We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$449
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/01/21
Official Hotel
Destinia.com
$449
$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/30/21
Hotels.com$449
Trip.com$441
Orbitz.com$449
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,705)
Filter reviews
1,705 results
Traveler rating
1,465
142
54
26
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,465
142
54
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple house ralph lauren infinity pool villa staff private villa the cottages montego bay beach barbecue every morning jamaica night fitness center tennis courts water sports rum punch beautiful property the general manager family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1,705 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2019

I booked this trip for my wife and I for an anniversary and to try for a second honeymoon. We also brought other guests that stayed at the resort as well. Months in advance, I only made one request - that we have a quiet room away from the noise. I was assured this was possible a month in advance when I called again. I was assured a week in advance when I called again, and I was assured when we checked in (which took 15 minutes of waiting) that we were in a quiet room. We got Room 123A, and it is the closest room to the loudest spot in the entire resort as it overlooks (almost hangs over!) the pool and near-constant screaming kids.

Beyond that, we scheduled a snorkeling trip way in advance and called to confirm it several times. Yet when we got there, we were instructed by staff to make sure it was actually on the schedule at the water sports area – why do we have to keep reconfirming things that are scheduled – why is it up in the air at all if it was previously confirmed? They said to show up at an earlier time and see if they could take us out. They weren't sure if they'd have enough people working. (Though, we met Castley over there who was the best staff person at the resort by a mile and not the person who was unsure). There was never any solid plan to make sure our reservation was there.

The biggest/worst impact was that I scheduled our airport transfers weeks in advance and then reconfirmed before flying down and then reconfirmed with transportation staff and then reconfirmed again with the front desk for our departure on Sunday at 9am. Over and over we confirmed this. We needed to be at the airport by 9:30am. Instead, there was no transfer waiting for us on the way out at 9am. They called someone at that point, but we waited until 9:20am before a ride was there. The bellhop told me "Oh, you need to be there at 9:30am? You should have scheduled this for 9am." I almost lost it. I mean, that almost ruined the entire trip for me and it was the final action left for us as a memory of the resort as we left. Not a good thing.

So while the relaxing was good (which literally requires nothing from anyone at the resort) the small requests we made were entirely ignored or just messed up. I did not expect to pay this much with that as the result. We brought additional guests with us who also paid for rooms, and that reflects on me as well as the resort. It makes it difficult to recommend the resort, and it makes it difficult to remember the parts we loved because of the parts that were so obviously missed. Especially as an anniversary trip where I had promised my wife and our invited guests the very best.

There was also a wedding with 70 guests during our stay. It looked lovely from afar but there were parts of the resort we couldn’t use on that evening. Bigger issue was the LOUD music until 11:24pm. In our room with the windows all shuttered closed, the decibels were at 76 (according to a couple apps I downloaded just to check since I couldn’t really sleep). That’s about the level of a vacuum cleaner running in our room. Again, not the quiet room we were told we’d get (there were others further away from the wedding area that may have helped).

The two interactions with the "lifeguard" were almost funny it was so bad. A lady had her foot bitten in the water (by a crab was everyone’s guess) and was bleeding all over the floating platform. It was bad, everyone could see it was bad from the beach. One of her friends told the lifeguard who responded "Well... bring her in." They eventually got him to help carry her out and the lady had to get stitches (she was not in our party). A friend of hers in the group was a physician and asked for a first aid kit they couldn’t find, and then the friend had to demand at least some towels to wrap her foot. The next morning, a guest found one of the black sea urchins (poisonous) under the same platform. When the guest informed the "lifeguard" he went and got a rake and gave the rake to the guest to go get the creature himself.
Afternoon tea is something easy you’ll want to do every day at 4pm. Jamaica Night is something you’ll want to do if you are there on Friday, too.

Our room had cracks up the bathroom walls all the way around (patched damage) and the roof had cracked spots or holes as well (pictures attached).

I expected greater responsiveness to the guests. Culture of the island doesn't matter as much at a resort. If a guest schedules something, then they should know it's taken care of. If the resort has assured a guest something will be done and not to worry about it, then it shouldn't turn out to be a lie. These are basic things we haven't run in to at other resorts in the Caribbean or elsewhere.

A generic response that says they’re sorry that it didn’t meet our expectations, or sorry that it doesn’t meet their normal standards, or even that they hope we’ll consider them again for another chance, doesn’t really do much after the fact. I’m glad others on here had better experiences, but if you are the kind of person looking for attentive service or follow-through on important promises, then maybe you’ll need to look elsewhere. Otherwise, it’s a gorgeous place, enjoy.

Room tip: For quiet - request to avoid the pool area (though they may not honor the request, apparently) or away from the dining area if Friday night.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CJtx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Dear CJtx123,

We are truly sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We have taken careful note of your comments and will ensure that we continue with our training programs to ensure that we address all areas that you mentioned. The service delivery to our valued guests is paramount. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

Round Hill is like no other place on earth. The staff feels like family and everyone goes above and beyond to make your every wish come true. There was never a time that we felt unattended to or forgotten. They treat every guest as if they are a king or queen without being overbearing. I wish I could afford to visit at least 3 times per year. Absolutely magical vacation.

Room tip: Every room is special, don’t worry about a thing.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jet47316059322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2019

Dear Jet47316059322,

Thanks for the lovely feedback on your recent stay which was magical. We are happy to hear that the staff went above and beyond to fulfil your requests and made you feel like family. We hope that you will return to your new home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

The whole family went to a wedding, and rented two villas. The staff goes out of their way to make everyone comfortable. Everyone we met was delightful. Our family realized it was the first reunion where there were no arguments for the full five days we were together. Round Hills staff was better than a family therapist!! Everyone had a marvelous time. It was the best experience for a beautiful wedding, catching up with family (breakfast together, chatting at the beach, walking to the villa next door so kids can swim with grandparents, going snorkeling). We would do it again in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Every room we saw was beautiful, you can’t go wrong.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pioneer06357091609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Pioneer06357091609,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill to celebrate your special occasion and your family reunion. We are happy to hear that it was the best family vacation ever. It is great to hear that you would do it again in a heartbeat and look forward to a return family visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019

Thank you Round Hill for such a memorable stay. From Billy, Lance & Chris in the herb garden to Dennis, David, Henrique & Fitzroy poolside, the service, friendship and comradery were more than we could have ever imagined. Highly recommend for an intimate weekend with people as beautiful as the scenery & resort.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Dear Linsey M,

Thanks for the lovely review on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable stay and would highly recommend the property. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

On a hillside overlooking the sea, villa after villa are carefully sited in a lush landscape of carefully tended gardens of native plantings with touches of the exotic. The paths lead up to a jogging and botanical trail, and down the hill by tennis courts to the sea's edge with the delightful restaurants, pools, spa, beach shaded by palms and open to the sun.The entire atmosphere is calm. The hotel rooms are large, airy and sunny. The villas are individually characterful with an exterior architectural harmony, executed by top designers. AND, the staff is congenial---there helpful and friendly---and never intrusive. Expectations exceeded!

Room tip: Tell the management what you want and they will be certain to find you a wonderful match
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure606304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2019

Dear Adventure606304,

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We hope that you will return and make Round Hill your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews