We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very, very pleased”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We look our small daughters (5&7) and spent 4 nights at Round Hill just last week. We stayed in Cottage 1 which is the first cottage next to the beach resort. The view was outstanding, the rooms were gorgeous and the staff was just lovely. We had just reserved one junior villa with the pool and where going to pay extra ($70) per night for the girls to stay with us, but because they were not full, they gave us the other bedroom in the house for the same price which was an amazing luxury to say the least. We could not get any of our devices to work despite the assurance there was wi-fi, but that was a blessing in disguise. The beach and pool are so gorgeous and everyone was very very nice. The girls went to kids club every afternoon and made tie dye t-shirts, necklaces, baskets, etc. Round Hill also had babysitters available so we could have adult evenings. The food is expensive and dinner does not start until 7:30 which is very difficult when feeding small children. The drinks were also very expensive- I don't mind paying $10 for a rum punch on vacation but there is no reason for it to be so small and in a cheap plastic cup. I had a martini one night at cost $17- yikes! Over all, it was just the getaway we needed and we will go back. If you can stick to the off season, its a great value.

Room Tip: Pineapple house rooms are newly renovated and sexy. Cottages are owned by indivudal owners so while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    121
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
404
541
33
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe Township, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Round Hill in an oceanfront room in the Pineapple House. You will love this resort. It is a step above the rest. The staff, service, atmosphere, food and amenities are unbelievable. While the food is quite pricey, it is very good and fresh. You don't mind spending a little more money when the quality is there...at it is at Round Hill. They had a delicious BBQ night (not to be missed) and farm to table offerings. The spa treatments were very nice, professional and reasonable. We loved the fact that there are no TVs in the rooms - there is no need when there are awesome tubs for lavish baths, ipod docks and a balcony to enjoy a book or a cigar. It has a easy, comfortable vibe and effortless elegance. The furnishings are a blend of Pottery Barn, coastal chic and Ballard Design (well, actually Ralph Lauren apparently did the design work and it shows). The mento band and Brimsley, the cocktail bar piano player, were awesome. They provided terrific music during dinner and drinks. Lastly, the complimentary afternoon tea was a delight (rum balls, tea sandwiches, cookies, etc.). Simply put, Round Hill is a class act. Not to be missed. We will be back.

Room Tip: Best bet is the oceanfront room with balcony. if you are travelling with several friends, couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Small, intimate and luxurious. Like going back in time to the days of Garbo and Fairbanks, Jamaica style. Lovely staff and picturesque setting. The spa is simple and small, but just right with its vistas of long green lawns and turquoise ocean. I'd go back anytime.

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms are STUNNING - i believe remodeled by Ralph Lauren. There was a bit of a bug i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I took a relatively "unplugged" vacation to Round Hill in August. The resort and the staff are charming. The food, though a bit expensive, was quite good. We were there during the off season so there were not very many guests there and we enjoyed the quiet privacy.

The resort has a classic, classy vibe that you would associate with celebrities of the past. From the photos on the walls of the bar, many celebrities actually did stay there regularly. It is definitely an "old money, " white dinner jacket and vodka martini kind of place.The staff knows just how much to "wait on you" without being pesky.

Most importantly, my husband miraculously slept through the night the entire time we were there. He hasn't done that in literally years.

We plan to go back to Round Hill next spring.

I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucytb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Probably one of the classiest properties in Jamaica, Round Hill been a hot spot for celebs for more than 60 years. You can certainly imagine Pierce Brosnan hanging out at the bar here. I loved the decor (everything is designed by Ralph Lauren) and despite the age of the resort, it is very well maintained. The hotel is made up of villas which are separate from the bar and main dining areas. The rooms are spacious with great views of the beach and pool. I loved the infinity pool and there are plenty of places to relax if you need to escape a rain shower. Every afternoon they have a complimentary British style afternoon tea - great cucumber sandwiches! The coffee is great, of course it is Blue Mountain coffee. The restaurant has a farm-to-table focus. Food is expensive for what it is, especially breakfast, but the quality is a lot better than we expected. The resort is great for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I spent our 10 year anniversary at the Round Hill in July. Since it was during the off season the resort was fairly quiet. The staff was great and accommodating and even got us tickets to SumFest at our request. I am a vegetarian and upon arrival I was given the names of the chefs. When we arrived for dinner later that night after we were seated we were greeted by the chef and the owner. We stayed in cottage 13. The staff was superb and the food was great. My husband and I can't wait to go back! Thanks for a memorable vacation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

On top of the Round Hill hotel charges per night, there’s 10% tax and 15% service charge to the total bill. The front desk will tell you this openly when you check-in. Then two bellboys will carry your suitcases to the room at Pineapple House, open some windows, and show you a fantastic view of the ocean. Then they will wait at the door. All I thought was, “Didn’t I tip 15% already?” So I didn’t tip. Then I felt guilty. So an hour later, I looked for the bellboys and gave them 5 dollars each.

Separately, the restaurant will also add 10% tax and 18% service charge on to your bill. So you have no choice but to pay 18% tip. But there is a blank line on the receipt where you can write the service charge. I wrote a line through it as if I’m not paying the tip.

The 15% service charge is supposedly shared among workers. Actually, I stayed in a hotel in Negril and found out from many of the workers that the service charge was completely kept by the hotel. But that’s not the case at Round Hill. They are shared among the employees in different ratio. One of the worker said that the front desk and the cleaning crews get the most, but who knows what the ratio is. Besides, I’m not accustomed to tipping the front desk. And if the hotel decides who gets the tips, this is no longer a tip! It’s just a normal cost of stay but sneakily calling it a “15% service charge” instead of “15% extra charge”.

Your breakfast, lunch, and dinner will cost you roughly $25 to $35 each for each person. On Friday night and Monday night, you have no other choice but Jamaican food night and BBQ night, and that will cost you $60 before tax and before service charge.

So why not eat out? Locals will say Pelican or Scotchie’s are the best places to eat at Montego Bay. The cab ride to Montego Bay and back is $60 round-trip. The Jamaican tourism bureau assigns a cab or two to each hotel and you have no choice but to ride these cabs.

There are other aspects of the hotel both good and bad besides price and guilt, but I got consumed by it and could not relax in my Caribbean vacation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
31 Thank backpacktravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundHillTA, Director of Sales at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are very sorry that you felt that you had unexpected charges during your recent stay. We are sure to communicate the tax and service charge at time of booking and in our written confirmation letter to ensure that all our guests are aware of these charges before they book. This information is also clearly stated on our website. The tax rate is determined by the government of Jamaica and is charged by every Jamaican hotel. Additionally, the service charge is standard in the industry and is distributed amongst our dedicated staff. Tipping is at the discretion of our guests and is not mandatory. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
61.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,273 reviews
11.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,328 reviews
16.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Property: Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing