We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Goa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Arco Iris is a truly wonderfully restored Goan villa, away from the hustle and bustle of the coastal resorts is a really welcome retreat. Beni, Ganesh, family and staff make you feel like you've come home. We booked originally for two days, but very quickly decided to extend for a lot longer as we realised it wasn't going to get any better than this (... and we had been staying at a very nice all inclusive hotel the week before). The family and staff are wonderful hosts and the doggie Feni (always ready for a jolly game) made it even more special. The house has been done to a really high and tasteful standard - full of interesting ornaments, carvings, a very wide variety of books, music and antique furniture. For two well travelled people, we realise that its a very rare thing when you find such a lovely place to stay and such genuinely welcoming hosts. You leave Arco Iris the better for having stayed there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Ours had a private terrace which we made full use of for sundowners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaAdolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 229 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our first experience of homestay in India had been disappointing. And then we found Arco Iris! We came, we saw and we were conquered. Your welcome in the unique setting was striking in its simple sincerity. The elegance of your home, the unfailing courtesy and warmth of everyone of you, your scrupulous attention to details, the gentle grace of your two beautiful daughters, the company of the most lovable labrador (intriguingly named after a drink!), made our stay with you memorable. It will always remain so.
Our love and thanks to you all.
May peace go with you.
Dave & Patty Chatterjee, Otford, Kent, UK 25 November - 2nd December

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at Arco Iris with my husband, parents and sister for 3 blissfully, relaxing days. We knew our stay would be special from the moment our car pulled into the driveway. Benny is a treasure trove of local knowledge, always ready with suggestions, whether it's for the perfect local dining spot or sightseeing. We loved the house with its tasteful decoration, spacious rooms and bathrooms and very modern amenities. The whole family is very hospitable including their very well behaved dog Feni.

We enjoyed every moment of our stay, especially our long morning walks to the riverside or the church. We highly recommend this place to anyone looking to enjoy the real Goa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovely_planet14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This place came as a quick recommendation from a friend to who we spelt out our needs - zero fuss, basic food, quiet and solitude. Well we got all of this and a little bit more :) Benny, the host made sure she played along beautifully with our wishes and fusses even though they were a tad bit out of the way for her. Late dinners, unplanned meals for our friends who came visiting, several cups of tea and coffee... It all came through with a "sure :)".
The place is spic and span, tastefully done, has the yummiest home cooked meals you could ask for and if you're looking for a place you could get into and not want to get out of - this is it!
What also really helped was to have like minded guests stay in the house. A definite one up.
What's not here - a swimming pool and walk into wilderness. These two could have made Arco Iris quite fabulous if you were going there for a holiday.
Do stop over here for a meal at least if you have the option to, say hello to Benny and her beautiful daughters and take a look around the house that has been put together painstakingly and beautifully.
We have come back with a smile and do hope to get back and meet the wonderful family again!

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room. It has a separate entrance which means that you can come in and go at your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at Arco Iris for three days to ring in my three year old daughter's birthday. While my intention was for my daughter to have a wonderful "slice of Goan pastoral life", everything exceeded my expectations. Benny, Ganesh, their two lovely daugthers and Feni (the most ladylike labrador ever!) are the most perfect hosts, painstakingly taking care of every small and "unscheduled" need we would have. My daughter Dia was treated to her first ever "treasure hunt" on her birthday in Arco Iris, and still tells it like one of her favorite stories. The house is beauty itself, again, with such fine detailing of the interiors, the decor, and the lovely handcrafted artefacts tucked away everywhere. And when you look out, time stand still amidst the chirping of the birds and the tender mist over the lake. It does not get better for people looking for tranquility and quietude and a space to unwind.

I must not forget to mention the utterly delectable food we ate; every meal was nothing short of a king's meal and we also ended up bringing back the Goan bread we savored (thanks to Benny).

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wonderful hospitality, comforts of home, personalized care and attention by the family (including kids and their pet lab Fenni) _ these were the hallmarks of our stay at ARCO Iris. Our friends who we were vacationing with were thrilled that this was a pet friendly home too. It was great to see ARCO Iris restored to reflect the Portuguese heritage; spoke volumes of the couples vision to create a home stay experience that pleasantly surprised you.....in idyllic Goa ... Would love to visit again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are three things I want on a vacation: something to admire, a lot of peace and quiet and nature. And a stay at Arco Iris provides all three. The 200 year-old Portugese house (recently restored by Bennita and Ganesh) allows you to appreciate Goa's history and the lovely lake that's in front of the property and the river Zuari that runs behind it, gives you a different perspective of Goa completely.
The house in itself is very peaceful and welcoming. Feni, especially, greets each visitor personally. The hosts, Bennita and Ganesh, are warm. They will suggest places to visit if you wish.
For those who love Goa but want to see a new side to it, this is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_Chandrasekharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curtorim
5.7 mi away
Hotel Panchsheel
Hotel Panchsheel
#3 of 5 in Margao
67 reviews
5.5 mi away
Nanutel Margao Hotel
Nanutel Margao Hotel
#1 of 5 in Margao
202 reviews
22.8 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
17.6 mi away
Agonda Villas
Agonda Villas
#5 of 62 in Agonda
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home

Address: 1384 Sinai Bagh House No, Curtorim 403709, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Curtorim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Curtorim
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arco Iris means “Rainbow” in Portuguese, and was built on a sprawling, 1.5 acre terraced property which overlooks a seasonal lake. This supplements the water requirements of the surrounding paddy fields. The proximity to the lake and the Zuari, the abundant greenery in and around the property, ensure a picturesque Goan setting throughout the year. The house itself is styled along colonial Portuguese lines with a high plinth, imposing columns, high ceilings and offers excellent natural ventilation throughout the year. It has been restored, true to its heritage and without compromising the modern day amenities that have come to be associated with the changes in lifestyle since the early 19th century.During the restoration process, all efforts were made to preserve the original materials which had originally gone into the construction of the house by using them, at times, for alternate purposes. The end result is a house which reflects a judicious and tasteful blend of the modern and the traditional. With a built up area of around 7,000 sq feet, the house comprises an “entrada” (foyer), “sala” (living room), dining room, four guest bedrooms with attached bathrooms and a fully equipped modern kitchen. Three of the bedrooms open onto private balconies. It also has a “balcao” (balcony) in front and a courtyard at the rear. The “balcao”, is the most social part of the house where any daily activity, be it catching up with neighbours, reading morning newspapers, eating , or just plain lazing can be enjoyed. The “sala” or the high ceilinged living room is reserved for formally receiving and entertaining visitors. The dining room is dominated by the dining table which can comfortably seat 8. All bedrooms have been suitably modified to accommodate attached bathrooms with modern amenities. The bedroom colours have been chosen keeping in mind the colours of the rainbow.There is plenty of space to read in the lounges, the dining room, or outdoors in the verandah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing