We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Jamaican Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I nearly cried when it was time to leave Round Hill. Every inch of this resort is beautiful. It was built in the fifties and has relaxed, preppy vibe. You can almost picture Jackie Kennedy hanging out on the beach in her big sunglasses back in the day.

The staff people were kind and helpful. I would like to personally thank the woman in the dive shop who called our dive shop in St. Augustine to get my daughter's NAUI certification when it did not come up in the system. Also thanks to the man in the office who straightened out our zip line trip even though we did not book it through the resort, and the sweet lady who does the bed turn-down service who told us how sorry she was we had to leave the next day. I was sorry too.

What a perfect place. I could not get over the gorgeousness of it... nor could my husband, who is not normally one to sit and take in the view. I walked the stone path toward the spa each morning, and swam off the dock. I ran the jogging path to see the whole property. I snorkeled for hours on the reef. I sat in a lounge chair and just looked. We loved Round Hill.

My family stayed in the hotel, near the infinity pool. We had an excellent view. The shuttered windows do not have panes, and they do ask you not to run the air with the shutters wide open.
We turned the air up during the day, and down at night when everything was closed up. There was the tiniest bit of mildew in the shower. Though normally rather picky, I could not have cared less. Every thing else was so perfect, there had to be some tiny flaw so that I knew I wasn't in heaven quite yet.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor- loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miles392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the great feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing time and that the friendliness of our staff was outstanding. We pride ourselves on offering personalized service complimented by warm Jamaican hospitality. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

One of my Favourite hideaways in Jamaica love this place for elegance class and privacy.as the saying goes you get what you pay for ..stunning in one word views private beach , not to mention the local staff members who look after you

Will always return to Round hill
Had a big birthday party here years ago and the settings was breathtaking

Won't mention names here but a few A list stars own Villas in the complex

Room Tip: Try the Villas as oppose to rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDaveDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful comments on your recent stay. We were delighted to have you stay with us again and look forward to many more return trips to experience what makes Round Hill special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Returned to Round Hill a few weeks ago, and as always the staff went out of their way to make my visit as comfortable as possible. It had been almost 3 years since my last visit, and many of the staff still remembered my name!

This place is a jewel, and what wins me over each time is that feeling of returning home!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jncooperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on personalizing our service and guest name recogintion is very important to us. We hope that you will not wait another three years to come back and experience more of our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Amazing!!! This was our family's first visit to Round Hill. We have visited Montego Bay several times and in the past we have stayed at the now defunct, Ritz-Carlton-which truly did not compare! Round Hill was exceptional! The resort staff was pleasant and very accommodating and especially kid-friendly-which is a must! We stayed in Villa 9 and it was truly spectacular! We simply adored our very attentive bellman, Kevin. And our villa staff (Mr. Jimmy, Ms. Alvira, Ms. Janet and Mr. Owen) were equally exceptional! My husband adored his tree house getaway (Sexy's) and we couldn't get enough of the breath-taking views and tranquility of the entire resort! The grounds are immaculate and you can definitely see the Ralph Lauren aesthetic, as he was part of the design team. The beach area, unlike some of the other beach areas in MoBey, was incredible (minus the sea urchins). And the infinity pool was the absolute icing on the cake for my young boys (2 and 5); they could have stayed there all day! The food was good and very affordable. The Caribbean Buffet is a must-delicious! Catherine was also a warm and friendly delight as well! We absolutely, thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will be back (sooner than later). See you in October, Round Hill!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to view your villa before you make your final decision. All villa's have not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bdubsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your family vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful cottage 9 and was able to experience the warm, friendly hospitality of the cottage staff, who serves you with pleasure and a warm smile. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in October so that you can be spoilt even more in beautiful cottage 9.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Lovely first night at Round Hill. We stayed in the Pineapple Grove.

Cons: We missed breakfast by 5 minutes and were sternly told it was much too late to be trying to order eggs. If you need AC be prepared to be told (strictly) all the doors and shutters need to be shut - so no natural light (though we cheated and opened them a bit). No shorts or non-collared shirts at these more uptight joints. Rooms feel a bit claustrophobic with white walls, shutters, doors, floors, ceilings, furnishing, etc.

Pros: Rooms were very clean, including the bathroom (which is extremely important to me). Quick walk to the beach and the gorgeous infiniti pool! Not too crowded. Dinner the first night right on the beach (their "beach party") - BBQ. Too pricey ($80usd pp) but it was a wonderful way to spend our first night in Jamaica. Live music serenading.

Overall rating: 3.5 to 4 stars

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anti-Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We have noted both the pros and the cons and will review with our team to ensure that we continue to offer a relaxed, unhurried vacation experience. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at a lovely villa at Round Hill for three nights in January for his dad’s wedding. It was a short stay but very enjoyable. This resort has a wonderful small boutique feel and provides the privacy and quality of service that you just don’t get at an all-inclusive. The grounds are very nicely manicured and feel very tropical. The room that we stayed in was very spacious and well air-conditioned. The bathroom was also very nice. We were kept up a bit at night by the sounds of the bugs and birds and wildlife outside, but it wasn’t a big problem. The food and drinks at the resort were wonderful. Part of the service included with our villa was a homemade breakfast by the staff each morning. We really enjoyed this. We ate lunch at the restaurant each day and it was very good as well. For dinners, we had the wedding dinner one night and a beach BBQ for the wedding party the next night. The food at both of these dinners was the best I’ve ever had in the Caribbean. The staff did an excellent job of taking care of the whole wedding party. They have a wonderful wedding planner (Racquel) who did a great job. The ceremony and the reception were absolutely beautiful and everyone really enjoyed themselves. The couple got married right on the beach and had the ceremony at the cliff-side restaurant near the spa. The beach was very nice, a bit small (not good for long walks) but we definitely enjoyed swimming there. The hotel infinity pool is also amazing. One small thing to keep in mind is that you can hear the planes coming into Montego Bay airport from the resort (especially on the beach). I don’t think you could avoid the plane noise from anywhere in Montego Bay based on the landing patterns, but just something to note if you don’t like that. The wedding party enjoyed karaoke at the lounge-bar one night as well which was a lot of fun. Overall we had a fabulous time and would definitely recommend Round Hill for a family vacation or wedding! You will have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your stay in January. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the wedding of your boyfriend's father. Round Hill is the ideal spot for everyone, couples, family, singles, honeymooners and anyone celebrating a special occasion or wedding. We hope that you and your boyfriend will choose Round Hill if you decide to have a beautiful destination wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just returned yesterday and had a wonderful time on our family vacation! I'd echo everything positive I've read but want to make a couple of items known for fellow travelers. Getting the meal plan is the option most recommended by staff and travel agents, but make sure to be prepared for the additional 10 percent service charge and 15 percent tax added for every meal. It is clearly spelled out on the sheet you sign at check-in, but it may come as a surprise when you first learn about it.

Beverages are not included in the most common meal plan, which runs $125 per adult per day, for children about half that rate. Our travel booking included complimentary breakfast, but we had to remind the front desk at the beginning and end of our stay and have the bill re-printed (it resulted in a reduction of $25 per day per adult). Going up, the next plan gives you beverages but not wine and other drinks. If you like a bottle of wine at dinner or lunch, it will make a big difference in what you pay. Or if you want that extra appetizer or entree, the service charge and taxes, being calculated as a percentage, will increase, so as I see it, the value of the food plan is reduced the more that is ordered.

The food was a mixed bag; certainly it was good, and in some cases, excellent. Overall, I don't know if the excellent items outweighed the others, but it is also true that nobody in my group went hungry or complained of any shortage of food. There is a clear quality missing in the beef selections and the pasta tended to be overcooked, so sticking with seafood and chicken choices are likely to be most satisfying. Also the "conch beignet" offered at lunch has no identifiable fish in it, despite trying it over several days. The waitress told us that the fish is mixed into the bread base. It's more like a donut. Breakfast was probably the best meal, followed by lunch. Service was excellent throughout and the dining managers are wonderful. The people were incredibly kind and inviting.

I will absolutely say without qualification that the staff are all deserving of tips and it is encouraged at each meal to add that in on top, We tipped over $1,200 total among wait staff, managers, room attendants, bell service and cart drivers. if service was good, you will want to of course reward it. Just be prepared.not to consider this a true "all-inclusive".

Also, be advised that the food plan starts at dinner, so if you arrive at the resort early on the first day, you pay full food rates before the food plan kicks in at dinner. That doesn't sound very significant until you see that prices charged in retail terms are quite high, lunch for 4 adults and 2 children easily rises above $300, breakfast over $200, etc. plus tax and service charges.

Looking back on it, for me and my family of 6 (4 adults, 2 children), we probably would have saved considerable money going a la carte, especiallybecause we tended to eat lighter at some meals versus others. It's not the hotel's fault though.

The hotel store is very nicely appointed, however there are hidden charges to be mindful of there too. We wanted to buy a painting for sale for only $500 until the sales clerk informed us that the law in Jamaica changed two months ago, subjecting such purchases to a stiff tariff. Handing over to the Jamaican government $400 for a tariff when we only would have paid $500 for painting itself, didn't seem very fair to tourists, so we declined.

Our Cottage was incredible, 4 rooms, a pool, dining room, family and sun areas, terraces, outside shower (awesome!) and "hidden" gazebo up in the jungle hills. The most pleasant surprise was seeing our quarters. WOW!

For reference at check out we paid about $6200 in food/beverages, $1,000 in spa services and $1,200 in tips, on top of the room rates in June, off-season.

Room Tip: Nobody complains about there room here! Anywhere is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lemonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We have noted your comments and will review with our team so that we can improve on our service and product offerings. We have a number of meal plans where guests can choose or they can opt for paying for individual meals/drinks as they go day by day. Tipping is discretionary and we do often times advise our guests of this. We hope that despite this, that you will choose to return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,618 reviews
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,112 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: $338 - $929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing