We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay. Choose gold level. Those little extra features will make a huge difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Before booking I spent some time looking for reviews that talked about gold level so I want to point out that gold level, in my opinion, is a must. There is breakfast in the gold lounge that included two hot foods (pancakes, eggs, sausage), fruit, cereal and yogurt. In the evenings there is appetizers, always something made with local ingredients. Coffee, soda, juice, water and honor bar all day. Staff in lounge is beyond great. The lady who works during breakfast goes out of her way to make everyone happy. Gold Includes valet parking. You pass by the gold level desk on the way to the elevator so they will call for your car. By the time you make it out front, your car is waiting. Major plus when you spend a lot of time doing activities outside the hotel. The ladies at the gold desk were always helpful, made reservations, helped with directions ect. The room was nice. Standard room that was clean, nice bed, nice bathroom, nice balcony. We upgraded from a garden view to a ocean view however I now feel that it is a waste of money since the garden view rooms also had a view of the ocean. That was the only disappointing thing about the room. I enjoyed the shower with a glass door as opposed to having a tub and shower curtain. Housekeeping staff is great as well. Like all the staff at the fairmont, they were always saying hello, asking how out day was and making sure we didn't need anything. Norios restaurant was not good. Was served a white fish completely raw inside when it was supposed to be grilled. Sushi not good either. Brown's was very good. Local seafood prepared perfectly. Sat outside as the sun set. Great little cove to snorkel. Sand beach with chairs. Rented a cabana but was very dissappointed to find out that a cabana was a lounge chair with a cover. Thought we were renting an actual cabana. There is also a lounge and beach restaurant. The balcony at the lounge was nice to sit on in the evenings as it over looks the pool and the ocean. Great location, gorgeous views, nice property, wonderful staff. Overall great stay, great time. We will be returning to the Fairmont and will definitely look into staying at other fairmont properties in other cities.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caesarmaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a beautiful property and I would revisit in a heartbeat. We stayed here with our three daughters, aged 8 through 14. We enjoyed the pool and beach. I loved the morning floating yoga class and my husband enjoyed the snorkelling in the lagoon. He was pleasantly surprised by the number of fish he saw. We only stayed three nights and two full days, but would have gladly stayed longer. However, if you plan to visit Volcano Village, you might want to consider staying near Hilo for a time. We travelled across the island and saw what we could of Volcano Village in one day. Due to time constraints we didn't have time to take the Crater Rim drive. Next time, we would spend a few days at the Fairmont Orchid and a few days somewhere near Hilo. Being a Fairmont hotel, it is pricey, especially for Canadians travelling with a low dollar. But you get what you pay for, and this resort is fabulous.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite facing the pool/garden and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleWardKantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked a King and checked into a 2 queen room that smelled like smoke. Took several complaints to get moved to another room. Lack of service and attention to detail throughout stay. Food was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The highlight was the little protected beach with coral that allowed for amazing snorkelling. Twice we found ourselves swimming with the turtles. The other equally awesome highlight was the tennis center ... the staff became like family during our stay ... Lianne, Rudy and Lei were truly genuine, awesome people, and Liane's work with my daughter exponentially improved her game. More importantly, she did more for her self confidence than anyone has done all year! She was so encouraging and high energy ... she's a gem, and for this reason alone, we will visit the Fairmont Orchid again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverFarzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We (2 adults, 2 14 year olds) stayed at the Fairmont Orchid in March 2014. The rooms are standard hotel rooms with large washrooms with separate tubs and, albeit small, shower stalls and either a patio or a balcony. The hotel is a U-shaped building with all of the services in the middle part and the rooms in a North and a South Tower. The North Tower is beside a golf course and this tower is home to their Gold Floor. The South Tower is near the beach and activities area and adjacent to a residential development. The lagoon style beach is a decent size and the area where you can swim has large chunks of lava blocking any big waves coming in from the ocean so the water is quite calm. However, this area has random rocks in the water so you do need water shoes. One morning we saw a tractor pull a sieve-like attachment along the whole beach area sifting out the larger rocks so walking barefoot outside of the water is usually comfortable. The snorkelling right near the shore is amazing - we saw gars, tangs, angel fish, puffer fish, parrot fish, turtles and many others. If you would like to use the resort's equipment (snorkel gear, boogie and paddle boards, kayaks, etc) there is a one time fee per person for your whole stay. It is $65.00 for kids under 12 and $75.00 for everyone else and you have to sign a waiver every day you would like to use anything. There are more than enough loungers on the beach but very little shade. You can rent 2-person cabanas, which are 2 wooden loungers joined together by a small table with an adjustable canopy you can tie down at any shade level. The cost is $45 per day or $65 for a premium spot. There is a $10 discount for Fairmont members. The rental comes with a cooler filled with 2 bottles of water, some macadamia nuts and a small bag of chips.
If you like to walk the beach, other than the lagoon, there is no beach to walk. However, there is a well-established path along the shoreline you can walk and it goes quite far both North and South. It is very rocky so you will need shoes. There is also a fenced-off area where you can watch the turtles. One evening we counted 9. The Activities department offers hikes every morning, with one hike taking you to some nearby protected Petroglyphs. There is a complimentary Arts & Crafts hour at 3:00 every day. One day they showed everyone how to properly cut a pineapple and another day they made a fish on a wire from palm fronds. There was a beach volleyball court behind the Activities Hut and we saw a few games being played that seemed more like "pick-up" games than organized events. There were 3 Yoga classes each morning (some were on the paddle boards out in the water and some were on the grass, while others were right on the beach.) and they were $20 each. The pool is quite large and is randomly shaped. The water is very very warm but not deep enough for diving. You can rent cabanas around the pool as well but there were plenty of loungers and shade umbrellas that seemed accessible at any time of the day. There is also a hot tub hidden in the gardens. What was nice is that they have an apparatus that will lift a physically challenged person into the pool and they had another one at the hot tub, if that is something you require.
The Orchid has a complimentary shuttle van (whose drivers were very likeable) that takes guests anywhere in the Mauna Lani neighbourhood (the area in which this resort is situated) - to the Mauna Lani Shops,(http://www.shopsatmaunalani.com) to the nearby golf courses and to the other resorts where there are 2 more restaurants. There are 3 restaurants at the Shops at Mauna Lani as well as clothing stores, art shops, souvenir stores and a grocery store. There is also a 4D movie theatre that runs six 3-8 minute movies on a continuous basis. Kinda hokey but lots of fun. The posted price was $5 each but they had 1/2 price specials all the time. On Monday and Thursday evenings the Shops offered a complimentary Polynesian Hula & Fire show in their main court which was very popular.
On Saturday nights, the Orchid hosts the "Gathering of the Kings" Luau. The price ranges from $75.00 - $109.00 and they offer VIP for an additional fee. With VIP, you get closer seats and first crack at the buffet. If it rains they hold the Luau inside in one of their banquet halls and will not offer your money back. Each evening there was some form of entertainment somewhere on the resort. We listened to a solo guitarist in the Luana Lounge one evening, and we heard singers and various instruments near the other restaurants on other nights. The Orchid has a $25.00 per day Resort Fee. (This is a bit of a cash grab if you are a Fairmont member.) This fee helps pay for: the neighbourhood Shuttle, nightly turndown service with bottles of water, WiFi, local and 1-800 calls, self parking, 24 hour Fitness Room access, 2 sets of snorkel equipment for 1 hour per day and 10% off of their Luau price if you book it through the concierge.
We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Village a few years ago and would recommend that resort over this one if you have a young family. They have more amenities for the entertainment of kids: mini golf, water slides, rope bridges, trams, water ferries, a mini zoo, shallow kids-only pools and the DolphinQuest experience. I would suggest the Fairmont if you are looking for a relaxing vacation in beautiful surroundings and if serenity is at the top of your list of wants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 24Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My boyfriend & I just got back from a 5 night stay at the Fairmont Orchid Hawaii. We have travelled quite a bit all over the US & the world & we have never had anything stolen! It was a bummer to an otherwise great relaxing vacation. While checking out, we realized an iPod, noise cancelling earphones, & our keys- our house keys, car keys, mailbox keys, etc- were all stolen out of a duffle bag that was left in the room the entire trip. If anyone has ever lost their keys, you know replacing car keys costs over $350 these days becuase of keyless entry transmitters/keyfobs. We had to have a locksmith meet us at our house so that we could get in & that was after taking a cab from the airport because we couldn't drive our car home without the key. It was a mess! The security dept at the Fairmont did call a couple times the next day to ask questions but we have not received any update since. It's disappointing. We are up to over $1000 in expenses because of the theft without factoring in the cost of the ipod & headphones. On the gnat subject- we ate lunch at the pool on the first day & the swarm of gnats were really annoying. We could barely eat our food. The guy that brought us the food said the hotel knew about the gants & this year they were worse than usual. Fast forward to that evening in our room, there were dozens of gants dead all around the sinks in the bathroom & we turned the lights off at night & had a reading light on. We could see gnats flying all around. It was gross for a nice hotel. They changed our room the next day to a higher floor. That helped. We only found a handful of gants which after the previous night was a big improvement.Overall, this is a nice hotel if we didn't have to deal with the theft. We almost always use the hotel safe & only locked up our wallets & valuables. We let our guard down & didn't lock up our ipod, headphones, & keys..still questioning why someone would steal our keys!??! Would have appreciated a better response from the hotel. I filed a police report so that hopefully it is a least public record & travellers can be warned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank colotrvlers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Aloha Colotrvlers2,

Please accept our sincere apology for the frustration and hassle you have experienced due to the loss of personal items during your recent visit. We take this matter very seriously, and will do everything we can to determine what happened. We are in the process of conducting an investigation into this matter and will be contacting you privately with an update. We are very sorry for the unpleasant conditions at lunch and in your guest room due to the abnormally high numbers of gnats in our area at the time of your visit. I assure you this is not normal, and may be attributed to recent heavy rains. We are proactively addressing the situation with the involvement of our staff and our professional pest control company. We are pleased that to know that you do have fond memories of your stay and had it not been for these regrettable events, you would have considered your stay a great relaxing vacation. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

All the architectural charm of public school #16 despite beautiful setting.
Terrible room service food.
Extraordinary service and aloha spirit at this facility but many of the staff just seemed tired.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $329 - $885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing