We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trawsfynydd Holiday Village
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bronaber
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Portmeirion(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Branwen(Harlech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castell Deudraeth(Portmeirion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Mawr Hotel(Llanbedr)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kings Head Hotel(Blaenau Ffestiniog)
View Hotel
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
265
44
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
44
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday villagethe pubcoed y breninon sitelog cabinself cateringnext yearmountain bikinggold cabingreat holidaynorth walesbeautiful locationthe kitchenget away from it allfantastic viewshalf termsurrounding area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 317 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed for a mid week break in Cabin 12 ( Silver Category) 4 nights ...late Jan - early Feb when country was experiencing very cold weather.....I think it went down to minus 8 one night ! despite this the cabin was extremely comfy and warm and we even could eat a evening meal in the conservatory part on the front of the cabin due to the very good heater.
Cabin was well appointed and had everything we needed and nice and clean when we arrived. Reception staff at the main building helpfull and polite , as was everyone we encountered in the area !
The local Pub .......The Rhiw Goch Inn ........ was visited as well and had fabulous roaring fire and good beer ! Superb mid winter deal of Two for One on main courses and starters which we can report were delicious and very good portions.

Holiday village is ideally situated for the Coed Y Brenin forestry centre which has some brilliant cycling tracks, and we also visited further North ( 30 mins by car ) to Pen y Pass and Llanberis for Mountain walking upon Snowdon....

Would throughly recommend a stay at the Holiday Village for any like minded visitors to the area !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cirrusvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're really pleased you had a good stay and that you enjoyed your time in Snowdonia. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My Family and I have been visiting the Holiday Village for the past Nine Years and been staying at The Bunkhouse since its conversion from the Ski Shop.
The Bunkhouse sleeps 20 people. Five Rooms each with Four Bunk Beds. The living space is comfortable with nice big leather settee's and two TVs, one in each corner. There is a Mens Showeroom with two sinks and two Showers and a Ladies Showeroom the same. There is also a Disabled Toilet near to the kitchen area. The Kitchen area consists of nearly two of everything, Kettles, Toasters, Cookers and lots of kitchenwares like cups plates etc. There is also a drying room just in case you get caught in the rain or have just returned from a trek or bike ride soaking wet. Has it was Christmas we used it has a cold store as there is no heating in there unless you press the Blue Button for a two hour drying cycle. The Bunkhouse itself is lovely and warm, storage heaters heat up in the night and keep it warm during the day.

At £1100.00 a week its pricey for a small family to take on so its best if other family members from far and wide join you and split the cost like we do. Its great for Ramblers and Mountain Bikers too as the Bunkhouse has its own bike shed on the carpark.

This is a very well kept property and always looks nice and clean and freshly painted, very well maintaned too.
If you do have a problem with anything a quick call to the Office and everything is sorted the same day. The Holiday Village Staff are the BEST you will ever meet, Nothing is too much trouble.

I would recommend Trawsfynydd Holiday Village 100% to anyone.

A quick note to future Hirers:
Please look after this facility. Theres not many 20 Sleepers available nationwide.

A quick note to past Hirers :
Graffiti on the shelves in the Bedrooms and holes punched in walls etc is not acceptable. You know who you are and should be ashamed of yourselves.

Room Tip: For large Families you can't beat the Bunkhouse.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. We are aware of the holes in the wall, the repair of these along with a number of other maintenance jobs are planned for January. Thanks also for your note to future Hirers, it would be nice if everyone respected our properties as you obviously do, but as you have seen, some people do get a little carried away, leading to such damage. A quick note from us re price, £1100 is for 1 week for 20 people. The Bunkhouse is available from 2 nights upwards and for 10 people or more, the price hired in this manner is on a price per person per night basis, which starts at £18.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

myself and my family stayed here for a week in may this year and had a lovely time at the holiday village.

on arrival we reported at reception and were told that our cabin was open and travel cot had been put in for us.
we stayed in cabin 195 and were very pleased with it.
it was very clean and well maintained and was surprisingly spacious. the kitchen was very well equipt and had everything we needed for our stay.

the site is very well maintained and has lovely views of the mountains. the shop is well stocked with all of your essentials (bread milk groceries etc) and the launderette is situated next door.
there are many pkaces to visit and we had great days out at greenwood forest park and Barmouth.

sadly the weather wasn't kind to us the week of our stay but this didn't ruin our holiday. we ate a few times at the rhiw goch inn which is just a short walk up the hill, the food was lovely but overpriced as it is essentially pub grub at restaurant prices.

I would recommend the traws fynnedd holiday village to anybody. wether you want a peaceful retreat or a fun packed family holiday, there is something nearby to suit everyone's tastes.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Thanks so much for your lovely review. Really pleased you liked the cabin and holiday village. It's a shame that the weather was not great, but as you say there is so much to do in Snowdonia perhaps if you come again you will be lucky and can visit some of the other attractions.
The Team at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed cabin (could sleep 5). Cabin well equipped, super clean, cozy and enough space for a family of four (2 adults, 2 kids aged 13 & 9). Site felt quiet despite being in 1st week of school holidays but this suited us. Good play area and open spaces. Check-in was easy. No problems with cabin during the week so cannot comment on sites problem solving skills!! Lots of information about surrounding area available in the shop/reception which highlights many activities. Brilliant base for a very active holiday. Trawsfynydd is an excellent central location. Walks and bike routes right on doorstep. Coed-y -brenin, beautiful beaches and towns all not far. Had a brilliant holiday and will definitely return in few years.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salfurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Many Thanks for your lovely comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that cabin and village lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again some time in the future.
The Team at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed a week in 2 bed cabin. Very quiet as it was off peak (week after half term) and seemed at times we were the only ones in the whole park.

Great kids play area with new equipment and assault course. Large area for football and basket ball and all clean and free from debis and dog mess.

Cabins are basic but all the essentials are there. At peak times the cabins are expensive and not good value but off peak are very good value. Bed 1 had a double bed and small wardrobe, bed 2 bunks and that was about it, so limited place for clothing. The main lounge had a sofa bed but I cannot imaging staying in the cabin with more than 2 adults and a couple of kids, there is not enough space.
The kitchen area is ok with oven etc and also a fridge and sep frezzer.

It was too cold to use the outdoor patio but looked like it would be good in the summer.

As a number of the units are privately owned many people come down just for the weekend and also what is in the unit will vary enormously depending on the owner.

I would recommend this site but not if you were paying full price peak rates

Room Tip: search out private owners rather than main site
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunseeker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrawsfynyddHolidays, Owner at Trawsfynydd Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thanks for the comments. I'd like to point out that our cabins are graded Bronze, Silver, Gold. Bronze being "Basic, No Frills Accommodation" with Gold having a good level of Quality and Comfort. From the comments above it is not clear what grade of cabin this guest stayed in, but we suspect it was a bronze, which is going to be "basic". Also as all cabins are privately owned, each one can have a different layout and of course different furniture. So for example this cabin may not have had an enclosed veranda, hence the living space is going to be a little smaller than other 2 bedroom cabins and have less storage space etc. Also, if anyone books a 2 bedroom cabin wanting to sleep more than 4, we always point out that the cabin is essentially designed for 4 people and hence the living space is going to be tight for 6 people, it is then the holidaymakers choice if they go ahead and book or not. Regarding the letting of private cabins; there are a few owners that rent out their cabin individually, but do remember the quality is going to vary, if there are problems with the cabin whilst you are there, the owners are not on site to help sort them out and if there is no opportunity to change cabins should the need arise.
Trawsfynydd Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews