We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our second visit to the Fairmont Orchid on the Big Island and the second visit was even more enjoyable than the first. The property offers it's own small private beach where you can snorkel and paddle board or canoe, amongst other things. The rentals are very reasonable and I would suggest if you are not already a member of the President's Club that you become one for you receive a 20% discount on rentals and for purchases at the gift shops in the hotel. The gift shops have an amazing selection of swim suits and clothing as well as jewelry.:-) The Sushi restaurant in the hotel is probably one of the best we've ever experienced and the pool bar food was so fresh and tasty - a bonus is they offer many gluten free choices and choices for many other dietary restrictions. Same goes for the room service breakfast each day - they were quick and had were able to fill our dietary requests with no issues.

The valet staff were very helpful with directions and with information on the best beaches for what we were looking for - big Waves! The cleaning staff were very friendly and efficient. We left notes with certain requests and they were always filled when we got back to them room. We did of course tip each day so that may have helped. :-)

We will definitely go back to the Fairmont Orchid.

Room Tip: Stay in the left tower as you enter the hotel. We stayed in the right tower the first trip and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22Cici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Aloha!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate your loyalty and are thrilled to know that your second visit was even better than the first. We look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,332 - 2,338 of 4,249 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a nice hotel. The service staff is amazing! The rooms are beautiful. The lightly rose scented toiletries were lovely. We had great food at the casual restaurant beachside. The fitness room was fantastic-good variety of cardio machines- treadmills, ellipticals and bikes. There were free weights, weight machines, fit balls and more. The one negative, I find it very annoying when a hotel of this quality charges a fee for wifi. But, at least at the Fairmont, if you sign up for the Presidents Club you can have this fee waved.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms have a patio or balcony and you can see the ocean and save some money. Also the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pecan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I would have given this a 5 but the local is just simply too far from everything on this large island. The food is expensive as others have written but this is a Fairmont resort in Hawaii and to expect otherwise is just....well...dumb. You don't pay 400+ a night for a room and expect a $10 hamburger. We had breakfast included in our nightly fee and it was always enjoyable. We ate at most of the restaurants while we were here. I only had issue with one meal and it was removed from my bill and I truly did not expect that to happen.
I have read the other reviews about the staff being tired and I have been here for long enough to see a lot of the staff and they always greet us with smiles and remember our names. The hotel has been at over 90% capacity for the last few nights and still everyone is cheerful and quite humorous. The valet is prompt and extremely courteous. The staff at the restaurants are VERY attentive and speedy. We had only one server who was subpar but everyone has their days and we ate here a lot so to have only one is just fine with me.
The rooms are spacious and we stayed in 2545. We overlooked the golf course and were able to watch the whales breaching. The only complaint I have is that if you are on your balcony you can hear everything from the rooms around you but that is a minor inconvenience. The house keeping staff are prompt and quite thorough.
Overall a good experience. Great place for families. Make sure to read the info in the room there is quite a bit offered that you might otherwise miss. Great gym. Great pool. Lots of room for everyone. Lots of turtles and decent snorkelling. The concierge is extremely helpful as well....thank you john!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Michelle,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid. We truly appreciate your compliments about our resort, our helpful and friendly staff, as well as your feedback identifying a few areas in need of improvement. Thank you for choosing to stay with us - we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here three nights with my wife and two-year-old on the gold level. We felt completely pampered and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Gold level is completely worth the extra money. The breakfast was amazing every day. My two-year-old loved the pool and the private beach. I snorkeled right by the resort daily and came face-to-face with a sea turtle, it was truly amazing.

Room Tip: Gold level is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penrosekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Aloha,

Thank thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are grateful for your wonderful comments and delighted that you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold. Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms. Scenic view from a very small beach. Pool was kinda crowded. You will get nickled and dimed every step of the way if you have kids. $100 for breakfast......with very limited alternatives.......Seriously! Gets old after the first couple of days.

Service was average. Not peppy.... Not happy to serve. The staff seemed tired and at times complacent.

I would take the same amount we spent, rent a nearby house for the week which I understand offers a better beach club and pools and food. And have plenty left over for fancy restaurants.

Maybe this resort is better if you don't have kids.

For the Fairmont name and cost, I was not impressed.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Nkauzins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

After spending 4 days at The Fairmont Kea Lani on Maui, The Fairmont Orchid was a big disappointment. Original room was 2nd floor facing the fairway of golf course. Very uncomfortable looking out at night into nothing but black. We like the fresh air and did not have a good feeling about leaving slider open. They did change our room on request the next day to a higher floor facing interior of resort. Bar staff at tiki were all business. The luggage handlers were the most friendly out of the staff. For the $$$$ I would recommend staying elsewhere. Did not dine at any of the in-house restaurants. Too expensive.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Maryann, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept our sincere apology that your stay was a disappointment. Your feedback is important to us, and will be shared with our team and used to improve in the areas where we fell short of your expectations. Should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island in the future, we hope you consider allowing us an opportunity to gain your confidence.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A largely un-attentive staff, poor value for the cost and cold food have been the hallmark of our vacation thus far. This is certainly not the experience we've had at other Fairmont properties around the world. A special occasion dinner at the signature restaurant had us placed at a kitchen door table. The service was slow and the food cold. The beach area had the audacity to charge 12.50 per hour for snorkeling gear. Luckily we found and offsite proprietor that charged the same for a full two days. We have a few days left here and we're trying to find things to do off property. Truly disappointing and a terrible value proposition.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Aloha Patrick,

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal Fairmont customer. We are very sorry that your stay at The Fairmont Orchid did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us, and while it is very difficult to learn that your stay was a disappointment, we appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $334 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing