We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort(Puako)(Great Value!)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$248
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$324
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$488
$417
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Waikoloa Village(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$409
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,240)
Filter reviews
2,240 results
Traveler rating
1,461
562
142
46
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,461
562
142
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe housemauna lanifishhonu barocean frontthe big islandfree bikesfour seasonsocean grilldaily activitiesbeach clubterrace restaurantsea turtlesresort feebreakfast buffetfresh juicegolf course
Filter
Updating list...
420 - 425 of 2,240 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

We couldn't be happier with our stay at the hotel, we also tried the kids camp one day for our 5&9 yo kids and they had tons of fun and activities done . The gym was well equipped. The beach and pools were clean. Surfing/kayaks were available along with snorkeling gears

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank AZDS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Everything at this resort is geared to your relaxation, even the towels smell relaxing! Hammocks hang between the palm trees on the beach for a wonderful view of the sunset, dinner and cocktails outside over looking the water, starlit night skies with ocean breezes: it's all here. I am NOT a resort person but loved this place (it didn't hurt that we got upgraded and that it was the low season so possibly quieter). The resort beach is a lovely cove but if you travel 10 minutes up the road you'll come to Hapuna beach which is truly glorious: golden sand and pristine turquoise water. One of the best beaches on the Big Island. Honestly, when it came time to go we were reluctant to return to the real world and leave paradise behind.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sarana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

If you want an authentic feeling Hawaiian experience, this is the right resort for you. Everything was so beautiful, peaceful, and happy. The only negatives I saw in reviews before visiting was the age of the bathrooms in the rooms. Yes, they could use a face-lift, but the quality of the resort well made up for that. We visited the Hilton next door one night and came back feeling SO HAPPY we picked Mauna Lani.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We had initially planned on spending 5 days at Mauna Lani and then 3 in Oahu... the moment we stepped in to the Mauna Lani and were greeted with lavender towels and leis, we knew that we wanted to stay at the Mauna Lani as long as possible and reached out to our agent to extend our stay an extra day... that's how much we loved it!

The airy lobby is impressive with the gardens and waterfalls, daily Hawaiian music and hula dancer at 6:30. The grounds are beautiful and we really appreciate the history of the Mauna Lani and their dedication to stewardship. We loved walking through the fish ponds to the other beaches. The hotel and grounds are large and there were plenty of people there, but we never felt like it was crowded. There was never a lack of chairs by the pool or beach cabanas, and there always seemed to be a sense of privacy, which is nice considering the size of the resort.

The snorkeling was amazing, but you have to go out a bit. There is better snorkeling off-shore if you walk down to the beach that isn't directly in front of the hotel. The hotel lends out snorkeling gear, but we had brought our own.

The food was good, albeit expensive. Thankfully, our package came with breakfast included. We splurged for dinner at the Canoe House one night which was quite tasty and who can beat dinner under the stars?!

The rooms were well-appointed and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a Oceanview King. The bed was really comfortable, the furniture was plantation-style... felt very Hawaiian. It was clean, the patio was really nice, Flat-screen TV. Oh, and my favorite part- his/hers sinks!

Last, but certainly not least, I think one of the best things about the Mauna Lani is that you still get the sense of the Aloha spirit. Yes, the grounds and the beach are gorgeous, but the staff was amazing and that is really what makes this place so special. You definitely find the Aloha spirit more here than other islands, but this place is the epitome of it. Feeling so welcomed at all times really made us feel at home and we can't wait to return for anniversaries yet to come! A big Mahalo and Aloha!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank JSigal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We LOVE the Big Island and usually stay at Four Seasons Hualalai. It is getting so out of control in terms of price and "attitude". It is no longer "old Hawaii" as it once was. So we decide to try Mauna Lani. Although it is NOT Four Seasons in terms of the meandering paths thru out, the wonder spa there, outside showers....IT IS OLD HAWAII in terms of room design, beautiful grounds and the OHANA spirit throughout. There is a nice fitness center and spa with some outside venues to it. It was fun to ride bikes to. The spa features are NOT included in the room rate The beach is widespread and low key. One pool with 3 hot tubs. Great for sunset watching. Very authentic Hawaian music and hula for sunset as well. Lobby area is a little "dated" . Get the garden level room.. Charming. Wonderful grounds and extensive ocean front path from Mauna Lani to Puako makes for a terrific workout after the buffet breakfast.

Stayed: September 2016
5  Thank lindacrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews