We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top comfort, cleanliness, and conviviality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Horizon des Landes
Ranked #1 of 1 Doazit B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Situated amidst sweeping views of the beautiful countryside, this B&B will meet and exceed your needs and expectations. The rooms are new, clean, warm and welcoming. Top perks include: comfortable beds; breakfast (from traditional tea and toast to fresh fruits to special requests - my husband is still raving about Mike's eggs and I'm longing for Sophie's homemade yogurts); free wi-fi and computer; spacious closet for hanging clothes (even my full-length dresses); and friendly ownership. The website mentions regular restoration; and, while it is clear that the space is extremely well cared for, we were never disturbed by any hammers, ladders, or unsightly construction projects. We were lucky to spend a few evenings in the company of the owners as they were guests at the same wedding for which we traveled - they are a wonderful pair. Finally, the location is fantastic for day trips to the coast (Biarritz, France or San Sebastian, Spain) or inland to Lourdes.

Room Tip: Adour is a spacious room that offers cross-ventilation with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHarvsBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

My French family arranged our stay here and we could not ask for anything more. Innkeepers extraordinaire, Mike and Sophie Spencer could not have done anything more to make our stay more enjoyable. They were gracious, accommodating and so warm! We arrived for a wedding party and left on a birthday party! What more could Americans ask for?! Every day fresh breakfast with home baked breads, home cooked jams and compotes, waffles, eggs, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cereals, fresh yogurt! The best of the Best!!! If you want a French experience, this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stumbled across this Chamber d'hôte by chance when driving across south west France, its something of a hidden gem and we will definitely use again.
We stayed for 4 nights in September and found this was new venture was just opened recently by a nice couple - she was French he was Welsh, but lets not hold that against him. It only has 5 or 6 rooms all en-suite. The rooms were finished to very high standard (even the toilet seat was a slow close lid) with plasma screens/DVD players on the walls and free Wifi in the rooms. The food was of a high standard, with Sophie and Mike putting on a great spread for each meal, they tried to give all of us a taste of the local French dishes and the outdoor dining really was a taster of the French culture.
I noticed they also had some people in motorhomes hooked up to a power point in the field adjacent to the premises.
As you can tell I cant say enough good things about this place, this is why Trip advisor was invented for places like this to stand out from the crowd. We cant wait to go back next year. I would recommend this to anyone looking for tranquility, comfort, value for money and culture.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sausageefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chaque chambre a son propre charme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nicolange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickchan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIERRE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank vinzgurvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Horizon des Landes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon des Landes

Address: 1455 Route d Hagetmau, 40700 Doazit, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Doazit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Doazit
Price Range: $76 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half-way between the picturesque village of Doazit and the bustling town of Hagetmau,l’Horizon des Landes has something for everyone.Your hosts, Sophie and Mike will welcome you in a friendly Franco-Welsh ambiance.They offer you to choose from 3 comfortable and renovated bedrooms on the first floor of their house. You will enjoy a hearty breakfast with home-made produce (jams, yoghurts, compotes, cakes, bread ...)Dinners include local dishes such as 'garbure', 'pastis landais', to name just a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Horizon des Landes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing