We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, elegant, updated 'old-school' paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've been going to Round Hill for years, with family, family and friends, and just friends, and it is always the perfect place that I remember - with various additions and improvements over the years. The service brings you back to the time of the black-and-white pictures they have by the bar, warm and friendly, but extremely professional. The food has been updated significantly recently, with an 'organic' effort, new flavours, new cooking methodologies, new flavours, and they've still kept many of the 'old favourites.' The rooms have been renovated (both the hotel rooms, by Ralph Lauren, and most of the villas, in exquisite style), and are on par with many of the world's top hotels, well above its MoBay competition. The spa has also been revamped, both the facilities and the spa menu, and the area in front for lounging and ocean dipping. The breakfast served in the villas is the only one for which I make an exception to my usual meager morning breakfast - it's just that delicious! And the events they throw at Round Hill are legendary - always a great turn out, and each year is more impressive than the last. Love the tennis lessons and watersports options. The only thing they could think about is updating the cocktail menu - but at least they have all of the classics as well as their Jamaican-inspired drinks and make them superbly!

Keep it up, Round Hill!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkdaniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for returning to Round Hill year after year and becoming one of the many Round Hill loyal guests. We continue to make improvements every year so that when you return, there will be something different to experience and enjoy. Our Executive Chef, Martin, and his team of culinary professionals, will ensure that your meals are of the freshest quality as they incorporate the local hers & spices grown in our own organic garden.

We hope that you will continue to return to Round Hill year after year to experience all that makes Round Hill truly special as one of the classic resorts of the Caribbean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Round HIll is a paradise; old-world elegance and service. Just a short drive from Montego Bay airport, the hotel is set on a large plantation estate with lush hilly gardens. Privately-owned villas - some exquisite, some just comfortable - are scattered around the grounds. The main reception house, and restaurant spaces are down the hill near the beach.

We stayed in a room in the Pineapple House, it was a good size, with a generous terrace. The bedroom has a large four-poster bed and a nice sitting room big enough for a child's crib and a great sitting area and large desk. The bathroom has two sinks a deep soaking tub and modern walk-in shower with rain shower head. The room is all white with a beautiful nautical map of Jamaica over the desk.

The service was just excellent. Omar, the GM, and his team are just great. We chose to hire a nanny for the night, and had the pleasure of meeting Terry. Wonderful and caring. We were sad to leave. Shane in the restaurant was so pleasant.

We attended a wedding - one of the most over-the-top productions I have every seen. It surely was an amazing effort on the Round Hill team's part to make it an overwhelming success. Bravo!

While the fixtures in Pineapple house are modern, the hot water took as long as ten minutes to come on. But, a cool shower on a hot day wasn't necessarily a bad thing.

Room Tip: Pineapple House rooms on the lower level have fewer stairs, and terraces. As the villas are privatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlennonTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding activities and felt that it was top notch. We hope that you will come back to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My family (14 of us) recently rented 2 exquisite villas at Round Hill, Jamaica, and went all-out to celebrate a special occasion. We had several planned events---private dinners beside one of our pools, musical entertainment ( a six-piece band and singer), intimate breakfasts for 14 on our terrace and a prepared video presentation. All this was perfectly organized and implemented by Racquel, Director of Catering, Hillary, Food/Beverage Manager, Brimsley, musician extraordinaire, and overseen by Josef, the Hotel Managing Director. I cannot rave enough about the attention to every detail that was made on our behalf. It turned out to be the best family vacation we've ever had. Round Hill enjoys a reputation for excellence and deservedly so, in every way. Selma

Room Tip: The villas we chose were beautiful and perfect for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Vaued Guest,

Thanks for visiting with us to celebrate your special occasion. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us are committed to ensuring that our guests needs are met and their expectations exceeded. Racquel & Hillary are part of the team that ensure that our guests' needs are professional handled. We hope that you will choose to return to Round Hill to celebrate more special occasions with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The overall beauty of Round Hill is not understated it is totally overwhelming. What is understated is the subtle homeliness and warmth shared by all the staff that unobtrusively made our stay so relaxing and comfortable. There are hidden surprises too. A friendly guiding with Dave - the head gardener through some of the gardens which surround the villas and hotel gives insights to Jamaica’s stunning botanical potential. The botanical splendour is evident even at its wildest along the passage ways to the spa area.
The restaurant offers a simple but well-defined menu, highlighting local and national dishes. As fish eating vegetarians my wife and I had no problem with food options. The preparation and service in the restaurant was excellent.
All of this comes at a cost of course. Although pricey the overall quality offered at Round Hill gives value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. A large part of the charm of Round Hill is the understated luxury and elegance. We are a truly Jamaican resort that provides our guests with a uniquely Jamaican experience. A part of that experience is our weekly garden tour with Dave, our Head Gardener. Dave is one of the stars that make us shine. We hope that you will choose Round Hill again when next on vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent a week at Round Hill with our four-year-old daughter and it was the nicest experience we had so far when traveling with her. In terms of child friendliness this place is the gold standard with an armada of charming staff looking out for the kids on the premises. Wonderful little beach and infinity pool and a concierge who took the little girl for fun rides on his golf cart. There is also a quite area with spa, pool and beautiful old trees on a lawn and hammocks where kids are not allowed to go. The food and wine was excellent, the room sympathetic with large doors towards the patio overlooking the ocean. Round Hill is easy to reach in 20 minutes from the airport.
If you are looking for a place in the Caribbean to relax with your family or without, this is it.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and are quite but you should go with one that has a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your recent family vacation. We are an ideal vacation resort for everyone. Our kids club is staffed with caring nannies and coordinators who will ensure that your children have a wonderful and memorable vacation. We hope that you will return to Round Hill for more family vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are looking to have a relaxing week, Round Hill is the place to go. Understated elegance is how I would describe the resort.The staff in all areas of the resort were so friendly and really made the trip. Jamaica is a beautiful place and I will always return. We hope to rent a villa at Round Hill the next time and bring some friends. If you are looking for a loud, large, overcrowded resort, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the Pineapple House and loved being on the ground level. It was nice to be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMeh112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Jamaica and Round Hill for your recent vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to invite you back to enjoy more of what makes Round Hill truly special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Round Hill with our two boys ages 8 and 9. We were nervous about our stay because it was only a week after they reopened from their annual closure. We fully anticipated that the resort would be empty and not fully up and running but were pleasantly surprised. This is a classic Caribbean resort and reminded us of our regular getaway at Coral Reef in Barbados (but much more value for your dollar). My boys loved the watersport guys and spent many hours out on the boat with them. The whole family enjoyed amazing snorkeling right off the beach, and afternoon tea was a family favorite every afternoon at 4! We stayed in the Pineapple House with two adjoining rooms. It was perfect! We were able to see the kids in the pool from the balcony and we loved how close everything was. The boys felt safe and were able to wander around without getting lost. The staff knew them by name and they enjoyed learning to basketweave and make wooden turtles. The spa services and facilities were amazing. Very serene. We used a local sitter to enjoy nightly adult dinners in the restaurant. We never left the resort all week because there was everything we needed right there. We were nervous about going to Jamaica but fell in love with Round Hill and will gladly make the trek from California every year for such amazing service, charm and serenity. Well done Round Hill you are one of the few resorts that knows how things should be done! Nothing was overlooked.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Pineapple House get the upstairs room for the added balcony. We spent hours watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your first experience with us. We are one of the classics of the Caribbean and pride ourselves in delivering warm Jamaican hospitality. We hope that you will return to stay with us to experience more of Round Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,605 reviews
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,108 reviews
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
12.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: $310 - $925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing