We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and great food”
Review of The Old Bell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Delph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We booked this as we were going to a wedding in Lydgate.. What a great find it was we had a great time the staff were extremely friendly hotel immaculately clean. They stock every gin known to man and we can highly recommend the Gin flight which was very educational as well as good fun. Dinner was also excellent and choice of breakfast fantastic - every member of staff was very pleasant and helpful. We cannot recommend this hotel enough and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEY237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed our Gin Flight! And look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bell Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 393 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Defo visit again was perfect for the planned event service with a smile excellent room and nice food could not ask for more was well over what was expected also a bonus booking out at 11 not 10 like most hotels as with most big hotels was a bit of noise in the nite but was made up for with the family room that was more than adequate

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesmosby1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

i stayed with my two sons and their partners for just one night for a wedding reception we were going to the rooms were very clean, comfortable beds and excellent tea,coffee shower gels shampoos etc. lovely hot shower in the morning and to finish it off a good English breakfast. the staff were very friendly and the downstairs bar and restaurant were cosy and calming. I would highly recommend it if u are staying in the area.

Room Tip: rooms on south side quieter
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosby61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Must be twenty years since I have been here but was pleasantly surprised refurbished but they haven't ripped the soul out and made it a plastic clone like so many other places
They have a choice of menus a la carte or a two or three courses for set price deal or you can just have a sandwich
We opted for the three courses there was enough choice
Service was good food was good portion size plentiful
For a Wednesday lunchtime the place was quite busy
Do I have any negatives yes the price of the drinks £11 50 for a vodka and tonic and a tonic water and the wine was expensive also
Food prices reasonable drinks price not

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank magsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your comments about our drinks prices. We’re pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Room 3 is small, and it shares creaky, moving floorboards with the head of stairs landing (the landing access door is directly opposite Room 3 across the not-too-wide corridor). I could literally lie crosswise on the single bed and touch the walls both sides. Coupled with the bed moving when people walked across the landing it didn't make for good value for money in my opinion.
We ate in the restaurant, and my sea bass was served with a large square of the skin missing from the top. When I asked, I was told that it came off on plating up- yet it was still served, skin side up, without explanation or apology. Then the cheeseboard arrived with one of the featured five pieces of cheese being the rind of the blue cheese, rather than the cheese itself. By this time I was pretty upset.
To be fair, the rest of my party had lovely rooms and enjoyed their meals.

Room Tip: If you are a hobbit, lack claustrophobic tendencies and can sleep through your bed being moved by th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We’re sorry you feel disappointed with your accommodation. We do have larger rooms available. The size of room 3 is reflected by the price and although it is a smaller room it has the same facilities as the larger rooms. We appreciate your feedback and will look in to your comments regarding your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a place the hotel has been wonderfully modernised and provides some of the finest accommodation you could wish for with a range of different size bedrooms to suit your taste / pocket. The whole place is spotlessly clean.The food is truly the fantastic with a menu of that is designed for all tastes. The Restaurant is tasteful but the same food is available in the bar area if that's your wish. The bar area has a great atmosphere with a range of good ales a great selection of whiskies and what has to be the largest selection of Gins I have ever seen. If the bar area gets to much the conservatory area on the first floor complete with flat screen TV allows you to get away for some quiet time with a drink if that's your wish.

This old coaching Inn is set in Delph and although you appear to be miles from anywhere if staying for the weekend public transport into Manchester is just a short bus ride to the Manchester Metro Trams and with buses just a 1 minute walk away and they are every 30 minutes leave your car behind and enjoy the views on this amazing ride around this beautiful scenic area. We went to the Etihad Stadium and from leaving the pub to arriving at the stadium took us less than an hour getting bus into Ashton then a tram.

The best thing about The Old Bell 'The Staff' they really are excellent and just could not fault any of them just so helpful I feel as if we made new friends, but an extra special mention must go to Sue who was just so helpful each morning and made our stay extra special.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the first floor and although some face the road the area is so quiet with very little t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Many thanks for your informative review. We’re delighted you had an extra special stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed here for one night for business, very friendly staff who were very helpful. The room was adequate with all the essentials. I was very surprised by the restuarant, the menu was fantastic, food served was of a very high standard, and excellent value, all from local produce. Breakfast also of a high standard. Would recommend a visit to the restuarant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldbellinn, Manager at The Old Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delph
1.2 mi away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
318 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gate Inn
The Gate Inn
#1 of 1 in Diggle
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
5.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
6.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#4 of 11 in Oldham
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bell Inn

Address: 5 Huddersfield Road, Delph, Oldham OL3 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham > Delph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Delph
Price Range: $89 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bell Inn is an 18 bedroomed, four star AA & VisitEngland accredited inn. There is a Brasserie and a Restaurant where local head chef creates exciting dishes using fresh, locally sourced produce. Head Chef's 'Signature Menu' has been awarded a coveted AA Rosette for culinary excellence. Over the past few years The Old Bell Inn has established itself as one of the finest venues in Saddleworth, with an excellent reputation for service, dining and accommodation. This 18th century Coaching House is steeped in history and has been carefully transformed to reflect a clever mix of traditional old English charm with contemporary luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing