We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
South Nutfield, Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great site”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just returned from a great camping holiday at Pentewen Sands. We were incredibly lucky with the sunny weather which always helps but this is a really good site with its own beach, large plots and very clean facilities

The plots overlooking the beach are clearly in great demand and are worth the premium for the view

The pools are very good - it was difficult to drag the kids away from them.

The site was relatively quiet whilst we were there being the week after half term so can't comment on how it copes in peak season however few will definitely be back

Only warning is to be aware of the crows that are very confident around people and will shred bin bags if left out and are nt averse to entering open caravans and tents

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    115
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
273
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Just had a week on pentewan with my touring caravan and had the best week in the uk ive had in a long time, had a beach edge plot and my little girl had a wonder on the beach every morning, campsite very clean and well laid out, toilet and shower facilities very very clean with plenty of hot water, shop and food places excellent, and a very warm and clean pool facility

Lovely location and easy to find, no silly little lanes, gorgeous village next door

So good weve already booked same plot for the same week next year

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bellas_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having visited this site 4 time already this year we came back with friends to show them exactly what they were missing, shame they have left not wanting to return, on checking in on Friday 7th just before closing the receptionist was almost annoyed we'd turned up just before closing although I had notified two days before we would be late, then we were told the club house wasn't even open from Saturday 8th in the afternoon all day and evening, Having had two excited children all week talking about the play area and the disco's and our friends children excited they were then left very upset luckily we managed to fill our day with the swimming and the beach, However what if we weren't so lucky with the weather? On complaining again and asking why I wasn't notified when I called two days previous that not all the park would be open the receptionist apparently said they were only told 2 days before that there was a function (the function was a wedding!!!!). I explained to the lady we have booked again to come down fri 14th-16th with more friends who are also visiting the park for the first time and is all the facilities going to be on offer and again I was told that it would be shut again on the Saturday. Granted the website does state that in non peak times the club could be shut but surely a discount should be giving that weekend to campers as not all the facilities are on offer and for customers to be told at time of booking out of courtesy. I have been left upset and disappointed and I'm now in two minds to return at all cancel my forthcoming booking and try some where else...... my advice if booking ring first to see of all the facilities are actually on offer before you pay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DEAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are sorry that you have been left feeling disappointed with your stay at Pentewan Sands.
We thank you for your feedback on communication between our office and The Seahorse Club and this something we will investigate and address. We do aim to advise anyone booking to stay on the site if there are any private functions on the site, and believe that on this occasion there may have been a breakdown of communication which meant our office team were not fully briefed on the situation. We can only apologise for this error. Although the upper deck of the Seahorse Club was unavailable the pools were still available and our Driftwood Bistro & Bar was open from 10am-10pm serving snacks, drinks and hot meals.

With regard to the entertainment, we do provide a full entertainment programme during the main school holidays, which is Easter, Whitsun, Peak summer season and October half term. Outside these periods, we do state that we do not provide entertainment. We are sorry that you were not advised when you asked about this situation and that your children we left disappointed with lack of disco’s – these will be a feature of our Summer entertainment schedule which starts on 20th July. Our High Season entertainment starts this Sunday 22nd June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our second visit to pentewan sands. We came here in Aug 2012 and decided to come back again because we had a fantastic time. We came again for 3 main reasons, the beach and site is fantastic,the entertainment in the seahorse and the excellent food in the driftwood. So you can imagine our disappointment when there was no entertainment program, the driftwood was closed for 2 days and the seahorses was closed for 3 nights. I rang on 2 occasions a few days before we came to find out the entertainment program because they was nothing on the website and was told it hadn't been updated and we would know when we arrive on 01/06/13. We was never once told that they would be no entertainment program or that the seahorses would be closed for 3 days.it was very hard to tell our 10 year old daughter that they was no kids entertainment has this was something she was looking forward to.has must people do,myself and wife work very hard for our holiday and won't be having another one this year so this is why we feel very let down and extremely upset.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dlangleyhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are sorry that you have been left feeling disappointed with your stay at Pentewan Sands. We do run a full entertainment programme during the main school holidays, which is Easter, Whitsun Bank Holiday, Peak summer season and October half term. Outside these periods we do not provide entertainment and we aim to make this clear in all of our communications to customers. We are sorry that you were not advised when you asked about the entertainment situation.

Our Seahorse Club dining facilities were indeed closed for two days for refurbishment, but during the closure our Driftwood Bistro & Bar was open from 10am-10pm for our guests to use as were both the fun pool, the lap pool and the childrens play zone. We do aim to make every effort to ensure our visitors have a dining facility whilst staying on site but there are occasions when the Upper Deck of the Seahorse is closed for a private function.

We do value feedback from our customers as it helps us improve the service we provide and will take all the comments on board and look to addressing them moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just back fom a week at Pentewan Sands. We stayed in a gold plus caravan and can't fault it. Immaculately clean. Well equipped. Very comfortable. ( to the point where my husband swears he's never slept so well, anywhere, even home!!!)
Fantastic beach. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff.
The shop is very reasonably priced. And the snack bar wa a hit with my daughter.

My only gripe is the whole low season thing. We arrived on 1 June which is the second week of my kids school hols. I appreciate not all schools get two weeks off, but I was dissapointed by the fact there was no entertainment. The Seahorse restaurant was closed for refurb for 2 days and for a private function on the 3rd. The Driftwood bar was closed for a different 2 days for refurb/ menu change.
I understand that the park is a little quieter during ths time but we are on our family holiday. Even one or 2 nights entertainment would have been great. And alternate night restaurant closures would be better.

Room Tip: We were in D field which was a good choice. Very quiet and quite private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you found our holiday home accommodation comfortable, well equipped and immaculately clean. It is always good to hear that our customers have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are sorry that you we disappointed with the lack of entertainment, we had put on a full programme of entertainment during the Whitsun half term week which is our standard practise but recognise that school holidays do vary. At the moment we have no plans to change this but will certainly take on board your comments.

We have been going through a period of change in The Seahorse Club and the Driftwood and have made every effort to minimise the impact on our guests and we are sorry if you were impacted unnecessarily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just back from spending a fantastic week here. Second time back in 6 months and booked again for later in the year. Not easy to get front row pitches overlooking the sea but a must if possible.

The site is in a great location only 3 miles from st Austell. It has great facilities kids play area, indoor swimming pool, evening discos and much more. It is within walking distance of pentewan and the ship inn.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week at Pentewan. We have never stayed at a holiday park like this and always opt for a holiday cottage but thought we would give this option a try so there was more to do for our 8 year old close by. We were lucky with the weather and the private beach was stunning and in really quick and easy reach of our caravan. The Seahorse club was great, food wonderful and we ate there every night, the soft play was a real hit with our Son and we were ble to sit in the Crows Nest section and enjoy the stunning views over the bay (wish we were still there !) Drfitwood bistro was where we ate on the last night and food was delicious and a lovely end to our week. In addition the caravan was immaculate and the staff friendly and helpful. Overall we couldn't fault the week. If we booed again we would book a bigger caravan.

Room Tip: We were in E section and was perfect, the pitch was large and space for the children to play footbal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentewan
1.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
220 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
16.7 mi away
Perran Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Address: B3273 | 5 miles south of St Austell, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pentewan
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentewan Sands Holiday Park 5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing