We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well cooked fresh local seafood and great service - just needs more people dining!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simply Judes Brasserie

Simply Judes Brasserie
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Pentewan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well cooked fresh local seafood and great service - just needs more people dining!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were staying in Pentewan for a week and came here on our first night - all vowed to come back before we left. Can highly recommend the local scallops and the crab and prawn fishcakes. We all had excellent meals and Alex was great in service. Unfortunately for them it seemed we were the only ones dining for the evening. Definitely worth a look.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guru_brahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    8
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Avoid the fish and chips!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I ate at this restaurant with my partner on Sunday evening and was very disappointed. We both ordered fish and chips which was described as having a light tempura batter. The batter was thick and hard, the chips were soggy and lukewarm and the fish had not been deboned. It definitely had the appearance of a dish that had been prepared some hours earlier and had been badly reheated. We were asked by a member of staff if we enjoyed our meal and although I complained about the standard no apology or deduction was offered. The only good thing was the friendly service from the waitress who was also running the bar. We felt that the menu was too ambitious for a small restaurant. To add to our discontent an amount of £5.95 misc bar appeared on the bill erroneously and we had to bring it to the attention of the waitress who apologised stating that it was a problem they were experiencing with the till! Sorry but we won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great eating experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautiful tasty food, good choice of dishes on the menu, the staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant has been tastefully refurbished, all in all a superb experience. We will definitely be eating at Judes again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

well,to be fair,the starter was ok and the dessert was a fine crumble but the sunday roast.....there was only lamb or beef,a great heap of it which neither of us could eat or cut through because it was so sinewy.we were alone in there maybe I know why now!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank esteban692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judy r, Owner at Simply Judes Brasserie, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I read your review and I was very surprised with your review. Yes we're quiet when you came in and as we told you we only been open a few months and we are still establishing our sunday lunches as its hit and miss at the moment as most catering industry are at the moment.
When you were asked on all 3 courses if everything were ok and you said yes on all three counts. On the roasts we only cook roast Rib or Topside of Beef and Leg of Lamb and a Vegetarian alternative. The day you were in we cooked Roast Rib of Beef. You had Beef and the other had Lamb. There were some meats came back on the plate with the comment from you that you both weren't use to such big a portion and it was very good not what you said on the review. Why?You were making good comments to us and write another.
We pride ourselves with everything homecooked and with good local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic service and lovely food. Food was clearly freshly prepared and absolutely delicious. The young waiter, Alex, couldn't have been more helpful. Great experience. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lbyrney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Judes Brasserie also viewed

 
Pentewan, St Austell
Pentewan, St Austell
 

Been to Simply Judes Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing