We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We first stayed at this campsite in August last year. A brilliant family camping holiday, you can walk to the beach without all the "faff" of taking everying with you that you may possibly need when going with a kayak mad partner and two children under 10. A quick walk back to the caravan to make a picnic and back down the beach. The facilities were also great, no rooms full of slot machines, no oversized walking fluffy characters, clean bar area with room for all to sit, night entertainment not our thing but bingo a big hit and also Pentewan's Got Talent a must (*sigh*). The kids pool a little small (but a second basic rectangular pool for a more grown up swim) and the smaller pool with a centre section with a small slide and a second area with a slightly larger slide also available. All in all a good time was had by all, so much we are going back again this year!

Room Tip: Book really early to get as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    112
    53
    24
    16
See reviews for
264
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oldbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed here for 2 weeks in july superb location spoilt us abit pity the weather wasnt as good toilets always nice and clean great driftwood bar by the beach which served great food the main club lacked atmosphere and looked a little like a works canteen but maybe it was the beer prices that kept people away but even despite this i will most definitley return

Room Tip: get a front pitch they are more money but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We camped at pentewan and loved the location , right on the coast with your own private beach , however we stayed with our 4 fairly well behaved children but felt they were an un-welcome addition to our trip! Although the site has a small indoor play area it seemed an inconvienece to the bar staff and was closed early in the day.
The pool was lovely for an adult swim but again felt children were frowned upon.
We would highly recommend this site to adult only holiday makers but familys not!
We have since found a wondefull haven campsite in perranporth, fantastically family friendly for 75% less!
Must however recommend the small beach bar ! The staff were warm , welcoming and the food delicous, the kids loved their hot chocolate on a cool Oct night!

Room Tip: Mevagissey is well worth a trip to , beautifull village and harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syreeta w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have just come back from a weeks holiday in the 'Retreat' with my husband, 2 small children and some friends. From the front it looks idyllic but once closer and inside its a different story. The garden round the sides and back are damp and overgrown, not very children friendly and there was even a old shower head just dumped to one side. Inside was nice and big but very poor quality. The was a massive gap underneath the patio doors, gaps in the wooden ceilings, slow draining toilets and showers, damp in one of the bedrooms, Lack of mirrors, shelves, bedside units, plug sockets so close to the single beds headboards that they were dangerous. We were told there was enough parking for 3 cars..... we struggled to park 2 standard cars and a small boat. There wasn't any evening entertainment (after complaining we were told they didn't put anything on outside school holidays. We were never informed of this!) They did have a small indoor soft play area for young children but this closed very early everyday. Not very good when you have 3 small children to try to occupy.
The best bit of this site was the private beach which was beautiful and great if you had a boat.
Oh and to top things off we had MICE!!!!!!! ewwwww :-(
All in all this was a very expensive holiday for very poor quality accommodation. Will definitely NOT be coming back here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Retreat was not worth the money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malby1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are dissappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the Retreat which is an extremely popular property on our site. We have today carried out a survey of the property and all issues are being addressed and receiving our immediate attention. With regard to the mice we had a pest control company attend the premises within an hour of the complaint and the problem has been eradicated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park in peak season, August 2011. It is a site which has a combination of static caravans, camping pitches, and caravan pitches. We were recommended the location by a friend.

Good Points
+ Great location right on the beach. Also you can walk to the pub in Pentewan village through the far side of the holiday park.
+ Good quality carvans. We were in a mid-range caravan and it was good quality.
+ The central facilities are new, and there are 2 swimming pools (slightly cold), a nice bar with a great view, and a free soft play.
+ Pentewan is a good central location to visit the usual tourist destinations in Cormwall.
+ Nice 2 mile walk into Mevagissey.
+ Evening entertainment was great. I went last year (just catching up on reviews!), but Jenny Trenelly who was responsible for compering the evening entertainment programme was fantastic - (in a slightly un orthodox way...).
+ Pentewan is not part of a big chain (Parkdean, Haven etc.) so it has a very different feel to it.
+ Pasties (the steak ones) in the onsite shop were great.

POINTS TO BE AWARE OF
+ The weather - it rained a lot.
+ The soft play, if you have young children, beware, as the entrance is upstairs and most of the play area downstairs, so you will spend a lot of time finding them.
+ The daytime childrens' activities were not great, and seem to involve Jenny's 2 helpers handing out some pens and papers, and putting a cartoon on the TV. My children did not participate in these, but I did see them.
+ Bar prices are steep, as with many holiday parks. Surely making them a bit cheaper may mean people spend more?

I had a great time at Pentewan, and was keen to leave a review, albeit slightly late, as I felt the "2 stars" left by another reviewer was not representative. I would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: Chose a caravan on the far side of the site, (away from the tents) as may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daphris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Front Office Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thanyou for your review. You are correct in saying the childrens play zone has an upper and lower level, we have a CCTV system in the playzone that lets parents view a screen of the whole area from the upstairs bar and restaurant. Alternatively they can view the downstairs through glass in the foyer of the seahorse building. We always match our bar prices to within a few pence of those of all the local pubs and believe that we have done so. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We could get up in the morning and walk straight onto the beach. Indoor heated pool was great. Accomodation good, only downside where the beds , mattresses covered in plastic and sheets far to big for the small mattresses which meant that during the night you slid off the bed,this was the only downside, however really enjoyed the fact that the site was out of season, not too sure how i would feel about this site if it was full as feel facilities would become overcrowded

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank brownderbyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Owner at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are glad you enoyed the facilities at Pentewan and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are local to pentewan Sands and used to love the whole place, great beach and great for kids but after our last stay there we had a list of complaints about the services and communication. I emailed my complaint and only received a reply after weeks had elapsed and I wrote another, the customer services promised to look into my comments but again weeks and weeks have gone past with NO communication, I believe that responding to complaints immediately is key to any business and I certainly will not be recommending Pentewan Sands to any of our friends if they do not value their customers opinions. What started as a simple problem could so easily have been resolved with communication.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Front Office Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are sorry that our communication and customer service seems to have failed somewhere between us. We are unable to trace your complaint in our records. Please contact Gaynor at Pentewan Sands if your problems are still un resolved in order that we may give you our urgent attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentewan
1.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mevagissey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Llawnroc Hotel
The Llawnroc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gorran Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Porth Avallen Hotel
Porth Avallen Hotel
#9 of 9 in St Austell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Address: B3273 | 5 miles south of St Austell, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pentewan
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentewan Sands Holiday Park 5*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing