We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and holiday park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park in peak season, August 2011. It is a site which has a combination of static caravans, camping pitches, and caravan pitches. We were recommended the location by a friend.

Good Points
+ Great location right on the beach. Also you can walk to the pub in Pentewan village through the far side of the holiday park.
+ Good quality carvans. We were in a mid-range caravan and it was good quality.
+ The central facilities are new, and there are 2 swimming pools (slightly cold), a nice bar with a great view, and a free soft play.
+ Pentewan is a good central location to visit the usual tourist destinations in Cormwall.
+ Nice 2 mile walk into Mevagissey.
+ Evening entertainment was great. I went last year (just catching up on reviews!), but Jenny Trenelly who was responsible for compering the evening entertainment programme was fantastic - (in a slightly un orthodox way...).
+ Pentewan is not part of a big chain (Parkdean, Haven etc.) so it has a very different feel to it.
+ Pasties (the steak ones) in the onsite shop were great.

POINTS TO BE AWARE OF
+ The weather - it rained a lot.
+ The soft play, if you have young children, beware, as the entrance is upstairs and most of the play area downstairs, so you will spend a lot of time finding them.
+ The daytime childrens' activities were not great, and seem to involve Jenny's 2 helpers handing out some pens and papers, and putting a cartoon on the TV. My children did not participate in these, but I did see them.
+ Bar prices are steep, as with many holiday parks. Surely making them a bit cheaper may mean people spend more?

I had a great time at Pentewan, and was keen to leave a review, albeit slightly late, as I felt the "2 stars" left by another reviewer was not representative. I would definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: Chose a caravan on the far side of the site, (away from the tents) as may be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daphris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Front Office Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thanyou for your review. You are correct in saying the childrens play zone has an upper and lower level, we have a CCTV system in the playzone that lets parents view a screen of the whole area from the upstairs bar and restaurant. Alternatively they can view the downstairs through glass in the foyer of the seahorse building. We always match our bar prices to within a few pence of those of all the local pubs and believe that we have done so. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
There are newer reviews for Pentewan Sands Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 469 of 469 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We could get up in the morning and walk straight onto the beach. Indoor heated pool was great. Accomodation good, only downside where the beds , mattresses covered in plastic and sheets far to big for the small mattresses which meant that during the night you slid off the bed,this was the only downside, however really enjoyed the fact that the site was out of season, not too sure how i would feel about this site if it was full as feel facilities would become overcrowded

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank brownderbyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Owner at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

We are glad you enoyed the facilities at Pentewan and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are local to pentewan Sands and used to love the whole place, great beach and great for kids but after our last stay there we had a list of complaints about the services and communication. I emailed my complaint and only received a reply after weeks had elapsed and I wrote another, the customer services promised to look into my comments but again weeks and weeks have gone past with NO communication, I believe that responding to complaints immediately is key to any business and I certainly will not be recommending Pentewan Sands to any of our friends if they do not value their customers opinions. What started as a simple problem could so easily have been resolved with communication.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank macetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PentewanSands, Front Office Manager at Pentewan Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

We are sorry that our communication and customer service seems to have failed somewhere between us. We are unable to trace your complaint in our records. Please contact Gaynor at Pentewan Sands if your problems are still un resolved in order that we may give you our urgent attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank Marina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentewan
3.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
3.2 mi away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mevagissey
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentewan Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentewan Sands Holiday Park

Address: B3273 | 5 miles south of St Austell, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pentewan
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentewan Sands Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named one of the top Holiday Parks in the South West, Pentewan Sands is a Five Star Holiday Park in Cornwall with a privately-owned beach, two indoor swimming pools, excellent family facilities and a range of holiday accommodation. So whether you choose to bring your own Motorhome, Touring Caravan or Tent, or stay in one of our modern and well-equipped Holiday Homes, you can be sure that you are staying in one of the most popular, privately owned and family-friendly five star holiday parks in Cornwall. Our beautifully kept camping and touring pitches are mostly electric, and no more than 3 minutes’ walk from the beach - some of our Beach Front and Grand Premium pitches are just a few feet from the sea. The modern two and three bedroom Holiday Homes are laid out in various areas of the park so you can choose between stunning sea views, or the seclusion of our woodland Willows. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing