We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, dated hotel- certainly not family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week because my husband had to attend a medical conference at the neighboring Fairmont Orchid and their rooms were fully booked at the time.

We had a toddler with us and were travelling with some friends who were attending the conference too. The beach and pools at the hotel are lovely with the turtles all over the place. The rooms have been updated and are clean and modern. The food is fairly decent, although there is not much variety, also every restaurant is closed after 9pm...as is the rest of the stores a short ride away at the outdoor mall.

I had a difficult time trying to do activities with friends since the only babysitting service is outsourced to private agencies and their sitters travel from an hour away so scheduling needs to be done well in advance and can rack up a huge bill at $20 p/hour.

I had a terrible experience the first morning at breakfast, when my toddler (jetlagged) was crabby at breakfast. Another elderly guest came up to our table aggressively asking me to leave because I was disturbing his and all the other guests breakfasts. The manager apologized and said it was totally wrong of that person since they are a family friendly establishment but she could not do anything about it since he was her customer too. I was forced to have breakfast in our room alone every morning after this incident since my hubby was attending the conference and the manager at the restaurant seemed to condone customers screaming at other paying patrons .


Nice hotel, bad experience - I won't be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BashCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 2,031 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Mauna Lani is a beautiful property with a delightful staff. Upon arrival, friendly valet service directs you to the registration desk, where you are greeted in true Aloha style...leis, juice, and a cool towel to refresh you after a long day of travelling. The rooms are spacious and up-to-date. Having visited during renovations, we were upgraded to a garden view. Much to our delight, it was also ocean view! Standard rooms are mountain view and parking lot (which we didn't mind last year...great people watching from the lanai). There are several dining options on site, none cheap by mainland standards, but delicious! Breakfast and lunch will run $50 for 2, supper will easily be $100+, especially with drinks. The pool and beach area are fantastic...clean and well-kept. The complimentary snorkel gear and body boards are great for seeing the water life just south of the main beach area. Enter the water at the Beach Club beach and work your way to the protruding rocks. We were able to swim with a honu (green turtle)...awesome! We will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor mountain view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Letsgoand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel- it exceeded our experience. The staff and management is phenomenal, the grounds and stunning fresh water ponds are stunning, the rooms are beautiful, and the food is delicious and reasonably priced. We dream of returning, like the many families we met at the Mauna Lani who have been coming there for almost 30 years. (Note: We formerly went to The Orchid (5 previous visits) and grew tired of its rude staff, broken down rooms, and poor management). Don't waste your time at other hotels-- come to the Mauna Lani for your dream vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This really is the best hotel with the best beach in all of Hawaii. The staff here are genuinely nice with true aloha spirit. We stay at some really nice places on the other islands (Ritz on Maui, Grand Hyatt on Kauai, and Royal Hawaiian on Oahu) and they are all really great. But only at the Mauna Lani can you literally walk our of your room down a flight of stairs and be 10 feet away from a peaceful, beautiful, non-crowded beach. I am writing this review on my phone sitting 10 feet from the water and there is a sea turtle hanging out in the sand about 15 feet away. Wow! Best place ever!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelPerson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Mauna Lani is a wonderful hotel on the Kohala coast with a very gracious staff, understated appeal, good food and great activities (swimming, kayaking, golf, biking, etc). We have visited the Mauna Lani twice and plan to return often!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden offer beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Magnificent facility! Almost a 5 star! The venue is designed and built with minimal intrusion into the nature even though it is carved out of a lava flow. Yes, there was construction all around but we were not bothered. The renovations were being carried out with minimal hassle for the guests. In fact, the main pool was opened for use our last day at the hotel. Very nice pool facilities.
We booked our 6-day stay here through Delta Vacations. The venue is very tastefully designed and decorated. The staff are very friendly and professional. As we were leaving my wife and I simultaneously said the same thing: the staff are GENUINELY friendly and helpful and pleasant. (A tip of the hat to Edwin at the front desk for allowing us a little more time in the room before our red-eye flight back to the mainland.)
We were moved from our original room (527) because of noise coming through the adjoining door. Pam at the front desk told me that she would upgrade us to a deluxe room. After we moved we found our next room to be the same as the previous one and had trouble finding the "deluxe" feature until we sat down at the toilet seat. Turns out during the renovations they had installed a state of the art bidet system. Very fancy!! After a while a housekeeper brought up the toiletries we had forgotten in our former room. Very Nice!
 The facility is undergoing renovations on the Southern wing but we were not bothered. 
The room (625) is very large with a nice couch, a coffee table, a work desk with two nice work chairs, an in-room safe, ironing board and iron, a very nice chest of drawers and a 42 inch TV set. There is also a small refrigerator and very good coffee and tea offerings, coffee mugs, water glasses and a bottle opener. The bed is very comfortable and has two pillows each for the two of us. The shower in the tub has a rainfall shower head--Super!! 
There are two bathrobes and slippers. In the morning we went down to the beach and met George, in charge of the beach activities. He set us up in a cabana and explained the free and for-pay activities. We chose to check out snorkel gear (complimentary) and went to the next bay for some fish and coral sighting. Super! We'll do it again tomorrow. Excellent beach facilities and free amenities including bikes, kayaks etc. 
When we returned from dinner last evening we found that the bed was turned up with a lovely flower and a small chocolate placed on our pillows. Also on the floor was placed a small towel for our "pampered" feet. The two bottles of water are replenished every day. If we only had a small basket of fruits offered every day and the hotel offered a medium-priced facility for drinks, snacks and/or coffee as opposed to the pricey offerings we would think we were in a Shangri La hotel or a similar 5-star venue instead of four and a half (4.5) .
Bottom line: if we ever came back to the Big Island this will definitely be our destination.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are away from the construction activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Spent 4 days here in early December. The room was spacious with high quality finishes and a comfortable bed. The architecture of the hotel is very pleasing and the grounds well maintained.

I used the tennis facilities which were very good. The tennis staff went out of their way to arrange matches for me.

The swimming pool was closed. However, I had a rental car and drove to the Fairmont hotel (which is very close by) and used their pool. Ok, this is not really convenient for most (and probably frowned upon by the Fairmont) but it worked for me.

I ate dinner at the Hotel's Canoe restaurant. Expensive and decent food, but nothing spectacular.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
5.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puako
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range: $337 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel And Bungalows
Mauna Lani Bay Resort
Mauna Lani Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing