We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$500
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$629
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$342
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
$227
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Waikoloa Village(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
$330
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$649
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$649
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,451)
Filter reviews
4,451 results
Traveler rating
2,813
1,091
349
136
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,813
1,091
349
136
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floornorth towerluana loungebrown's delihale kaispa without wallspresident's clubbrown's beach housefairmont orchidthe big islandsea turtlesfishsushi restaurantgolf courseour honeymoongarden viewpaddle boards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,690 - 2,695 of 4,451 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! We stayed 10days of our 6wk vacation here. Everytime we are on the Big island we always come back. Love that they redid the rooms in a nice stone color. Service is always wonderful and night tennis was so much fun. Next time we'll stay longer. Food is priced right. We stayed at the Hilton a few days to mix things up and will never do that again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us again. We are pleased that you like our renovated guest rooms. Later this month we will unveil our newly renovated Fairmont Gold rooms, which will be similar but with some additional enhancements. We look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Fairmont Orchid is a beautiful hotel with great service and hospitality. The views are incredible from almost anywhere on the property. The pool is large and heated, and open 24 hours which is wonderful if you're a night/early morning swimmer. The lagoon is also nice and warm (salt water) and is completely safe. The few restaurants that the hotel has are great. I would highly recommend Brown's Beach House for a nice dinner. You're right by the beach so you have a great view of the sunset. For coffee and breakfast lovers, Brown's Deli is also a great place to go.There are only a few downfalls to this wonderful hotel. Each hotel room requires $500 down payment, and anything you spend at the hotel comes from that. The stores (with the exception of one) contain insanely high prices. Another less than satisfactory detail is the rooms. They do not come with any kind of kitchen appliances except for a fridge. This can be a problem if you want to cook something or reheat something. But all in all, it's a wonderful hotel that I would definitely recommend for people who are willing to pay for it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the South tower on the 3rd floor if you want a good view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazydaisy12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Green turtles on the beach, beautiful beach fronted pool, gorgeous grounds with waterfalls and plants aplenty.

Fantastic supermarket very close by offering hot deli take out, great range of sushi etc - we often therefore self catered breakfast and either lunch or dinner.

Don't rent snorkelling equipment from the hotel beach area - rip off. Go to Snorkel Bob's instead (a couple of minutes away by car)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmcSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Big rooms and lanai. Bathrooms are spacious. Beds are very comfortable. Quiet area. Appreciated the access to the beach without going through the lobby area. Scenic comfortable sitting areas throughout the hotel. The grounds are stunning, landscape is beautiful and so well maintained. Loved the family friendly outdoor movie night with popcorn! Great to have bottles of water each day. Nice to have free internet by being a member of their travel program. Nightly turn-down service was a nice touch, and liked that they replaced dirty towels at that time if needed. Beach area is nice with more than enough lounge chairs and lots of equipment to rent. Beautiful views.
My only complaints would be the daily fee for parking was high. And the wait for service at breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The property is nice and well decorated, but completely overrated with regards to overall experience. Cannot believe this is a 4.5 star resort. Rooms are not maintained well and clearly have been neglected. Bathtub was rusty and the toilet's septic tank consistenly made an annoying squeeking noise. Came back even after they tried to fix it.. Woke us up several nights. Room service dishes and silverware were filthy. The biggest issue for me was that only about 15% of the pool lounge chairs had umbrellas, with the rest completely exposed to the sun making a day by the pool or beach extremely uncomfortable. The pool and beach areas have cabanas that could be rented for $35-45 for the day, but the few by the pool were usually sold by 11am. Service varied by emloyee. Reception desk and valet were great, but the woman at beach rentals did not look happy to be there and gave us an attitude. The property itself is very nice however with a great location and scenic views. You can get this with other hotels though and pay less. Dissappointing for a Fairmont and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews