We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding for Two”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We loved the Fairmont Orchid. We stayed 5 nights, and from the moment we arrived until we checked out, all of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were very happy with the service.

Rooms - Decent room, pretty standard, nice big marble bathroom with separate shower and tub. We had a room overlooking the golf course and it was quiet.

Pool & Beach - The pool is very nice and large. The beach is tiny, just a little bay, so if you love the beach this may not be the best place for you.

Spa - I had a manicure and my hair done. The spa is nice, and again I was very happy with the service.

Gym - We find these tripadvisor reviews often fail to mention the fitness facilities at the hotel... The gym here was really good as far as hotel fitness centers go. My husband works out every day and was happy with it.

Location - Within a short drive of a market (Foodland) where you can stock up on drinks, snacks etc. and they had some ready made food if you didn't feel like eating out all the time. There is good shopping nearby, within about a 5-10 minute drive. Other than that you are quite far from the major attractions. But you can circle the entire island in 5-6 hours, so everything is within a one day drive.

Restaurants/Food - We ate at the Hale Kai restaurant twice, everything we tried was fantastic. I am still thinking about the awesome Hawaiian burger and coconut shrimp. We had one meal at Brown's Beach house, which was also excellent.

Wedding - We got married at the resort, in the wedding gazebo. It was PERFECT, we couldn't have been happier with our decision. We eloped, and the hotel has a "Just the Two of us" package which they don't advertise on their website. The wedding coordinator makes everything easy: they arrange a marriage licence appt for you, provide the officiant, help you pick a florist and photographer if you want them, arrange a dinner etc. We got married at 5:00, as sunset was at approx. 5:50 that day. The sunset pictures are so amazing they almost look fake! The gazebo is on the edge of the property near the golf course, so there weren't really people walking by, and it felt very private. If you want a simple private ceremony I do recommend getting married here.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kirke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful wedding! We wish you nothing but the best as you begin this new chapter in your lives together and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,104)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,883 - 2,889 of 4,104 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just returned from a week at the Fairmont Orchid. Would have been a 5 star review if it were not for the convention crowds. Overall good experience. First 5 days were great. Plenty of beach and pool chairs and shade. Snorkling was good - many fish and turtles. Bought the recreation pass for our child. It was Ok you have to wait for equipment and then run to the beach shack to snag it before someone else. We stayed on the Gold Floor (included continental breakfast (adequate), all day, soda, water and coffee, afternoon cookies, pupus and honor cocktails). The Gold Floor manager Stacy, she was great, knew us by name and was very helpful and wecoming. Our room was nice, clean and beds were very comfortable.

Downside.... on our last day a large convention checked in and things changed not for the better. The pool and beach were so crowded and all shade spots at the beach were reserved for the convention group. We bought an umbrella but were told we could not use it. So we moved to the pool when we could no longer take sitting in the hot sun at the beach. Again no shade to be found. We moved some chairs to the lawn area away from the pool to sit in the shade under a tree. Half of the pool deck was closed at 1 pm for a private party (convention). at 1 pm they removed half the chairs and umbrellas from the pool deck. The service levels at the beach and pool also suffered - staff were short and unpleasant, probably because of the sheer number of people they had to deal with. We were glad to be leaving the next day.

Overall a good experience, but would not have been if the convention crowds had been there the whole time. If you are not with the conference you are treated like second class, not good.

Room Tip: Get the gold floor, skip the ocean view. You have to go the balcony and stretch around the corner t...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Webby1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and two daughters (aged 10 and 8) and I spent a week in late March and loved every moment of it. We stayed on the Gold Floor which more than paid for itself with the (included) amazing breakfasts, appetizers and non-alcoholic drinks. The concierge staff on that floor were outstanding and they answered every question we had in a friendly and timely manner. Actually, every single staff member from the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out were friendly and helpful. A bellboy even went and got a weigh scale out to weigh our suitcases when I mentioned that I was worried one was too heavy... that was unexpected and very appreciated.

We all loved the pebble bottomed hot tub overlooking the water and the sunsets every single night were gorgeous. Browns is expensive but absolutely delicious so splurge for a night and go there. Yum. The Japanese restaurant was also good and comparable in price to any higher end sushi restaurant I've been to in many different cities. The Deli by the pool was a nice place to grab a snack or lunch and had a surprising amount of choices that would please most people.

I loved their policy of removing towels from abandoned chairs which is so much better than a zillion other resorts I've been to where people 'claim' their pool chair all day with their towel only to appear at 2 pm. We never had a problem finding a seat by the pool or the beach and we were told the hotel was near capacity.

There were a few company events while we were there but I thought the hotel handled them well. Our first night there was a very loud party that we could hear but we were so exhausted from the time change that we all fell asleep so it wasn't an issue - I think I may have been annoyed if it was later into our stay but I guess we were lucky in that sense!

The only thing I wished we had been given more information about was the kids club - upon check-in it would've been helpful to know more about it instead of having to search it out on our own. Turns out our kids weren't interested but maybe they would have been if they were given some information at the start of the stay. I also wish we had been encouraged to sign up for the President's Club which gives discounts on things like cabana rentals... that would've been nice to know since we rented one at the beginning of the week. And lastly, I just read in another review that they have an activity pass giving unlimited access to the water sports - I wish we had known! We certainly would've made good use of that. I guess that is a good reason to go back as otherwise we loved the staff, food, and the gorgeous grounds.

We drove to the volcanoes one day which was informative and interesting - the rangers are friendly and helpful so ask them some questions if you see one standing around. We also went to a luau at the Marriott which was great - it was worth it to buy the priority seating as we got a front row table and didn't have to arrive early and stand in line to get a good seat. The fire dancer was extremely impressive!

Overall it was a fantastic family vacation and I definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoGoGoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Hawaii for the first time in March 2012 and stayed at the Fairmont Orchid on the Big Island. This is a kid friendly resort but we were traveling with out our college aged children. We had an amazing stay and a beautiful room overlooking the grounds with the water in the distance. To save a bit of money we did not want a water view due to the fact that we were out early every morning due to the time change from Florida and did not go back to the room until evening. Spending more money on an ocean view for us would have been a waste.The grounds are beautiful and the cove is a great place to swim and learn how to paddle board. If you love to snorkel like me bring your gear from home or you can rent it at the resort. It was amazing to swim out from the cove through the lava rock openings to the sea and swim with green sea turtles and brightly colored fish. I loved this and snorkeled as much as possible during our 5 night stay. Please be aware that under the sand is sharp lava rock and my husband cut his foot and had to have 5 stitches, so watch out!! Our breakfast was included during our stay and we also got a $100 voucher to use on the property because we booked our trip through American Express Platinum services. The breakfast was amazing and I had to control myself due to the amazing variety of local fruits and regional foods offered along with standard breakfast items. Everything in Hawaii is expensive so if you take that into consideration before you plan your trip you will not be disappointed. We rented a Jeep while on the Big Island and had fun driving around with the top down. It is amazing how cold it can get at the higher elevations and warm by the ocean. We visited Oahu and Maui as well during this trip but I fell in love with The Big Island for it's beauty and the fact that is was not crowded. While on The Big Island make sure you take a hike to see the black sand beach and see the volcanoes. I can't wait to go again. I'm hooked!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leigh34747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Fairmont Orchid is a large hotel that does cater to some business groups. It has all the facilities of a big hotel - lots of restaurants, tennis, concierge, access to Mauna Lani golf. But that does not mean it sacrifices the intimacy of a tropical Hawaiian getaway. From the romantic beach side and excellent Brown's Beach House restaurant to the convenient palm-rimmed lagoon with pretty good snorkeling and other water sports to the traditional island conch-blowing, torch-lighting ceremony, you will definitely feel like you are at an aloha-filled Hawaiian resort. We were there at the beginning of the Easter rush and there were always plenty of lounge chairs at the beach. Just make sure to make restaurant reservations when you arrive to ensure the times you want. Compared to some of the monolithic concrete structures like the Hilton and Marriott at Waikiloa, the architecture at the Orchid is far more subdued and elegant. The Big Island is big! (everything seems like a 2 hour drive on winding roads) - but the Fairmont is only 20-30 minutes from the airport and convenient to the other upscale resort communities in North Kona/Kohala for dining and shopping. Also unless you are a person who needs a twelve course $30 buffet breakfast everyday a better option for lighter morning fare is Brown's deli on property which has everything you probably would need with very friendly service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkrajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

You are very kind to say this! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back on our shores in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We came to Hawaii all the way from India for our dream honeymoon. We chose fairmont in big island purely based on its brand reputation. The location is very nice. HOwever we found the hotel quite expensive. The breakfast was not included and it costs a bomb. Also as it is away from the 'city' we had to shell out hundreds of $ on cab to reach there..
Also the lady at the reception offered us a bedroom with two seperate single beds when she knew that we were on our honeymoon !!!! That was really stupid of her...and hence they could not offer us the sea view room as promised

.HOwever the ambience is very pleasant and not a bad choice to stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulip785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have previously stayed in Canada at a Fairmont resort and were very happy with the quality and the service which is why we choose this resort over others in the area. The resort had a lovely beach where we could swim out and see the turtles, the afternoons were windy so we could move down to the pool.

The rooms were spacious with amazing views, particularly of the sunsets. The room had all of the modern technology, we were impressed we could plug in our camera and Ipad into the TV to view the photos we had taken or play our own music. We had difficulty using the free WiFi, however they quickly sent a technician up to fix the problem. There was a good variety of restaurants with varying prices from burgers through to fine dining. The day spa was lovely, I enjoyed a massage in the hut where you could view the water from the stream underneath the hut! The concierge was excellent, she was very helpful and knowledgable on the local area. There was a question she was unsure on so she followed up and contacted us a later time, I was impressed with the service.

We had a lovely stay and would definitely return!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite has two generous sized balconies each overlooking the ocean
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zickyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
11.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $306 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing