We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATKV Rondawels @ Hartenbos”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartenbos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ATKV Hartenbos Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We did a sleep over on a whim and was given a Rondawel. Clean, except for a bit of rusty equipment but that is to be understood as it's virtually on the sea. sea = rust.
Tranquil and quiet. Nice Braai area right next to the Rondawel and ablutions nice and clean a few steps away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lynn'e F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for ATKV Hartenbos Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at ATKV Hartenbos during the September school holidays 2013. The accommodation was very nice with undercover parking for your car and very friendly and professional cleaners and staff. Music from the entertainment park hindered us but looking at our stay overall it was a great experience. I'm also a member of the ATKV.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FritzFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in Gauteng for many years, this was our treat. Every second year we could not wait to get to Hartenbos.
The staff are so helpful and friendly.
We have lived over the area in different rondawels. All the campers are friends.
Evens elderly ladies are prepared to push strangers car.
We there isa problem, just contact the office and in a record time it is sorted out.
I have relocated to the Western Cape, and live not far from Hartenbos, but still go and visit then, and get sms's from them

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Noreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I spent some time here in May 2013 and really had a lovely time, very quiet, lovely walkways, lots of shops. The Accommodation was wonderful, really had a very relaxing time, sorry we had to go. I would recommend this venue anytime for anytime of the year.

Room Tip: The Office staff are very helpful, just book well in advance.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stonemansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the ATKV HARTENBOS for 2 days as we felt we needed to rest and get a break from the busy city life,everything went really well upon check in as to entering our rondavel everything was perfect,really clean neat,and the reception staff is really friendly,but to get to the point at night ,the one security by the name of fiellies was standing at our window LITTERARELY staring and trying to look through the window we were upset as i was scared and at first did not know who it was,he was doing it for both nights that we were there,then when we caught him,he was making up excuses and he could barely talk,we told reception that it is fine if he walks past to see if everything is fine but what he did was unacceptable and freaked me out,furthermore it was really nice,i will go back again but then they need to sort out their security!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!At the end reception advised that they will sort it out immediately and take it into consideration,which i was very happy about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am a member of ATKV - so when we needed an over night place to stay on our way to Cape Town I persuaded the family Hartenbos ATKV is the place - what a shocker when we entered the unit - the unit were not aired were smelling mouldy - cupboards also smelling mouldy - bathroom floor mat were dirty (still had grass on it from previous guests ) - shower dirty - basically the entire unit were dirty and smelling - toilet bowl black on the inside - reception though were very good - staff were friendly - honestly being from the Hospitality Industry myself , come on guys up the standard of your cleaning staff and supervisors - I did report this to the staff and on the questionaire form

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Enna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My review covers the caravan/camping site only, and not the other lodgings or facilities they have available.

The campsite (Block E) is very nice, well maintained, with good ablution facilities. Right on the beach (about 20 meters), which may be a security concern for some (though it is a safe area, with hardly ever an incident). It is an amazing experience to fall asleep at the sound of the waves breaking nearby. So by the way, due to its macro-geographical location on the Cape South Coast, it is almost impossible for a tsunami to occur here, I am told... :) - apparently there is not enough 'ocean space' between the South Pole and the Cape Southern Coast for a giant wave to form.

The only downside is that the site does not have any large trees to camp under. Not nice for tent campers! :)

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Overall a nice experience, and will certainly go back again (this time with an external canopy/gazebo to pitch over my tent, to keep the midday sun away).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jesse_Rowe_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartenbos
3.4 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
186 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suidersee Hartenbos
Suidersee Hartenbos
#4 of 9 in Hartenbos
68 reviews
4.0 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 54 in Mossel Bay
387 reviews
3.3 mi away
Little Brak Beach House
Little Brak Beach House
#13 of 34 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATKV Hartenbos Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATKV Hartenbos Beach Resort

Address: Kaap de Goede Hoop Laan, Hartenbos 6520, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Hartenbos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hartenbos
Hotel Class:3 star — ATKV Hartenbos Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATKV Hartenbos is situated along the world-famous Garden Route between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth, some 8 km from Mossel Bay and 40 km from George airport. With our various accommodation options, which allow you to pay per unit and not per person, budget family holidays by the sea are no longer just a dream, but a reality. Add to that loads of activities and recreational facilities, a restaurant, fast-food section and convenience store, and you'll want for nothing. ATKV Hartenbos also serves as the ideal base from where you could add further flavour to your holiday with visits to numerous tourist attractions in the area. Boasting conference facilities that can accommodate groups of up to 1 000 delegates, ATKV Hartenbos also is the perfect choice for an inspirational conference. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing