We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several Enjoyable Enjoyable Visits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Senorio

El Senorio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Several Enjoyable Enjoyable Visits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have a house in Santiago de la Ribera and have dined in many, if not all of all of the establishments in the vicinity that are good places to eat.

However, we can without doubt recommend El Senorio;s to anyone who appreciates delicious Spanish cuisine which is served in a friendly and professional manner.

The menu and wine list is in Spanish but now as English translation.

We usually have the table salad and 'tomato bread' to start (we did other starters from time to time but the main courses are so delicious and filling that we were really full to even consider a dessert).

I personally recommend the roast leg of lamb (it melts in your mouth),with seasonal vegetables.

The wine list is quite acceptable but I find the 'house wine ' very pleasant (both red and white).

The building is quite modern but they have tried to blend in some traditional spanish paintings and for the more energetic there is a small dance area situated centrally.

In conclusion you will not be disappointed by patronising this restaurant so why not give it try.

''Es muy bien.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    37
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
192 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great food in a typical Spanish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Went in one lunchtime as we were in the area and although we visit the area regularly we have never tried this place, until now and wished we had before. There were 5 of us and 4 shared two paella dishes, one seafood and one mixed seafood and meet, both of which were excellent. The steak was also excellent. Drinks were reasonably priced and the service was good. We will come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank simonbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant is easily missed, as there are no obvious lights outside, although there is a large sign.

Turning right as you come out of San Javier Airport, you will find it on your left hand side, just as you enter Santiago de la Ribera (near to the Car Hire Firms, Avis etc.). Closed Mondays.

This was our third visit since Christmas and each time we have had wonderful grilled food (Turbot, Steak, Kid, Lamb & Chicken) - even the bread is toasted on the open fire!

The portions are generous and the prices reasonable - note that the published prices do not include the 10% IVA (VAT), although the Menus are multilingual.

If you are ever here for New Year, they do a fantastic event: 10 course meal, unlimited Beer, Cider, Wine & Champagne, with novelties and Dancing through to 6 AM, when you can have Chocolate con Churros - in 2012 it cost us around 100 € each, a bargain.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,273 helpful votes
“Good grilled meat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is another of the restaurants that I have utilised over the years.San Javier airport is just a the end of the road and a couple of the major car hire firms have their rental offices nearby.

As you enter, there is a water tank with the odd lobster seeing out it last days!! There is a strong emphasis on grilled meat, the menu does offer some excellent and classic rice dishes, as well as as a few local specialities.

I was with my colleague he had the lamb, a speciality from his region of Spain and I had the charcoal grilled chicken, both were excellent. On other occasions I have just take a beer and a sandwich in the bar before catching my flight home. Lunch here can be as long or as short as you want it to be. I full expect to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank mobile_mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Javier
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality food and lovely experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I'll start by saying this isn't the cheapest place to eat but the food and atmosphere is great. We never have "starters", just a Salad for the table,which is amazing and some Jamon Serrano to pick at whilst we devour the delicious bread which comes with a tomato dip to spread on it.

This time for mains we tried the "Arroz con Bogavante" (Lobster with rice) which was like a Paella but with 1/2 a lobster each in it as well as some prawns and clams. What we really liked was that unlike most places, you could taste the rice and not just salt. The dish for a min of 2 people was €16.90 plus tax each, and worth every penny. Our friends had fillet steak which was just over €18 and said it was great too.

Including wine, drinks, deserts & liqueurs our bill for 5 was €177 which isn't cheap, but isn't expensive either. The staff are very attentive and more formal than most places. We have been before and will return again. We really rate it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JefeMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Senorio also viewed

Santiago de la Ribera, Region of Murcia
Santiago de la Ribera, Region of Murcia
 
Santiago de la Ribera, Region of Murcia
Santiago de la Ribera, Region of Murcia
 

Been to El Senorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing