We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple hike to great waterfall”

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simple hike to great waterfall”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Getting to Rancho Ecologico Sol de Mayo is part of the fun. From Santiago to the entrance it's a 20 minute drive on dirt roads with a couple cattle guard crossings. It's a short hike to view the waterfall from high above. You can continue toward the right to other lakes and a much longer hike or take the steps in the boulders which allow you to hike down to the palms surrounding the base of the waterfall. Be sure to have lunch at the restaurant. Excellent margaritas and lobster tacos!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank matgeowild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This ranch is very close to Sierra de la Laguna so the cascade had enough water and it looked just great. You'll find yourself in the middle of nowhere surounded by mother nature. Simply gorgeous.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean_Louis_Magron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“marcos great knowlegable guide”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Even with drought the waterfalland springs were georgous
wonderful hike with tour guide Marcous
wear workout gloves when rick hiking incase the rocks heat up when you brace your self against them
food and 1 drink was included at the end and they were delicious

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great margaritas & lobster tacos”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We drove to Sol de Mayo from San Jose del Cabo to hike down to the waterfall and hang out for a couple of hours. I was pleasantly surprised to discover a enclosed palapa style restaurant had been built along with a number of rental casitas. After visiting the falls, we walked around the casitas which are private and vrey nicely done with rooftop decks for amazing views. Then we had delicious margaritas and tasty lobster tacos at the restaurant. I saw up close several Xantus's hummingbirds feeding on flowers. These birds are endemic to Baja. We were told the casitas rent for $60/night or $100 for 2 nights. My only advice is bring bug spray. They love me and I got 3 noseeum bites sitting in the late afternoon shade at the restaurant.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank memse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and excellent food.”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We did a day trip from Los Barilles, just 25 miles, and we were pleasantly surprised. The drive back from Santiago is 10 km on dirt roads. Carefully follow the few signs to get there. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We walked the trail back to the waterfall and swimming hole. Fantastic to see this oasis in the desert. Cold water! Be sure to wear hiking shoes to make the hike. Very steep in places with no hand rails. As natural as possible and that makes it better. We ate at the small restaurant and had the best lobster tacos and chicken fajitas we have ever had!! I would recommend this to anyone. When I go back I plan to stay in one of the casitas. They looked very simple and comfortable. You would want to bring your own food supplies to stay there. The small kitchens had a two burner hotplate and a few utensils to cook with.
Very impressive scenery and solitude.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Ecologico Sol de Mayo also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Rancho Ecologico Sol de Mayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing