We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort(Puako)(Great Value!)
$369
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$248
$228
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
$309
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$514
$417
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Waikoloa Village(Waikoloa)(Great Value!)
$238
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$327
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$327
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$939
$839
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,241)
Filter reviews
2,241 results
Traveler rating
1,462
562
142
46
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,462
562
142
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe housemauna lanifishhonu barocean frontthe big islandfree bikesocean grillfour seasonsdaily activitiesbeach clubterrace restaurantsea turtlesresort feebreakfast buffetfresh juicegolf course
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 2,241 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Just make your next trip to the big island a good one and stay at this resort. Everyone is so nice and the staff provides excellent customer service. The room was great! Got upgraded to an ocean view for all 4 nights. Loved that we got water bottles everyday. Some nice perks are the cabanas, free laundry, and shuttle that takes you around the complex. The location is really nice as well. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank LbeforeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My daughter and I just got back after spending 4 nights at the Mauna Lani Hotel. The hotel exceeded all my expectations. They have beautiful facilities, including pools, hot tubs, private beach access, lawns and huge, breezy atriums with koi ponds. Their staff was excellent. They do charge a $25 resort fee per day, but that includes some services- like valet parking, bikes, etc. I used their valet parking, again very friendly and professional service. I borrowed their bike to go to the shopping center close by, which was a very enjoyable experience. We ate at their Terrace restaurant a few times, and again were treated to beautiful ambience and great service. They had live music and hula dancers in the evenings, which was a very nice touch.
Our room was very comfortable, with all the modern amenities. We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to an ocean view room, with a lovely balcony. Housekeeping was very prompt with requests I had. The room had a small fridge, which was very useful to store snacks, milk, etc. I would definitely go back and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room without a connecting door to another room, as that really made voices from the adjoining room travel which kept us awake one night, and I had to call the front desk.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lv2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Mauna Lani isn't for people looking for Vegas-y style or honky-tonk Hawaii. We found it to be the peaceful and beautiful place we had hoped for. Great pool area includes salt and fresh hot spa pools. Lively poolside bar run by some friendly characters attracted some interesting locals too. The close-in beach is pretty but has lost a bit of sand, so fortunately another choice is a short walk away at the Beach Club. It is so enjoyable to stroll in the extensive tropical gardens and view the various inhabitants of the numerous fishponds, and to be treated to daily live (un-amplified-thankyou!) performances of Hawaiian music and dance in the hotel atrium. Great outdoor massage area at the spa, and for us the best of all was the golf…gorgeous, well-run courses were positively stellar! Good experiences in all restaurants and all staff we encountered were genuinely welcoming and helpful. Can't wait to return here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've just spent four nights at the Mauna Lani and has been our best hotel experience in Hawaii so far. Lovely laid back feel, and gorgeous indoor/outdoor setting. Great views, great beach and fabulous service. We even saw turtles on the beach! A quiet area so if you're after action and lots to do then try closer to the Kona resorts. Otherwise highly recommend especially for couples on romantic breaks.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A great location is spoilt by a tired hotel in need of a facelift. Serve friendly and helpful, rooms nice size, but the decor is tired and outdated. Very expensive for what you get really. And its very quiet, no one around after 8.30pm!

Room Tip: an Ocean front
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews