the site and grounds to the layout and design of rooms and public spaces, execution is successful throughout. It helps that they enjoy one of the best locations along this coast. If you have not been to the area yet, it's a bit disconcerting viewing the landscape you pass through from the airport, empty and hot lava fields (the road itself is part of the annual ironman challenge course). Once on-property, it's quite a different world with lush grounds and a generally breezy expansive ocean exposure.
Everything about the property seems solid and well done, including dining options. The breakfast buffet is among the best we have found, a slight annoyance being the number of birds waiting around to sneak a bit from your plate (kids loved hem at first but even they grew tired).
There is a good selection of lunch and evening dining options, all solid and somewhat on the costly side, I guess this being not such a surprise. One hint if you want something lighter and sort of a deal, the lounge offers quite a few items and some drinks one-half price between 8-10, really enough of a selection that we made this dinner twice (and it's a nice overlook patio location).
Snorkling, sunsets, sea turtles, etc all great, everyone will find things to like about the beach.

Room Tip: The main wings are perpendicular to the oceanfront so most room have an angled view. Rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PrestonR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,021 - 2,027 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

A beautifully maintained resort in all aspects, from public spaces and rooms to the superbly designed tropical gardens. Everything looks new and perfectly attuned to the Hawaiian culture. The staff is most congenial and welcoming. Our room was extremely quiet and well furnished with amenities, including a small empty refrigerator for fruit, wine, beer or whatever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a wonderful time here with my wife and two small daughters. Good food and excellent breakfast. The pool area was very nice and having turtles coming up on the beach is testament to how well the area is preserved. Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jhsymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family stayed on the Gold floor this last week. The staff was super attentive and helped us with activities and reservations. Nice spread for breakfast, tea, and happy hour. The beds were extremely comfortable! We also enjoyed the beach and snorkeling that was right on site so easy to access. Our kids are actually adults now, but it looked very family friendly.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the north side of the north tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BCA34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's hard to imagine a nicer place to stay than the Fairmont Orchid. The grounds are sprawling and immaculately landscaped, the views are divine, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are lovely. There's not a bad view in the hotel. I'd stay again in a heartbeat, because it's a great value for the cost and has some nice extras for President's Club members (it's free to join and you get some perks).

So what's keeping it from being 5 stars? Sometimes it has a bit of a cruise ship feel that seems out of place at such a high-end hotel. For instance: Staff chasing you off "reserved" chairs even at 6 p.m. when they've been abandoned for hours. (They're $45 to rent and $25 for a "half day" which starts at 2 p.m. and doesn't include food -- but when the "day" is officially over, it's not great to be told I shouldn't be sitting and watching the sunset on a completely empty chair.) Brown's Beach House is a stunning setting and the food is better than it has to be, but for $30 appetizers, those apps shouldn't come out less than five minutes after we placed the order. (Were they just sitting under a heat lamp waiting to be ordered? Ick. And being rushed out of our seating during a pricey meal - double ick.) The spa treatment areas are ridiculously gorgeous, but as others have noticed, the check in/locker area is dirty and dated.

It's a few little things like that which didn't seem to live up to the promise of this absolutely beautiful hotel, but they're so minor and can be easily fixed. Hopefully they will be during our next visit!

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, don't book a "partial" room - you won't get one unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great service! They helped my husband and family plan an exceptional surprise birthday party day for me, including
picnic lunch basket
limo ride
sunset cruise
Catered dinner in our room with AMAZING sugar free birthday cake
Beautiful flower arrangements.
This was at least a 2 month planning process prior to our stay.

During our 9 day stay, everyone went out of their way to make this a memorable and pleasant experience - true 5 star service in every aspect.


Rooms were a little small and we could hear construction/road noise (we did not have an ocean view-the ocean side would have been quieter) but otherwise fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank tawnarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

great hotel with lots to offer. very peaceful location with all the amenities of a large hotel, yet a small hotel feeling. enjoy Hawaiian sunsets, beautiful beach, friendly turtles and excellent staff for a complete relaxing vacation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $330 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing