We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a great stay, the food in the drifftwood bar/restaurant was excellent, debs the manager and all the staff were great, all the facilities were very clean all day round. I would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisHogg3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    116
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
273
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Great site, perfectly located on the beach. Everywhere was clean and tidy... the showers were obviously cleaned several times a day. We stayed in our trailer tent on pitch C54 which was well located for access to the beach, the shower block and the Seahorse Club. The dates were classed as off peak, although our children (6, 3 and 2) hadn't returned to school. Therefore the site was extremely quiet. The weather was brilliant, 23c on two days and we all loved the beach... warm sand, clear blue sea and shoals of fish swimming around us! Our pitch was huge, with the hook up and water stand serving the four pitches surrounding it. We ate twice at the Driftwood Bar on the beach, which we were able to book tables at. The food was good, and not overpriced. The children loved the onion rings! The indoor play area was an excellent addition to the park, and as there was only one exit (into the restaurant) it allowed us to sit and enjoy the free Wi-Fi safe in the knowledge that the children were having a fun, safe time. The pool was really cold, but good fun. Some of the entertainment was a bit random, but I guess that's to be expected at a holiday park. Staff were very helpful and friendly... our 6 year old even had a favourite waitress! Wi-Fi access around some of the park would be advantageous. We'll definitely be going back :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sammipee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we originally had a budget caravan which looked great for us but there was a defect with the fold out bed in the lounge part of the caravan, once the reception were made aware of the issue they quickly sorted us out with another caravan so they could fix the issue - we were upgraded to a gold caravan at no extra cost which was fantastic. The beds were very comfortable for a caravan.

The facilities were all excellent, my daughter loved the softplay though the lower levels could do with a thorough hoovering as i hate to see a build up of dust in the unused areas. The pools are bigger then what they look and we all had great fun on the slides - changing facilities were clean and built with families in mind. My only criticism would be that the ceiling looked a bit grimy from all the steam in the showers.

The beach was great and clean - once you were down by the sea the sand was much finer.

Considering the menu they have on offer at the seahorse center i though the prices were reasonable as the food was of good quality.

Considering it was fairly quiet at the seahorse center on the evening the entertainment was great - some pretty good bands played!

All in all we had a fantastic holiday and look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

When staying at Pentewan sands holiday park, I found my accommodation very disappointing. The caravan we stayed in was poorly maintained, our mattress was most uncomfortable and the dining chair legs were loose making it unusable. We were allocated an outside space with a picnic bench but when we sat on this to enjoy lunch one day, the whole bench moved needless to say this was never used for the remainder of our visit. When reading about the sight's luxury I was looking forward to my stay, however the standard of accommodation was very poor for the escalated price of nearly £800.00 for a week .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahsb8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Don't let my title put you off, its just that both my husband and myself have just realised that we are too old for this camping lark with young children :). we stayed 10th to 17th August on the touring field in a tent B field with our 11 year old granddaughter. Site is very large and although the tents do seem to be on top of each other at first glance as mentioned, it is quite deceptive, the pitches are very generous and some of the more seasoned campers made great use of their space - talk about home from home - all sorts of creature comforts. The beach was lovely - very sharp sand so if you are a wimp like me, invest in some of those slip on shoes you can swim in. I saw no evidence of rubbish while we were there, the water is shallow when the tide is out so nice and safe for the kids. We loved the Bistro bar, if it had been just me and my husband we would have sat there most nights. The Seahorse club was fine, busy so if you want a seat you have to get there early - entertainment most nights although I am not into comedy acts much there was a Lady Gaga tribute act on which was quite good. We we didn't eat at any of the places on site so can't comment on the food I am afraid, however we did use the takeaway which was fine. the two pools were good, at the busiest times entrance was restricted so you nay have to wait to get in but that only happened once to us and we didn't wait too long. Granddaughter loved the slides, I do think they should restrict the older children from larking about in the slide pool especially around the area the slides enter the pool, the other pool is fine for boisterous teenagers if they are not using the slides, some little tots were getting knocked about or splashed. Weather wasn't brilliant which couldn't be helped. My only gripe would be the toilet/shower facilities nearest our pitch - old and not too clean at times - although the campsite can't be held responsible for other campers not cleaning up after them this block needs renovating. The other blocks on site seemed better as they were a lot newer. For the size of the site and the amount of people I was worried about noise at night but was quite pleasantly surprised, come 11pm not a peep apart from the odd owl. I would go back, but at a quieter time of the year and in a static caravan!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina16559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've just spent a great week at Pentewan Sands at the height of the season, the site was very busy so service was a little slow at times but only to be expected. Staying on site was no problem, with a nice clean beach and good facilities. We stayed in a static caravan which was very clean and well equipped, the toilet blocks were clean and sweet smelling, unlike some sites where the toilet blocks could be smelt 100 yards away. All the facilities were always clean and staffed with happy very helpful people.
Overall we had a very good time on a site that can only be described one of the best in Cornwall. Would recommend it to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: Choose a site not too close to the toilet blocks as it could be a little bit noisy in the evenings w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very pleasant two weeks in a touring caravan. Beach excellent and safe. Pool facilities clean and tidy.

The only downside was lack of water facilities. People nearer the drinking water tap hogged them by putting windbreaks etc around so we ended up walking either through sites or walking further to get drinking water.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentewan
1.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
16.7 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Address: B3273 | 5 miles south of St Austell, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pentewan
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentewan Sands Holiday Park 5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing