We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii(Puako)(Great Value!)
$240
$228
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort(Puako)(Great Value!)
$356
$279
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$309
$284
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$514
$417
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$409
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$966
$839
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $935/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,242 results
Traveler rating
1,463
562
142
46
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,463
562
142
46
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe housemauna lanifishhonu barocean frontthe big islandfree bikesocean grillfour seasonsdaily activitiesbeach clubterrace restaurantsea turtlesresort feebreakfast buffetfresh juicegolf course
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 2,242 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The complimentary shuttle van to the Shops at Mauna Lani and the Fairmont Orchid were a nice perk. Beautiful grounds. Spa services were pretty good. Maintenance was quick to fix the leaking toilet in our room. Food was overpriced as would be expected at a resort, and the food offerings and quality weren't anything special beyond what's offered on the Big Island already. Homeowners using the resort facilities could be inconsiderate to hotel guests which is a deterrent to wanting to stay here again. The room was clean and quiet.. The mountain view (of Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa) was nice. We didn't feel the need to pay more for an oceanfront view when we were on the grounds near the ocean for most of the day anyway. There's a new Mountain Thunder Coffee shop that just opened on the property which serves really good coffee; just be prepared to pay expensive prices for your coffee because of 1) it's Hawaii, 2) Kona coffee, 3) it being on a resort. Turtle Independence Day which occurs every year on July 4 had lots of attendees, most of whom didn't seem to be staying at the resort. This made it very crowded, noisy, and not relaxing, but the concept is nice. This resort was ok overall, but we didn't feel that it offered anything really special beyond some of the other higher end resorts on the Kohala Coast. We'd probably stay at a different resort on the Kohala Coast prior to considering staying at the Mauna Lani again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peacefultravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very nice hotel/resort. The staff were very helpful and friendly with a very nice introduction to the hotel when we checked in. The rooms were nice with the normal ammenities you would expect from this level of hotel. They offered free towels for the beach and cabana's along with snorkelling gear (for four hours at a time). EVery morning there was an agenda for the activites offered during the day such as yoga, tennis lessons, hula, etc. We were on the 5th floor facing the ponds with an ocean view. We were offered an upgrade as our room was not ready when we were checking in. The only minor drawback is that our room was a bit noisy due to the whistling of the wind.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssnarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were delighted to be greeted by a lovely lady with leis, and escorted to a conceirge desk for 1st class check in with towels to freshen up a delicious guave juice. We were given our keys with three rooms adjoining on the 5th floor. Beautiful Lobby, fish and turtle ponds, rooms and property, all the staff were outstanding.
We saw green turtles every day in the ocean and sunning and relaxing on shore. My family enjoyed snorkeling and boogie boarding, sunrise and sunsets, playing in the pool and relaxing in the cabanas with all the comforts.
Breakfast was delicious every day, lunches & daily cocktails at the beach bar.
The only problem was dinner at the Canoe House and a leak in the ceiling bathroom in my daughter's room.
Complimentary laundry room was a very nice ammenity

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dired30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in a Bungalow. Very nice with a small pool and space to lounge around. Service was excellent. The views were good, but could have been better considering we were Ocean Front. There were privacy hedges beyond a small pond between us and the water. The good thing is that gave us privacy from the people walking along the beach. The downside was that it affected our view. We should have played golf, but thought we would schedule some hikes. That ended up being problematic. Then because we didn't rent a car it was harder to get out and do things.

The fitness center is not very good for an upscale resort. It is about a 10 minute walk. The ventilation is not great so when it is half full it starts to smell, and the machines are only passable. Got a massage since it came with the room. Had it outside. It would have been better inside, but the woman who did the massage did a terrific job.

Food was good for an island. Can't really remember getting premium food on an island. We ventured over to the Fairmont one night for dinner. The dinner there was better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxsar911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A friend and I took a much needed relaxing getaway to the big island in mid June. This resort was exactly what we were hoping it would be and more. From check in to check out the staff were so kind and welcoming, Edwin, Ola and more that I can't remember! We took advantage of the free lei lessons (highly recommend!), coconut husking, snorkel equipment, and bikes. The snorkeling was some of the best I have experienced in Hawaii, right out front of the hotel we were able to swim along side sea turtles and then took a walk down the beach to see hundreds of coral fish. There is a small shopping center where we walked to dinner and stocked up on snacks at the market. At the center was also a nail place, clothing stores, coffee shop, restaurants, galleries, and some night events. Our standard room was very clean and nice, with a flat screen, mini fridge bar area, large closet, desk, and a big bathroom. We got upgraded to a sunset view which was fantastic. I only wish I could return sooner!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews