We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but shocking attitude towards paying holidaymakers.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location but shocking attitude towards paying holidaymakers.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in a static caravan for 2 weeks which was lovely and clean and had a lovely view of the sea. The facilities were spotless, which I was very impressed with and beach was nice too, apart from empty cans of beer which had been left night before.Swimming pool was great. Amusements were absolutely rubbish, wouldnt even call it amusements.Seahorse was very very disappointing , this is the main place for night time entertainment and it was closed once in first week and 3 times in the second. The only other place is the driftwood which is an eating place, so with 6 kids aged between 3 -9 this just isnt fun for them. Unfortunately weather wasnt great so we couldnt even do stuff outside caravan to keep them happy. Me and my partner had scrimped and saved for this holiday, its disgusting that the facilities you pay for are then unavailable due to campsite owners been so greedy that they hire it out to locals for weddings etc. We also tried to book driftwood for 13 people for a birthday meal and we were turned down "incase they got busy". Also one member of staff behind bar in seahorse was rude and made it known he didnt like children on more than one occasion.We actually left a day early as we had had enough of been told club was closed.Im not a drinker so its not because i want to drink but we were sick of my 5 yr old crying cos she couldnt go dancing! Holidays are to have fun!! We definitely wont b returning and neither will the other 4 families who came with us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleLumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are thrilled that your holiday home was up to expectations and that you enjoyed the use of our swimming pool. We are sorry however, that you felt that the beach was not clean enough – we do litter pick twice a day, once in the morning and then during the afternoon, and our security do patrol the beach moving on anyone drinking or BBQ’ing on the beach. We do reserve the right to confiscate any alcohol being drunk off pitches and away from Holiday homes and state this in our terms & conditions.

With regard to your disappointed due to the closure of The Seahorse on a number of occasions during your stay, we do make it clear in our literature, that outside peak season certain facilities may be restricted or unavailable due to private function and that we reserve the right to withdraw or restrict certain facilities. However, we have received a number of complaints of this nature from both local’s and holiday makers over the last year relating to The Seahorse closure, and have been re-reviewing the situation for 2014. We do have some commitments for 2014 which we will be honouring, but moving forward we will no longer be taking bookings for private functions that affect the use of The Seahorse by our visitors.

With regard to the Driftwood Bistro, this facility seats 30 covers and therefore a large table of diners would have had significant impact on the ability to ensure that food is cooked satisfactorily and served at the same time – therefore we make a policy to take no more than 6 people on any one table for this reason. We appreciate that this is incredibility frustrating for anyone wishing to have a larger table, but it is currently how this facility is operating. Your comments have been passed to our Food & Beverage Manager who has introduced this, as we believe that this type of feedback helps us work towards improving the service we provide our customers.

We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience at with us, it is certainly not our intention to disappoint our customers, many who return year after year being very satisfied with their stay at Pentewan Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    109
    53
    22
    16
See reviews for
257
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The only reason that i stayed was for the beach which i would have though would be the main reason most people stay as its on the camp site its self. Unfortunately it was never cleaned and every morning after the late night beach party's you have to watch out for broken glass, beer cans nappy's. At the price we paid it should be patrolled and cleaned all the time. I would only recommend staying if sitting among the above is your thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are sorry that you have had a disappointing experience with our beach. Please could you contact us to advise exactly when you stayed as we will be able to identify any weather issues that may have affected more rubbish than usual being washed up on the beach from the sea. Please contact us on 01726 843485.
With regard to parties on the beach, we do not allow them and our security team patrol the beach twice nightly after 11pm, to monitor if there is any activity on the beach.
We also reserve the right to confiscate any alcohol being consumed off pitches and outside caravan areas by anyone including underage drinkers. This is made clear in our terms & conditions when booking a holiday at Pentewan Sands.
Our beach is very large, therefore we endeavour to keep it as clean as possible whilst being heavily used in the summer months by both locals and holiday makers. We litter pick first thing in the morning and again in the afternoon for this reason.
In addition, unfortunately due to the location of our beach, we do experience rubbish being washed up by the tide from people who throw litter into the sea, hence the reason why we litter pick twice a day.
On the whole our visitors are very satisfied with our beach and we receive very few complaints about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had high hopes for this after reading some great (and some average) reviews. Arrived to be greeted by friendly staff, checked in quickly and went to a vacant pitch. Large pitch 13m x 13m with electric hookup. Lovely setting with a privately owned beach adjoining the campsite and two separate places to eat, the Driftwood and the Seahorse. Ate at the Seahorse once and it was great food at sensible prices. The toilets and showers on site were spotless no matter what time we used them and this is the best campsite we have been to. We will go back again and I hope we have the same glorious weather too but I don't think the campsite has much control over the sun!

Room Tip: The closer you are to the sea, the nicer it is but anywhere on this site seems to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent place to stay either camping or caravan. Has its own beach, restaurant, shop, pool, club and play areas. No need to go travelling far to get to a beach and you could spend a lot of time on the site if you didn't want to drive further afield. Plenty to explore.
You pay a premium for this place but being on the sea front is what you pay for.
We camped and the pitch was really good price with free electric hook up. Shower block clean and well maintained. Had the sounds of the waves send you asleep every night and the site was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisasRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

yes this was our 2nd trip to pentewan sands and as before still a 6 star location but found issues this time booked a premium front pitch at premium price but despite this it became a public thoroughfare for beach goers the toilet blocks are great always well maintained the bar prices are almost certainly keeping people away from the club went to the driftwood bar twice as liked it so much last year but was closed on first occasion and cooler broken 2nd occasion so warm cider not nice the weather made the holiday 5 star and i must admit despite small issues we had a superb time and would i go back for the location yes for the rest maybe not we will have to see

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
241 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a second trip to Pentewan Sands, it is a very clean well maintained camp site, we were there the week before peak season. The weather was amazing. The pitches are very large, which makes it feel quite spacious even when busy. The shower block is amazingly clean, and well maintained. Drifters (bar bistro on the beach), has outside seating, and dining inside for small numbers, you must book this, the food is very good. The seahorse, is where the activity is and a lovely large outside seating area away from the entertainment! the beach is huge. nice large shop stocks every thing. there is a take away which serves a variety of cheap food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just arrived home after having an amazing week on site 6th to 13th July, the weather made the holiday, we had a beach front pitch and we didn't leave the pitch very often, toilets were always clean though 2 hours to shut them to clean was a bit extreme I thought. We didn't use either bars on site, why would we with the view we had? The shop was reasonably priced for a site store, we hired kayaks twice fantastic value and Bruce and his mum were very helpful, will definitely be going back to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Louby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentewan
1.4 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tremarne Hotel
Tremarne Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mevagissey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
16.7 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
0.3 mi away
Ancient Shipbrokers
Ancient Shipbrokers
#2 of 4 in Pentewan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Address: B3273 | 5 miles south of St Austell, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pentewan
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentewan Sands Holiday Park 5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing