We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2011

There are luxury resorts and there is Round Hill. An icon, a legend, it is a class apart. We've been privileged to be guests here a number of times. Each year it gets better, if that's possible. The lush gardens, lovely beaches, spa, gorgeous pool…time truly stands still when you're here. All the staff including the GM are so friendly and there to help make your stay the most memorable. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is great; do try to stay with local dishes. Breakfast is fun at the main restaurant overlooking the sea. High tea is always a great treat with delicious tea sandwiches and pastries. The bar area at night is huge fun followed by dinner. The property is large enough and cozy enough where you can just go and get lost in your thoughts. A library with plenty of books for all tastes, a media centre with tons of games and other distractions. There are five tennis courts (two are illuminated for evening play). The spa is divine and has a fitness centre well equipped with treadmills, free weights etc., personal instructor for exercise classes. There's also a fully equipped water sports area for scuba, snorkelling. The rooms are all well appointed with everything imaginable, we usually stay in a deluxe room in Pineapple House and may consider a villa with family next year. We look forward to going back as often as possible for you can truly disconnect and enjoy life at its finest........

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

Round Hill is a truly lovely property. It's villas are spread out and private, but it manages to feel intimate, and the staff are genuinely warm. The location is killer. Gorgeous beach, mountains. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downundertraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We just returned from a 5 day trip to Round Hill. What an incredible resort. We had a beautiful room with an amazing ocean view. The service was impeccable, and staff were very friendly and attentive. The entire atmosphere is elegant and beautiful and refined but totallly unpretentious and relaxing. The restaurant was excellent, and the spa services were top notch. This place is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucktowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed in a semi-private villa (cottage #13) with a pool for five days with our young child. Overall, it was a positive experience. Round Hill is child-friendly without allowing children to have the run of the resort. Baby-sitters are available and not expensive (USD$10 an hour with a three-hour minimum) which makes for guilt-free evenings out. The seaside terrace/cocktail bar (where afternoon tea is also served) is a classic space. The Monday night dinner on the beach, which in our case fell on Valentine's Day, was particularly well done.
Negatives: At least based on our experience at check-in, the staff could do a better job explaining the way things worked around the resort. We didn't learn about key details (e.g., baby-sitters) until we spoke to other families. And the information on the website is outdated -- for example, there is really only one dinner, which is a more formal dinner (no shorts allowed) starting at 7:30pm (the kids' menu is available all day). Remarkably, when we checked in, for some reason they did not have a key to our villa for us and it took us over six hours (and multiple calls to the front desk) before we finally received the key -- with no apologies! Our villa was tired and could use some updating. The paint on the railings and nightstand were chipped, the drawers in the dresser were hard to open and the bathtub would clog so fast that if a second person wanted to take a shower they had to stand in ankle-deep water. Service was a mixed bag. Some of the employees were very friendly and helpful, but not all. Used pool towels left around our villa's pool were not cleaned up (or replaced with clean towels) until late the following morning and sometimes room service was not cleared promptly. These are all small points, but they add up and are not what you expect from a resort that bills itself as "luxury".
These negatives didn't stop us from having a good experience, but the resort could be even better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccjulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The most beautiful, upscale, refined resort. We stayed in villa #12 and had a delightful staff (!) to cook us a delicious breakfast each day and take care of our every need, as well as the always accomodating and friendly resort staff. The view from our villa was unsurpassed -- straght out to the blue Carribean Sea from our king size bed. We wanted a quiet and luxourious time away from our children and that is exactly what we got at the Round Hill, We had massages, took tennis lessons (with a pro and a ball boy), went to yoga, and then hung out and relaxed at the beach, at the amazing double edge infinity pool, as well as our own private pool at our villa. Spectacular grounds. The pictures do not lie. Yes the food at the restaurant was expensive, but so is the resort. If you want to treat yourselves and go somewhere that's easy to get to (from the East Coast, at least) but away from it all, this is the place for you. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aam1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and we thought it would be romantic and spontaneous to wait until the last minute, spin a bottle, and just head off to parts unexplored - just somewhere warm. Well, trying to make reservations in the Caribbean in February is no easy task. However, it was our reservation challenge that made us look a little deeper and to discover those parts unexplored - Round Hill.

From the moment we arrived we knew that we had made the correct choice to celebrate this significant milestone. We found the warm weather we were looking for combined with exceptional service, accommodations, amenties, and natural beauty. The views from our cottage were nothing less than breathtaking and the in-room breakfast every morning is still dominating our conversation.

The spa at Round Hill is located in an 18th century building with views to rival those at the cottage and even the short walk from the resort serves to restore and rejuvenate. Richard provided me with one of the best spa treatments I have ever received and enhanced an already relaxation vacation.

Nightly entertainment after dinner keeps things energized, but if you're looking to get away from it all, I highly recommend just spending the days lounging by your cottage or villa pool with the one you love. The highly manicured grounds and the space between the accommodations provides privacy and seclusion just steps away from the beach and activities.

There is always that nagging question, "what do I get for breakfast tomorrow?"

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My husband and I chose Round Hill based on reviews, and because we were looking for a place to escape for a long weekend (4 nights) of R&R. The grounds were beautiful, it was conveniently close to the airport, and the service was very good. The staff were attentive and friendly. The spa massages were very good. We had a nice weekend, but with a few major issues that would deter us from staying here again. First - we chose to stay in the Hotel, because we wanted to be able to walk to the beach. Problem is that on Friday & Saturday nights they have live music, which is great - however it lasts until 1030 or 11pm. When you stay in the hotel, it sounds like the band is in your bedroom. We were taking a break from our up all night 18 month old and with a baby on the way - wanted to go to bed early. We sat wide awake in bed for an hour both nights stuck listening to songs like 'celebration' and 'all night long' till the band was done. So - be sure you are happy staying up that late because you have no choice if you stay at the hotel. The second issue was lack of food options. The only dining offered was fine dining. The dinner menu was $30 and up (even for the chicken option) which I thought was a bit excessive. The lunch menu ws $16 and up, and the breakfast buffet was $65 for two people including tip. If you wanted to cab somewhere different to eat, it was a $60 cab drive - so no more affordable then staying at the resort. Its great to offer fine dining, but there should be alternatives with no nearby options outside the resort. The dial out phone service in our never worked from day one, and the hair dryer was faulty.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meldabs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,754 reviews
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,376 reviews
26.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,177 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: $279 - $990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing