We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience!!!!”
Review of Holandes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holandes Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice experience!!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed with my wife at Hostel Holandes in June 2012 for 4 nights.

Is was an excellent positive surprise! Great environment, at the edge of the forest ... 3 minutes from the town center. Clean private room with private bathroom!

Excellent caipirina! People are nice!

Internet is slow but it is a good think you have access to it on this island!

The island is amazing and we recommend to go and visit Praia Lopez Mendez

We would stay here next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epsiloncaprolactama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    73
    14
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
53
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in January and wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms are clean, staff is professional and breakfast is great. Ilha Grande was the highlight of my trip to Brazil. They don't sell locks for the lockers but you buy one at one of the shops in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickv2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We loved Holandes, the private rooms were very cute, we had our own room with en-suite and it stayed cool even with just a fan and was bigger than other rooms we've had. The location is on the edge of the town and the forest so it's very peaceful and relaxing. The staff are really friendly especially the girl from Rio who works on reception, she was very happy to give us loads of tips on local walks to nice beaches. The food is also excellent with huge breakfasts of cakes, fruit, juices, cheese, cereal, biscuits...! The dinners looked great too and the BBQ we had there was excellent. Its a pretty sociable place too and the kitchen area is good for self catering

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geleen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed in Hostel Holandes in December 2010 in one of the tents on the ´campsite´. The hostel is great, breakfast the best I´ve ever had in a hostel. There is basically all, juice, tea, coffee, milk, cakes, bread, cheese, ham, marmelade, cookies, cereals, fruit and much more! The only thing that was not so nice, is that they told us we would have a 4 person tent for the 2 of us. When we arrived it was def a 2 person tent and not a 4 person. We asked if we could get another one. But the answer was that this was a 4 person tent (impossible, almost no space left beside our matresses) and we could take this one.. or find another hostel. The girls are really friendly, but the guy at the reception is not giving a good service.

Room Tip: Get one of the private houses, they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This is a great hostel in a beautiful spot, just out of the main town. Only a 10min walk to town, but it's a bit steep, tough with a backpack in 30 degree heat! Rooms were very new feeling, great beds and spotlessly clean. Staff were good also and breakfast was ample. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowbar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Having Booked two night in the hostels chalets, we arrived and asked to stay another night, which we were told would be no problem.

Unfortunately this was not logged into the system and a double booking occurred, so while we were moved out of our fantastic chalet, we were instead given a 4 bed dorm all to ourselves for the last night. The best bit of course was the price. Due to the mix up we were given our last night free, classy service.

The breakfast buffet is great, the option of getting an evening meal fantastic, and the atmosphere tranquil and relaxed, one of the few places I would stay in again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daithiocoinnigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at Holandes Hostel for 5 nights. The place is located at the edge of the jungle, a 5-minute uphill walk from the centre of Abraoa. Even at night its is perfectly safe to walk there (Ilha Grande is very safe in general, anyway). Everything is spaciously set in lush green gardens. Very peaceful, unless some of the guests decide to have a spontaneous party in the middle of the night...this did happen, and once it was pretty annoying, but when we asked them to be quiet (it was 2 am), they were so immediately. Indeed the crowd here was more civilised than in your average backpacker hostel.
We had one of the little chalets, very very nice. They look a bit like gnomes' houses in the forest, but there is space enough, and your own bathroom. We even got towels and there was soap, and a hot shower. Not all chalets have the same quality of fittings, though; initially we had number four (the one furthest back) which was a bit crumbling inside, but the last night we had the one straight on your right when you enter, which was much nicer, especially the bathroom (marble top!).
The service was a bit slow at times, but friendly, and generally the atmosphere very pleasant. You can hang out in hammocks, watch TV, have a drink at their own bar in the evening, there is free internet (slow, of course, like everywhere on Ilha Grande). The breakfast buffet is included and there is a good variety of food available. Best of all, you can have dinner for 15 reais every evening, which is a great deal, because the food is nice and it's a buffet so you can fill up well.
The only thing we should mention to watch out for is their pricing policy, which seems to be rather arbitrary. When we called to make a booking, we were told the price was 90 reais per night for the chalet, including HI discount. As we found this a bit high, we asked for a better price by email, and got a reply from someone else who dropped the price to 70 reais. Whilst we were there it seemed that different people in the same dorm were paying completely different prices, so better check beforehand.
Despite this, we highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Abraao
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Ouro Verde
Pousada Ouro Verde
#4 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
234 reviews
16.6 mi away
Welcome Surf Hostel
Welcome Surf Hostel
#13 of 82 in Ilha Grande
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abraao Hostel
Abraao Hostel
#7 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Cachoeira
Pousada Cachoeira
#11 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabanas Paraiso
Cabanas Paraiso
#20 of 82 in Ilha Grande
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holandes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holandes Hostel

Property: Holandes Hostel
Address: Rua da Assembleia s/n, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23960000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Holandes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holandes Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing