We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great first stay”

Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pentewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Pentewan B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed with Pat & Jim after a recommendation and we were not disappointed. Very friendly B&B and we were made to feel very welcome. As mentioned in the other reviews the breakfast was very generous and Pat cooks to order so you don't have to stick to the same set menu, which was great for me as I'm very fussy! We'll hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudgey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent four nights in Pat and Jim's B & B. They were the most friendliest fun loving couple and nothing was too much trouble.

They made us feel so welcome and at home. Highly recommended and excellent position for visiting the breathtaking Lost Gardens of Helligan.

Maureen and Judith

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I echo the comments already made. Pat and Jim are the most attentive, friendliest and loveliest people, who cannot do enough to make you feel at home (I could quite easily have moved in permanently!) The accommodation was very comfortable and the tasty breakfast beautifully cooked and presented. Thank you so much to you both and I will definitely recommend you to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After an 8hr car drive from London to Cornwall for a charity event, we couldn't have been happier to be greeted by Pat and Jim. Such a lovely friendly couple who were incredibly accommodating and made a mean breakfast (defo try the mushroom, egg and tomatoes!!). The views across Pentewan Sands were incredible from our room and the house immaculately kept. If you want to experience a beautiful coastal village without the noise and fuss of a large campsite,I would recommend this please in a heartbeat. !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After a nightmare journey down to Cornwall, it was so nice to be greeted in such a warm way by Jim and Pat. It was like staying with a well-loved aunt and uncle! They made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The B&B was lovely and comfortable and clean, with everything you could need made available. Breakfast started with a lovely fruit salad and yoghurt, with cereal and toast and a fab cooked breakfast to set you up for the day. The beach was just a 5 minute walk away and you could see the sea out of your window -perfect! Would very happily come back and stay any time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P0lly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Recently returned from a two nights stay at Thorncliffe. The house was immaculate, the views breathtaking and the breakfasts were delicious. After an arduous journey we were instantly made to feel at home with a home brew! Within minutes of arrival, we felt as if we had descended on relatives, such was the friendly nature of Jim and Pat. They really went over and above for us and were incredibly generous. We couldn't fault the place and urge you experience the friendliest bed and breakfast west of the Tamar!

Room Tip: Mind your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very welcoming and homely atmosphere.More than generous breakfast,and clean comfortable rooms.Pat and Jim can't do enough for their guests ; we just keep going back, and crashing out !
The view from the rooms is breathtaking ; the beach is just within a short walking distance, and there is the added bonus of The Ship Inn, which provides good food .

Room Tip: Both rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 405MIKEGAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncliffe Bed & Breakfast

Address: Thorncliffe Higher West End, Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > Pentewan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pentewan
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing