We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airport Harbour View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Onehunga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I arrived at midnight from the airport and the owners were up and ready to check me in. Very friendly even despite the time of night, and then next morning helped me on my way with my travel plans including a lift to the train station. So very appreciated and unexpected. Thank you. I have told everyone how wonderful you are. Room clean and spacious, and most welcome after a long day. I will definately consider staying here again if my travel plans take me that way in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mehera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Airport Harbour View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the motel from 29th April to 2nd May 2013. We found it ideal in every respect. I was surprised at the amount of amenities in the room, a well equiped kitchen to self-cater if you so wished,a king sized bed, a digital TV with a DVD player,[ a good selection of films being available in the reception to borrow free of charge for guests] and a free standing Fan. As an Englishman I was amazed at how large the room was.....I suppose there is so much more space in New Zealand! The train station enabling you to get right into the centre of Aukland, is only a ten minute walk away. There may be a small amount of traffic noise, but nothing like staying in the central metropolis. Believe me,I come from London!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorianGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently stayed here after collecting visiting family from an overseas flight before heading back to Hawkes Bay.
A spotlessly clean motel with owners who went out of their way to accommodate our needs.
Even sending back a face cloth our little grandchild had left behind that was a gift from her Granny in Scotland!
Thank you Rosita and Aaron.
The noise level did not worry us as we could hardly hear it from the units we were in.
The Pub next door served lovely fresh meals and as we were all tired and did not wish to go out again, suited us well.
Comfortable beds and pristine bedding.For an older motel we were impressed.Kitchen cooker not great if needing to cook..Noisy from upstairs when early travelers leaving.Very close to Onehunga Dressmart and shops.8-10 minutes from airport.

Room Tip: units behind main office on ground floor not so much road noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_mcds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This motel is one of the most convenient for anyone wishing to stay close to public transport and/or motorways in Auckland. Great value for money. Very quiet and peaceful When inside; a bit of traffic noise outside. friendly service. all good

Room Tip: A great restaurant next door.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fish1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our son married a Kiwi girl and now lives in Onehunga. His charming 1920s vintage "character house" is too small to comfortably accommodate us when we visit from Australia, especially now they have had their first baby so we are always looking for accommodation convenient to Onehunga, which is rapidly moving beyond its maritime and industrial origins to become one of Auckland's up-and-coming trendy suburbs. Under previous management, the Airport Harbour View Motel had the sort of reputation that meant that we would never consider staying there but the owners of the premises have decided to manage the motel themselves and have spent a lot of money renovating the rooms and in particular spending big on quality beds and bedding. The room we stayed in was comfortably large with a couch as well as the basic table and chairs. Typical of New Zealand motels there is a kitchen with cooktop and microwave, refrigerator, crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils and sink as well as the usual kettle and toaster. The convenience of being just off the motorway about 15 minutes from the airport means that there could be traffic noise and ear-plugs are provided but with our room opening onto the entrance courtyard we did not find noise a problem at all. The thermostatically controlled electric heating kept the room very comfortable even on the few cold and grey winter days we experienced during our 4 day stay. Onehunga might seem a bit remote but the motel is just a 500m walk to the Onehunga railway station from which there is a regular train service that will get you to centre of downtown Auckland (Britomart) in a comfortable 20 minutes. And it is only a little further to the shops and cafes and restaurants of Onehunga Mall and a major supermarket where you could pick up everything you needed for in-house catering. We found the basic "continental" breakfast that is brought to your room by friendly staff quite sufficient. A plunger coffee maker and stock of satchels of quality ground coffee ensured a good start to the day. From our view the "harbour view" was not much more than a glimpse of the Manukau Harbour through the silos of Onehunga Wharf but we were there for the comfort and convenience not the view. Perhaps there are other rooms that have a better outlook. Family means that we are going to be regular visitors to Onehunga and I think that in the Airport Harbour View Motel we have found the ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The busy location of this motel with traffic roaring past in every direction would suggest an unpleasant stay, but in actual fact the room was quiet and comfortable. I was very surprised about the price - great value for a day or two in the Sth Auckland area. The continental breakfast was adequate apart from two nasty thin slices of white sandwich bread instead of the toast bread you would expect for breakfast.
The motel is right next to The Landing - excellent place for a quiet drink or to meet up with friends, and is also an easy walk via the underpass to the Onehunga Mall.
I guess the name of the motel may give the impression that it's near the airport - couldn't quite work that one out, but still a very handy location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Carole and Paul went out of their way to accommodate our party - two adult couples arriving late and leaving early. They managed to give us king rooms on the first floor. Both were huge and very clean and very well appointed. The beds were heaven! We were only wishing we had another night to visit the area! Paul gracioulsly got up extra early to give us a shuttle ride to the airport. Unlike their advertising, I think this is somewhat of a distance from the airport, but the short 10 minutes ride wasn't a difficulty. This final night stay in NZ was just one more reason we loved the people. It was just one more example of how well appointed and well-managed this place is. We loved it and would have gradly stayed another day for one more adventure. Cathy & Ted Spear

Room Tip: Rooms are large enough to bring in an extra bed if necessary.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catwspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onehunga
3.3 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
5.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
3.9 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
4.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Harbour View Motel

Address: 6 Onehunga Harbour Road, Onehunga, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Onehunga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Onehunga
Price Range: $122 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airport Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Harbour View Motel offers a convenient Auckland Airport location that is both modern, elegant and spacious accommodation while being excellent value for money. Only 10 min from the Auckland Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre and Mount Smart Stadium. A perfect base for Auckland's many sightseeing and shopping options Walking distance to the bus and train station Minutes from Dress Mart Situated next to a restaurant providing Conference/wedding facilities Easy 15 min drive to Auckland's attractions and the City Centre Qualmark awarded 4 star Motel Accommodation. Full range of room options from corporate/business to family units 18 deluxe rooms, Modern and spacious with en suite bathrooms and kitchens Complimentary Wi-Fi vouchers LCD TV and SKY GUEST SELECT,DVD/CD players in all rooms. Fully renovated in 2011 Rozita and Aaron welcome you to their upmarket Auckland motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Harbour View Motel Auckland/Onehunga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing