We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Harbour View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Onehunga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Where to begin.
1. Hotel manager needs to take some lessons in customer service. A job at McDonald's might be a good place to start.
Super rude.
2. Airport harbor view - not quite. Motorway and factories more like it.
3. Cleanliness. Placed a bottle cap near side of bed on day one by day 8 it was still there. Clearly the level of cleanliness was unacceptable - below standard.
4. Bed bugs. On day four of a 8 day stays my doona disappeared and was replaced with a "picnic blanket". Probably a good thing as my linen was NEVER changed during my stay, the sheets remained the same.
Have I said enough? Not quite however I will probably run out of room "non recommendation".
DO NOT STAY HERE!
I should of taken the reviews that I had previously read into account before my stay. Lesson learnt!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rozita j, Owner at Airport Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
In response to your review. I am actually appalled at the untruths said by this reviewer, and our past reviews would reflect this. To respond to a couple of points, firstly being cleanliness considering you had so much “stuff” everywhere in the room the housekeepers did their best to clean around everything as it is our policy to disturb personal belongings as little as possible. I am appalled that you lie about bed bugs as this is something that we have never had a problem with in our motel, in fact we are known for our cleanliness. Our beds all have bed bug locks on all the bases and mattresses. You mentioned about your doona disappearing which was not the case as there was food all over the top sheet and the housekeeper replaced the top sheet with a blanket not a picnic blanket. Saying utter lies about us is very petty and childish. You had people calling our office all through the night and I spoke to you on numerous occasions about asking your friends to call the direct line to your room as we were getting woken up every hour. You did not respect our room or us in the slightest. We pride ourselves in our customer service, but obviously there are some people who have nothing better to do but try to cause trouble. In fact it is very interesting that if you felt it was that bad why did you bother to stay for the full 8 days and why did you not bring any of these “so called” issues to our attention as we did see you or your partner nearly every day when you came for complimentary internet vouchers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
34
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just about to check out. Stayed for Springsteen concert and owners organised taxis and pooled people (strangers) together to save on costs. Really appreciated by all of us. Provided parking for 2 non staying/paying guests free of charge too. Rooms are really modern and nice so don't be fooled by the exterior, the web pictures are accurate. Noise is no worse than any other main road location but i wasn't woken up by it. Getting up at 7am onwards isn't a problem. Definitely recommend if you're coming to a concert or to see the Warriors playing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rozita j, Owner at Airport Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Wayne, thank you for your review. I was glad to be able to help organise taxi-pooling for the concert. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, the concert sounded like it was amazing. We hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are a young adult, do not stay here. Owners looked down on us and were quite rude. They were nice at first but we have experienced more welcoming and friendlier owners on our North Island trip so far. This was probably the worst service at a motel we have ever experienced."You better not be trashing my room." That was not very pleasant to hear when all we were doing was having a rest from being tired.
Photos of the room are very deceiving and there is no view of the harbour. Really disappointed with the service and view we got given.

Suitable for older generations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siaulater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night after our long flight into Auckland from the UK. The room was spotless, well equipped and of very good size. The owner was very pleasant and helpful and explained about the local area and as we were very tired and did not feel like driving he provided us with details of local transport into the city. We would not hesitate to recommend this motel as we could not fault it.

Room Tip: up stairs are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catsmum654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We picked this motel on the internet as a one night stop over ahead of flying back to the UK from Auckland. The motel was spotless, well cared for and had good facilities. The property owner couldn't do enough for us ..... he even took us to the airport the day we left. We were able to eat in the pub/restaurant next door which was very handy. The nearby town was a disappointment and the location of the motel didn't have quite the view of the harbour we hoped for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here for over a week. The rooms are huge and kitchen facilities are comprehensive.

The owners are so welcoming and have an extensive library of movie DVD's that you can borrow from (for no cost).

Everything felt very modern, simple and clean. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rozita j, Owner at Airport Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Brent, thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and I hope your trip to Japan went amazingly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this motel for 3 days, I had 1 day of business and a couple of relaxation days with my partner. Where do I start, the minute we walked in we were greeted by Rosita one of the owners with a huge welcoming smile. Who showed us to our room, which was amazing! It was spotlessly clean, very modern and really large with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. It is situated on the main road, but we did not hear any traffic from our room. There is a lot to do in Onehunga and Rosita and her husband Aaron helped us plan our days to the fullest. There is a great restaurant next door and lots of cafés within walking distance. The train station was only a 7 minute walk and only took us 20 minutes to get into Britomart in the city centre. There is a wonderful night market on Thursdays and my partner loved Dressmart the outlet centre, with so much to do who would bother with staying in the city, this motel is situated between the city and the airport. A huge thumbs up to Rozita and Aaron who have a first rate motel and well deserving of their 4 star rating! We will definitely be back and have already booked again for February. Thank you again for making our stay a memorable one, big hugs to Ruby and Pippa the 2 most adorable yorkies, have a wonderful Xmas and see you all in the new year! Joe and Lauren

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onehunga
3.3 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
5.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
3.9 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
3.5 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Harbour View Motel

Property: Airport Harbour View Motel
Address: 6 Onehunga Harbour Road, Onehunga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Onehunga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Onehunga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airport Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Harbour View Motel offers a convenient Auckland Airport location that is both modern, elegant and spacious accommodation while being excellent value for money. Only 10 min from the Auckland Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre and Mount Smart Stadium. A perfect base for Auckland's many sightseeing and shopping options Walking distance to the bus and train station Minutes from Dress Mart Situated next to a restaurant providing Conference/wedding facilities Easy 15 min drive to Auckland's attractions and the City Centre Qualmark awarded 4 star Motel Accommodation. Full range of room options from corporate/business to family units 18 deluxe rooms, Modern and spacious with en suite bathrooms and kitchens Complimentary Wi-Fi vouchers LCD TV and SKY GUEST SELECT,DVD/CD players in all rooms. Fully renovated in 2011 Rozita and Aaron welcome you to their upmarket Auckland motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Airport Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Harbour View Motel Auckland/Onehunga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing