We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Classic Caribbean”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Round Hill in April 2013 for 5 nights for my wife's birthday. Although it's comprised of multiple villas and a small bank of hotel rooms (the Pineapple House), the place has a classic sugar plantation feel to it that was perfect. We stayed in one of the villas and enjoyed not just the location, view, and privacy (in general - there are multiple parties to a villa, but it works out well), but also the in-house breakfast prepared each morning, if you desire (which we did--every morning). Our villa had its own pool, which we took advantage of, but also spent time at the infiniti pool in front of the Pineapple House.

We also took advantage of the spa and had two of the best massages we've had anywhere.

The food at the restaurant was underwhelming, but the overall experience was outstanding. Given Montego Bay's accessibility to our local airport, we plan on returning many times.

Room Tip: .Recommend staying in a villa versus the Pineapple House. We considered both before we made reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. It was such a pleasure to share in the special occasion of your wife's birthday. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to you celebrating more special times with us at Round Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    119
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
400
535
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 after having booked a few days in advance (we decided to cut our stay short at the Rose Hall Hilton to come here), and happened to be able to stay in magnificent suites in a building all to ourselves for a very good price.

Now, if you're looking for relaxation, the Round Hill Resort is the end-all-be-all option in or around Montego Bay. A personal staff will prepare breakfast, as much as you want, and whenever you want to have it; the swimming pools are fantastic, the rooms are right out of an Architectural Digest article, the restaurants serve great food, and the beach is great to enjoy (and you can take a kayak for free whenever you feel like it). The aquatic fauna and flora are fascinating too, just grab a snorkel or some swim goggles and go float around the coral reef right in front of the beach and gaze at giant brain coral, lionfish, stingrays, big hermit crabs, etcetera.

In short, I loved it here. If ever I need a reason to come back to Jamaica, it'd be to come stay at the Round Hill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOACeulemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your comments on your stay with us. We are happy to know that we were able to accommodate you on such short notice and provide you with the desired vacation experience. Our resort is special and our staff will provide the finest level of service. We hope that you will return to stay with us whenever the need arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed with a friend at Round Hill in late August 2013. Overall, I had a wonderful experience. We stayed in the Pineapple House in a room with a patio. It was very nice, simple luxury and updated. I understand that the villas can be beautiful and nice to have your own pool, but are spread across the property and can vary drastically in quality/style of furnishings. We went right before the hotel closed for a month, so it was not crowded at all which I loved. The best part about Round Hill is their amazing service. Even though it was the slow season, the staff was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. They greeted you every time they saw you and tried to remember our names. The beach is small, but very well kept and had lots of chairs and activities to enjoy. I really appreciated that there were some spots with shade under trees and others out with plenty of sun. The infinity pool is nice and has an amazing view over the cove. The food is a little pricey, and I would not recommend a mean plan. Since we did the all inclusive/platinum plan and were really only wanting to relax at the resort, we didn't venture out of the resort at all. It didn't seem that this would be a place to stay if you wanted to explore other parts of Jamaica. I found it very interesting that most of the staff has worked their for many years, and they have some great stories to tell about famous past guests. The bar reminded me of an old NY restaurant with really cool pictures of past events and guests. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing getaway, but it's worth considering staying in the low season when prices aren't as steep and the resort isn't packed.

Room Tip: Villas are great for large families, but pick the location thoughtfully. Otherwise, stay in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. This year we celebrate 60 years of creating wonderful memories. Our staff enjoy great pride of ownership and as such, are employed with us for many years. This creates a bond especially for repeat guests who return year after year to see familiar faces who cater to their every need, with a high level of attentiveness. It is our hope that you will choose to stay with us again to experience what truly makes Round Hill special - our people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife planned a trip from our family for my birthday..what a great stay! It was an easy direct flight from Balt on Airtran. 20 min ride to the resort from the airport and you're there.
We where greeted with rum punch(yumm) and show to our villa quickly. We loved the pool, the easy access to the beach from our villa ( short walk down the hill).
The staff was great!! My daugther had a great time - I felt comfortable that she was safe - the resort is closed off to everything else. We didn't venture off the resort -but next time I plan too...I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you chose Round Hill to celebrate your birthday and our staff was able to create exceptional memories. We hope that you will return to celebrate more special occasions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The service was impeccable. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It was just the perfect oasis with a private beach and a gorgeous pool to catch the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Beautifully decorated and clean rooms. It's the perfect low key place to take a relaxing and beautiful getaway. If you're looking for a party resort or a large chain establishment - this is not it. If you're looking to be impressed by an amazing staff, clean grounds, and private vacation....you'll find it here!

Stayed just around the beginning of rainy season and yes, it did rain in the afternoon - but you can catch enough sun in the morning and by 3-4PM rain, you could use a break anyways...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krazyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Round Hill does provide that perfect oasis where you rest and relax in a tropical island setting. Our staff will go the extra mile to ensure that your are being catered to. We hope that you will come back to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Round Hill for our honeymoon, and we highly recommend Round Hill for honeymoons and all other types of vacation. It is truly paradise with the comfortable feel of home. The staff is incredibly nice and enjoyable and we had a lot of fun talking to them. The food is delicious! Breakfast in our villa was one of the highlights and a perfect way to start the day before lounging by the pool or heading to the beach or playing a round of tennis. Round Hill offers everything from peace and tranquility to water sports and excursions. The hardest part was having to leave! We cannot say enough wonderful things about Round Hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heyshanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments on your recent honeymoon with us. It was our pleasure sharing in this special occasion with you as newly weds and creating wonderful memories for a lifetime. We thank you for highly recommending us to family and friends, and look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in a villa just behind the main reception, it was truly gorgeous…this really is a lovely resort.
From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave (which is hard btw) it’s just a fab place.
I’m a huge fan of Jamaica, but if you haven’t stayed here it’s worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return in the near future to treat yourself to more pampering by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,228 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing