We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful birthday celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I returned to Round Hill for a short winter break in celebration of her birthday. Each year I try to do something special to surprise her and this year was as great a success as ever. Living in New York City, and with good access to JFK, Jamaica represents the ideal quick trip get away for us. It was wonderful to leave 20 degree weather at 6 am and and be in balmy 80 degree weather a few hours later.
It had been some time since we have visited Round Hill but the magic of this incredible resort has not waned - in fact it has only increased with tiny but important improvements. From the moment we arrived at the discreet front entrance we felt that we had come home. The welcome, whilst naturally informal, makes one feel like a VIP from the start. As a returning guest it was wonderful to see so many of the same staff members still in place, to recognize them, and to be recognized.
The ambiance and friendliness immediately melted away the stress of the the city and transported us to a calmer more place. While we only had 3 nights and 4 days to slip away the peace and tranquility seeped into us sufficiently to make the return to New York bearable.

My wife and I would watched Downtown Abbey on my Kindle each night and felt that we were living that life each day, With bountiful breakfasts, healthy lunches, sumptuous afternoon tea and creative farm- to- table dinner choices served in an effortless and casually elegant manner we could have been guests in a great country house.

Everything is designed to make one feel comfortable, relaxed and important. A bye gone era recreated. Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: One can a request a villa or stay in the hotel. The hotel offers immediate and easy access to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GracieLoo940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful comments on your recent stay with us. Also, thanks for returning to Round Hill to celebrate your wife's birthday. We are happy to know that your short getaway from the cold winter was wonderful. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for more special occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    115
    41
    21
    13
See reviews for
386
508
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

A great combination of Villa and Hotel Suite accommodation located 25 minutes from Montego Bay Airport.
The staff and management are committed to making you feel at home. We had a short stay but witnessed returning guests greeting staff as though they were family!!

Very comfortable, very classy.

Room Tip: This a laid back, disconnecting haven. Bring your electronic entertainment if you are so inclined a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manion14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about your recent stay and we hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

A excellent resort with gracious associates.Ideal for total relaxation.Everyone was extremely hospitable and professional.
Dinners on the upper and lower terrace portray a true resort ambiance.Will be back again very soon.

Room Tip: A 40 minute drive from Mobay, taxi fare around $55.00.Room in the main area of teh hotel is fine esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

After many years looking for our perfect winter paradise, we were pretty sure we found it last year. On returning this year, for the past 10 days we have known it for certain. We are already planning to go back for at least 2 weeks of simple heaven and wonderfully friendly staff next year.

Room Tip: All good, and think about treating yourself to a villa suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for returning to Round Hill and for selecting us as your winter home in the Caribbean. It was our pleasure to host you once again and we hope that you will return to stay with us again next winter and many more winters to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

You get a very special feeling about Round Hill the moment you turn off the main road into the property itself. Firstly the resort is beautiful and immaculately maintained and everything you expect is present, however what really makes the place stand-out is the delightful team that work there - everyone from the security folk at the front gate to the Front Desk staff, the Bellmen and the wait staff are welcoming and service oriented. You are addressed by name and if you are fortunate enough to stay in one the villas as we were, then you truly start to feel that you have owned a home at Round Hill for generations, sadly not the case - this was only our second visit, but we dream!. Clearly from the way that the wait staff were connecting with other guests around us at meals, there were a LOT of guests who do come back time and time again. This is one place which definitely offers value for money.

Tip #1 - we rented a car one day through the concierge and really enjoyed driving around that part of the island. It's a great way to explore the beauty of Jamaica (remember they drive on the left, but it's very easy).

Tip #2 - we enjoyed all our meals at Round Hill a lot. However one evening we wanted eat somewhere locally and the concierge recommended Sky Beach Bar & Grill in nearby Hopewell. Amazing - local food washed down with Red Stripe beer in a palm-thatched hut right on the water, served by the delightful Veronica. We loved it so much we went back again a second night.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars and take a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbull2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for returning a second time to Round Hill and for staying on one of our villas. Our staff is very much focused on personalizing your stay that immediately you will feel apart of the Round Hill family and the many traditions that make our resort special. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at Round Hill on business... Will return for pleasure! Perfect combination of vintage style, relaxation, location and service! Staff was very accommodating and easily spoke with guest throughout their stay. Loved the balcony rooms! Plenty of space and wonderful views!

Room Tip: Loved the extra space with balcony since you want to leave your doors open throughout the day! Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_Bozard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your recent business trip. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to your return visit when you come back for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great ambiance, great views, great staff, and great food. We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom villa and woke up to stunning ocean views and great breakfasts prepared for us by our own personal chef every morning, who was a total sweetheart. As the resort is quite small and the staff extremely attentive, often going beyond their responsibilities to meet your every need (whether you were aware of that need or not) you will leave this resort feeling like the overindulged billionaires that make this resort their second home, but the final bill might have you feeling otherwise.

Room Tip: Cant go wrong in your room selection, every one has stunning ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful comments about your recent stay with us in a beautiful two bedroom cottage. The personal attention given by our staff will ensure that you have the most memorable vacation. they will go above and beyond to make you feel truly special with their warm Jamaican hearts. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to Round Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#4 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing