We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I just came back after 12 nights stay at Fairmont Orchid Hotel. It was our first trip to Hawaii and neither of us knew of a good place to stay and what to expect. We could have not asked for anything better! Beautiful beach, friendly staff, open space in the hotel and good service! Loved every single minute of it! I was a bit worried after reading few comments about the food, but have to say both of us enjoyed every meal we had there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denys I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,493
    967
    313
    124
    55
See reviews for
1,137
1,924
54
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed 4 days at the Fairmont Orchid in May 2014. We stayed on the Gold floor, and it was perfect in every way. Check-in was a breeze -- we arrived around noon, and our room was ready. We booked this trip through Pleasant Holidays -- and we were not disappointed! The resort is beautiful. The staff is wonderful. We took advantage of the beach recreation package and were able to snorkel, paddle board, etc. throughout our stay. We had breakfast each morning on the Gold floor, which was excellent. Lunch out by the pool was perfect too! The Orchid has beach service -- so that was nice to be able to order drinks and food from the beach! We went to the Spa and did the waterfall massage, which was great. Every employee that we dealt with was professional and such a pleasure to deal with -- don't have a single complaint about anything. We did the Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour, and it was fabulous. My only complaint is that we could not stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a lovely resort with beautiful décor, friendly staff, fantastic gardens and pool area, with a fantastic outlook that includes Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles right in front of the resort every day we were their - absolutely fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Nice grounds and comfortable rooms.
Service good - complaints.
Little beach lagoon was a fun spot for swimming, snorkeling and sea turtle spotting.
Drinks, very inconsistent from bar to bar. Really should be able to order a drink and get somewhat the same thing...
Food, terrible. I did not experience a good meal at this hotel. I should in all fairness mention that I attended on a conference so yes there was many of us and all our meals were catered. But, this is certainly no excuse for bad food. I cant comment on food from the restaurants only from the catering dept. Again, terrible and mostly lacked flavor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed here over twenty years ago when it was a Ritz-Carlton property and I said I would never go back--I thought the place was beautiful then, but the atmosphere was incredibly stuffy. With Fairmont management, it is a totally different place! I would go back in an instant now!

The rooms are spacious and elegantly designed (with a slight island theme, but nothing in the least bit tacky). Bathroom was huge with shower stall AND shower/tub combo and separate room for the commode... Grounds are as more beautiful than before--while the beach is small, it is more than enough for most purposes.

Staff members were incredibly friendly and helpful without any degree of pretense that was present twenty years ago. I am delighted that things have changed so much for the better over the years.

Room Tip: Obviously any room facing the ocean directly are preferred, but certainly are priced higher. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveinatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just a great time and would suggest any if they are Hawaii to go to the Hotel. We really enjoyed the services and the location of our room. room was always kept clean Room service charges were way to high and costly so we didn't use them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We recently returned from 3 night stay at The Fairmont Orchid. The hotel is about 45 minutes from the airport. The location and grounds of the hotel are beautiful. It's directly on the water with small private beach that is alongside a shallow lagoon. Turtles swam amongst snorkelers and paddle boards just a few feet from shore. The pool area was nice and had plenty of lounge chairs for relaxing. On the beach cabanas (covered lounge chairs) could be rented. (about $40/day during our visit) The staff at the hotel was friendly and constantly greeted guests when they saw you. Often you couldn't walk 10 feet without a "good morning", "aloha" or "hello".
During check in we were upgraded from an ocean view room to an ocean front room. I would definitely book an ocean front room next time. Parts of the room were slightly dated and areas in the bathroom showed their age but the view was amazing. You cant beat being just steps from the beach. A few minor cosmetic issues in the bedroom/bathroom prevented me from rating this resort a full 5 stars.
The hotel has a fitness center (small, but very functional), spa (nice, services/prices you'd expect at a Fairmont) and a few restaurants and bars. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet one morning. It was delicious. The buffet featured numerous selections including fresh fruit, eggs prepared to order and pastries to name a few. Each day we ordered lunch from the servers at the beach or pool. The outdoor menu was appetizing. It included burgers, finger foods and snacks that were perfect to eat while enjoying the beach or lounging pool side. For dinners we explored outside the resort.
Over all the resort was great. It was slightly more laid back than other Fairmont Properties I have stayed. I felt there was a few instances when the staff could have been a little more attentive or helpful but as a whole they were great. I would stay here again.
Tips: 1- rent a car, cab fare adds up fast if you leave the resort. 2- ocean front room. 3-use the snorkel equipment provided if you don't have your own to see the turtles and fish in the lagoon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your feedback and suggestions for ways we can improve, and how future guests can make the most of their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Property: Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing