We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Book If There Is A Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
West Shokan, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't Book If There Is A Wedding”
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I agree with "Miami"! We had a perfect vacation for the first few days and then, yes, you guessed it....the wedding party arrived. Arrogant mother in law yelling at us thinking we cut in line! We had a beautiful villa, the staff was incredible. But, the wedding took priority. I would recommend Round Hill but be sure you will not be overlooked by a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyWestShokan_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    122
    44
    21
    15
See reviews for
410
549
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rastede, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This hotel is a real experience. The location, the design and the service is unbelievable. Never felt that comfortable and pampered.

Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EdgarSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We just stayed in a villa before Christmas this year for a week and had a wonderful time- excellent service, delicious food and gracious and accomodating staff! We have been before and will go back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatesfamilynewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

THE GOOD- amazing food- the best we've ever had in the Caribbean. Beautiful, clean room. Lovely housekeeping staff. Good massage.
THE BAD- do not, i repeat DO NOT stay at this resort while there is a wedding taking place. Weddings here take priority through the entire weekend (not just during the actual event). The very large class-less group of wedding guests took over the entire resort, and were belligerent drunks. THE GROOMS MOTHER SPOUTED PROFANITY AT US FOR LOOKING TOO CLOSELY AT THE RESORT BUFFET- apparently she was under the impression we were trying to "cut her in line". Had a similar experience by the pool. When brought to the managements attention nothing was done. We weren't looking for them to throw us any freebies as people often do- we just wanted them to speak with the wedding to ensure that their behavior wouldn't ruin the remainder of our vacation. After all there is a rather strict dress code indicative of a classy resort. Staff would do nothing of the sort- as they were making far more $$ off of the wedding then us that weekend. NEVER EVEN RECEIVED AN APOLOGY FROM MANAGEMENT.
for the $2700 or so dollars we spend there over a 4 night stay this is unacceptable. We travel to Jamaica 3 times per year- you are better off to stay at the amazing Caves Resort, or the more affordable and 10 times more enjoyable Tensing Pen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank miami_dpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaustrian, Managing Director at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 17, 2010
I would like to offer my sincere apologies on behalf of all us at here at Round Hill. I fully recognize that we as management must always be responsive and alert to any possible conflict that can arise between all our valued guests.

Small to medium destination weddings are an important source of business during the off season from May to October for mid size luxury resorts like us. Generally, our very extensive grounds, the many private villas and pools ensure that all our guests will be able to enjoy their cherished intimacy yet still receive the personal service and attention that we are so well known for. It pains me therefore to know that we failed in this instance. Again, my sincere apologies and please let me know if we will get another chance to make it up to you.

One Love,
Josef Forstmayr
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I absolutely LOVE Round Hill! From the moment you check in and Kingsley escorts you to your villa, and in, by the way, the most gentlemanly fashion, you feel at home. Beautiful setting, delicious food, well-decorated, comfortable accomodations. I was also quite pleased with the new international acquaintances we met, and the extra effort the tennis staff made to make certain my son Ben\'s trip was SAFE and memorable. Worth every penny! Will be back next year when I convince my fiance that this is THE PLACE in Jamaica. See you then! Anne

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinalaser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We came to Round Hill following 5 days in Havana, Cuba. It was pure bliss after the headiness of Havana; Havana itself was a great trip but the exhaust filled streets, generally poor service and limited restaurants meant we were more than ready for some idyllic relaxation. And we found it at Round Hill!

This is classic old world charm and luxury, with a upgrade in that the hotel - Pineapple House - rooms were all recently redone by Ralph Lauren. The resort is in its own cove and comprises almost 30 private villas (owned by a distinguished list who rent out the villas when they are not using them) and the approximately 40 room Pineapple House. The emphasis here is on low key luxury, and it had all the feelings of a 1960-70s era hotel where Sean Connery as Bond would have felt eminently at home.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor of the Pineapple House. The downstair rooms have outdoor patios, whereas the upstairs rooms have loftier ceilings and better views of the sea. The predominantly white colour scheme is accentuated with blue cushions and a fuschia coloured throw over the very comfortable lounger chair where I fell asleep in more than once.

The food is excellent and there is very little reason to leave the property (in fact we left a total of one time during our 4 night stay, and that was to go to Tryall to play - a very expensive round of - golf). We looked forward to dinners especially when the Terrace would be set up elegantly and a themed buffet would usually be presented as well as an a la carte menu. I am usually very dubious of buffets, but Round Hill puts together a first class selection of food. Over the four nights there, we had a Prime Rib night, a French night and a Lobster beach night when the tables were moved to the beach itself and we sat two metres away from the lapping waves. The ingredients take advantage of the abundant produce freshly grown in Jamaica and I was particularly enthralled by their oversized and most flavourful arugula leaves. Their seared tuna salad was simply amazing, and those lobsters were as fresh as you could get.

There is a nice jogging/walking track along the perimeter of the property as well which gives a good way to stretch the muscles and work off the meals.

The average age at Round Hill looked to be 40-60 so we were certainly among the younger ones there, although there were some families with younger kids as well.

The service was smiles and graciousness all the way through. Given we went to Havana first, this was such a world apart and most welcome.

Overall, a blissful and timely visit to one of the great classic hotel resorts in the world in our view. Little wonder than JFK honeymooned here. And they are fully deserving of the entries/selections they are featured in within the many "top 100" resort destination books that they rightfully display in the coffee table of your room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marms&Elms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Round Hill is simply an amazing spot. The chief attractions of Mo'Bay are the beach and the stunning views once you are tucked up away from the town; Round Hill is the only place you can experience these in a totally full-service environment where you never need to leave the grounds.
We shared two villas with friends and they were impeccably appointed in classic colonial-tropical style with huge lanais (can you call it a lanai in Jamaica?) and sweeping coastline views. Several villas have pools, giving you the choice of staying "home" or heading down to the small, gorgeous beach.
All the hotel facilities are great- the restaurant is spot-on and the bar makes you truly feel like a character in some luxurious colonial epic. Afternoon tea is served every day! The spa especially is consistently fantastic, which is unusual in the Caribbean. They use Elemis products- top quality. We had massages from John and Richard and both were great. You can also have the spa services AT your villa....wonderful for those lazy evenings. We had a few nights where we did not move from our deck, with massages, swims, and finally a chef in the villa making delicious dinner.
Jamaica is a gorgeous island with a serious dearth of five-star accommodations and virtually no real villa experiences. We've stayed at Goldeneye in Ocho Rios which is lovely but Round Hill has so much more to offer, better services, is much easier to get to, and is closer to fun "off campus" experiences. The staff will arrange any trip you might want to take to explore Jamaica...and every night you will be back at your warm, luxurious, welcoming villa, watching the waves!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sworn2Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,296 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,353 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,070 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,394 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing