We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Villa 22” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Villa 22”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It has been 42 years since I stayed in Jamaica and tourist were not welcome in 1971. That has changed and tourist are now welcome. Round Hill has been around 50 years and if you want a classic Jamaican stay, this is the place for you. The food is OK but not great. Try the snapper in parchment paper with organic veggies which was excellent. There are a lot of stairs so it is not for people with any disability. We were in Villa 22. The six of us were from Manhattan and Texas and ranged in age from 3-70. Two lovely women, Jennifer and Veroma who have 8 children and 4 grandchildren between them, cooked our breakfast and cleaned our rooms. Two nice and pleasant ladies that will make your stay a treat. The airport is a $40 twenty minute ride. Tryall Golf course is 15 minutes away and a very good course. YO MON! Come back to Jamaica. I will not wait 42 years this time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your Jamaican vacation after a 42 year visit to our island. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our villa experience provides you with personalized service in an island setting. The housekeepers take lots of pride in their work and enjoy serving you their specialities for breakfast. We hope that you will choose Round Hill the next time you visit Jamaica. All of us look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    107
    39
    19
    13
See reviews for
358
463
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, MO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Round Hill, for a wedding, after 5 nights at another nearby resort. What a spectacular venue for a wedding. It was absolutely gorgeous as the couple married on the deck by the pool and beach. The food and entertainment for the wedding events were wonderful as was the atmosphere for the pre-wedding beach barbecue and reception dinner. Every detail was taken care of and executed to perfection. If you are looking to marry in Jamaica, please consider the Round Hill.

We stayed in the Pineapple House and it was fine. The rooms are quaint and comfortable. It was nice to sit on the balcony in the morning and hear roosters crowing in the distance. We did have issues with no hot water and the drippy air conditioner but both problems were resolved with one phone call. Some of the other wedding guests were staying in a villa. The villas are quite a hike from the beach and restaurant. Most have a private pool but when traveling to the Caribbean, I want to be ocean front.

The grounds are spectacular but the beach is a bit lacking if you are looking for a true beach vacation.

My husband walked up the hill to see the garden and visited with the gardener. The Round Hill grows a lot of their own vegetables and you can taste the freshness, especially in salads.

The Round Hill has an old world charm and quaint atmosphere. It is a place to unwind and truly relax. It is a different kind of Jamaican vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJA_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful review and recommendation for lovers looking for a destination wedding. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and the amenities and even toured our organic herb and vegetable garden, We are committed to serving the freshest and tastiest foods. I must apologize for the maintenance issues noted, but was happy to hear that they were quickly resolved.

The old world charm of our hotel is what sets Round Hill apart from other hotels. This year we celebrate 60 years of tradition and service to our guests provided by our staff with their warm Jamaican hearts. Thanks for ending your Jamaican holiday with staying with us. All of us look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We decided last minute to accompany some family members on their vacation to Round Hill as we honeymooned in Ocho Rios, Jamaica and loved it. This hotel and the villas are extremely close to the airport which I suppose is a good thing as the driving in Jamaica can be a little frightening to Americans. I would also have to add that the location is also disappointing because planes are constantly flying over the resort. We stayed in a villa which included a full staff and an enormous pool just for the family. It was quite a hike to the beach but fortunately they provide you with a golf cart to use throughout your stay. The beach left a lot to be desired but perhaps it was due to the gloomy weather? our family has visited the resort many times so I suppose their experiences have been better than what we had. We have been to many beaches all over the world and consider a nice beach a major priority on a beach vacay. I think it is safe to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Our villa was nice, it could use some updating. I did not have the opportunity to see regular rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our property is so spread out that guests can choose to stay either on the beach, lay out on the sundeck or on the deck of our infinity pool or they can opt to go to the the spa lawns and pool and and also the private pools in our villas. Therefore, the beach is one of the options available to our guests.

We would like to wish you and your family all the very best with your future travel plans. However, if you feel like returning to Round Hill, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at Round Hill. This was my first return to Round Hill since my stays with my parents in the 80's-90's. I feel Round Hill has aged well and his gotten better. The things that I remembered are still found from the friendliness of the staff to the beautiful kept grounds. There is always someone near if you need something. It was great hearing the staff telling guests how many years they have been associated with Round Hill. This doesn't happen often in our world today. I was happy to see many young couples enjoying their stay more so than in the past. David and Delano around the pool and bar were great to talk with as was Stewart around the beach bar. Jackie and Lois in the dining room and bars were fabulous and remembered things we liked and were delightful to chat with. Our last morning a few of the staff found us to say, "Good bye" and hope we would be coming back soon. Junior was great taking us back to the airport and wishing us "good bye and safe travels" and looked forward to our return. Perfect relaxing long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for continuing to return to Round Hill. This year, we celebrate our 60th anniversary and this could not be possible without our loyal returning guests who keep coming back year after year. While we must make improvements to stay fresh, we keep focused on what makes Round Hill special - the friendliness of our staff and the old world charm and feel of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for many more return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for a "Spring Break" experience this is not for you; but if a quiet, scenic, relaxing vacation is what you are looking for - you will be more than satisfied. As others have mentioned, the grounds are lovely and the service outstanding. I would describe the hotel section as small, joined bungalows, all with views of the Caribbean and the rooms are nice. We enjoyed a private villa with its own pool and breakfast made to order on the patio. If you want romantic and secluded - this is for you. Keep in mind there are no TVs in the rooms and only a few of the owners have them in their villas. There is a large screen TV in the Pineapple room that is available to all, anytime of the day. And they have complimentary Wi-Fi - if you have a laptop or tablet - you can always watch on that. There is only one restaurant on the property and while we thought the food was excellent there were a few nights we weren't satisfied with the options available and wished there was another restaurant or resort close by. As I mentioned before, this is not the place to stay if you are looking for late night action. The restaurant closes by 10:30pm and there is no other bar on the property. If taking a private moonlit walk on the beach before retiring for the night sounds like your thing then this would be a good choice for you. Speaking of the beach the snorkeling was great - we saw many different kinds of fish, stingrays, turtles, etc all right off the pier. May and June are the rainy months though and it rained every afternoon while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing vacation in a tranquil environment. Despite the rain, we are happy to hear that your enjoyed your vacation and look forward to many more return trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we just returned from round hill resort and had a fabulous time. we were looking for a boutique resort, that was kid friendly, which was very hard to find. round hill exceeded our expectations. the property was beautiful, and our entire family had a great time. the kids club, and nanny services made it so easy to enjoy great dinners and pool time as well. i would definitely recommend staying at round hill to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmyszkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your family vacation. We are delighted to know that the entire family enjoyed themselves and we exceeded your expectations. We cater to everyone's needs, so the young and young at heart will definitely find their own pleasures. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for another great family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Round Hill and I cannot wait to go back. The grounds are gorgeous. The staff is superb and the hotel is perfectly simple and elegant. I will encourage everyone to experience this hotel.

Room Tip: The cottages are the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your second honeymoon. The property is romantic and ideal for two people in love. We are happy that we were able to create wonderful memories on your special occasion and look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
25.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 65 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
4.0 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing