We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with amazing owners in an amazing island”
Review of Pousada Ouro Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Ouro Verde
Ranked #3 of 17 Vila do Abraao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We loved Ilha Grande and had a fantastic time at Pousada Oro Verde! Rodrigo and Rita are simply great people and helped us enjoying our stay even further with their very precious suggestions. We used to talk to them every morning during breakfast which by the way was incredibly good (they make everything they serve fro juice to cakes to marmalades and bread). The room was clean and nice. The location of the Pousada is great since allow clients to relax in peace away from the "city centre". Should I go back to Ilha Grande I would definitely return to Pousada Oro Verde.

Room Tip: we have been in a room on the back of the Pousada but all the other rooms seem to be perfectly locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgiocarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaOuroVerde, Gerente at Pousada Ouro Verde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and give us your feedback. We aim to excel every day and for this we need to have feedback from our customers.
We will strive to improve on the aspects you mentioned in each of the areas of our hotel and invite you to contact us directly to review your case.
We hope to see you soon again,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 236 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days at Ilha in Renato's Pousada and girlfriends. Just arrived we understood Francesco's choice was perfect!! The Pousada laying in a well maintened garden down to the clean Beach equipped with a nice an panoramic patio to have breakfast with superb homemade cakes prepared every morning by Renato's Lady! Both of them managed the Pousada ad their home.. Cleaness.. Grass.. Flowers...Stone path.
The location was a perfect place ad i is not only seafront but also enough near to the small village of Abracao and enough far away from the pier and restaurant..to appreciate the place. I have to thank Renato for the warm ospitality, for the information and essential tips he every day told us. Last but not least thanks for his botanic presents.. our Group won't forgive so easily this corner of paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaOuroVerde, Proprietário at Pousada Ouro Verde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and give us your feedback. We aim to excel every day and for this we need to have feedback from our customers.
We will strive to improve on the aspects you mentioned in each of the areas of our hotel and invite you to contact us directly to review your case.
We hope to see you soon again,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you are looking for a place to escape to nature for a little while, Ihla Grande is ideal and Rodrigo and Rita provide you with the best hospitality on the island. Ouro Verde provides a pristine place to relax, meet nice people, and launch your daily adventures on the island, and return to a nice cleansing pool in the site's accompanying river's small waterfall and pool. Situated on the edge of town, you are right at the jungle's doorstep, but also just a short stroll from the conveniences and energy of Abraao. Rodrigo and Rita are as knowledgeable as they are friendly and hospitable, speaking Spanish, Portuguese, and English perfectly. Be sure to spend time getting to know them as well as getting daily adventure advice. If you don't you are truly missing out on a wonderful part of the experience they offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BenM531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaOuroVerde, Proprietário at Pousada Ouro Verde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest we aim to excel every day and for this
we need to have feedback from our customers. We continue to maintain focus on the service
we are known so far. We are pleased that your stay in our hotel was up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon again,
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful place sorrounded by tropical trees and flowers.The room was tidy and the bathroom was big and clean, breakfast was held in a gazebo near a stream surrounded by nature, the cakes were home-made as well as the marmalades, jams, juices:fantastic!HEAVEN is the right word to describe this place. What's more, the hosts were very friendly and we felt at home, plus they could speak English....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The best thing about Ouro Verde is Rita and Roderigo, every morning at breakfast they would ask us what we were planning for the day, and give us really useful information about what trails to take, and how long they were, where to get boats etc. We felt very welcome and the place had a lovely atmosphere.
The room itself was basic but immaculately clean, the solar powered shower was excellent, with powerful hot water. The only slight negative was that the room felt a little damp, I am sure that with the position, in the rain forest, this comes with the territory and was worth it to be in amongst the trees and out of town, especially on Easter weekend when the village was rammed.

Room Tip: We did meet another couple who were staying and we all felt our room larger and lighter. So if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in Ouro Verde for three nights in March. The pousada had everything we needed, it's a short walk out of the "center" so very peaceful surrounded by lush greenery. The best thing about Ouro Verde though are the hosts Rita and Rodrigo who are very nice people and give you detailed tips about things to do in the island. Also on the plus side, even if you don't speak Portuguese, English and Spanish are spoken so you can have interesting conversations with Rodrigo and Rita :) The room was pretty basic but very clean, and the homemade breakfast was very yummy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EepuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Located only a short walk from the pier where all the action is, the Pousada Ouro Verde is a pieceful little paradise in the beautiful forest of Ilha Grande. Rodrigo and Rita are the perfect hosts - not only for their yummy home made breakfast and great tips for the island. They also sit and talk with their guests and made us feel a little like family. Oure Verde will be our first choice when we visit Ilha Grande again and would recommend a 100% - you won't regret staying with Rodrigo and Rita!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_Munique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PousadaOuroVerde, Owner at Pousada Ouro Verde, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you guysssss, Was a surprise when a couple from Chile came and said you guys recommend us!!! Thank you for that!!!
Hope to get them next year when they go back to latin america.
A big hugh for you guys !!!
Rita & Rodrigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
0.1 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cama & Cafe Pe Na Areia
Cama & Cafe Pe Na Areia
#4 of 17 in Vila do Abraao
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alvoradas dos Borbas
Alvoradas dos Borbas
#11 of 25 in Vila do Abraao
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tropicana
Pousada Tropicana
#5 of 17 in Vila do Abraao
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Ouro Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Ouro Verde

Address: Rua do Bicao S/N | Rua getulio vargas s/n, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vila do Abraao
Price Range: $53 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada Ouro Verde 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ouro Verde Pousada offers rooms with simple furnishings; tiled floors and a private bathroom. All are equipped with a TV, fan and showers with solar heating.Every morning guests can admire the forest views, while enjoying a buffet breakfast. It offers fresh fruits, breads and cakes, as well as tea, coffee and juices.Surrounded by lush flora and fauna, Pousada Ouro Verde is a 8-minute walk from Abraao Beach and offers scenic views of Cachoeira do Bicao Waterfall. It provides practical accommodation and a variety of leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pousada Ouro Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Ouro Verde Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing