We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
$71
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$21
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Absari Syariah(Kasihan)(Great Value!)
$21
$18
Hotels.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matahari Hotel(Yogyakarta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
151
11
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice fieldsoutdoor bathroomrecycled materialsflowing waterbatik makingprivate sitting areadragon fruitwooden housemosquito nettingthe main houseprovide ear plugstraditional architecturebatik workshophome away from homegarden settingcall to prayerfruits and veggies
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 162 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wow, we absolutely loved EVERYTHING about our experience at Yabbiekayu Homestay.

Firstly, the bungalows and location are fabulous!! So beautiful, so green and gorgeous.

The attention to detail of design is such a visual treat. It was all amazing! ~ From the stunning bathrooom, with bathtub under the moon and bamboo, to the comfy bed with bed fan and reading lights, to gorgeous teak wood used throughout, private sitting area outside, to breakfast delivered to our patio in the morning. We also enjoyed the visiting chickens, the sunflowers outside our bungalow and the calls to prayer. It was all so lovely that we just wanted to spend most of our time right there. We mustered up the motivation to walk around Tembi and do a bit of exploring. This is a perfect place to relax and recoup while traveling. A real treat!

The staff here are really wonderful. A very special thanks to Bakti, who went out of her way to help us above and beyond what one could expect. She went in her own time to get an airline ticket from the office (in the evening) when one of our flights was unexpectedly cancelled last minute. She found us an excellent dentist and even called to make the appointment. Only wish we could have had more time at Yabbiekayu. Thank you for making us feel so at home and making our stay so very enjoyable!

Bakti also recommended and booked massages for us. The masseuse is excellent and we both ended up getting 2 massages they were so good.

Our stay was an absolute pleasure and we will definitely be back if and when we are in Yogyakarta again.

Thank you!

Room Tip: We loved bungalow 2. Very private, spacious and amazing bathroom. Perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelasia2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manajer Umum at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Wow Yogini
What a beautiful review
I'm so glad that our little spot met or perhaps exceeded your expectations and particularly happy that the service was good. Bakti Babun and the others are all completely committed to making peoples stay as wonderful as possible. It makes my heart glow to know that people have a great time when in our care.
Thanks and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We are a Dutch couple on a budget trip around Asia. We were drawn to the Yabbiekayu by great Tripadvisor reviews. We wanted to stay outside of Yogja centre where most budget options are. First of all if you are really travelling on a tight budget Yabbie might not be for you at 45/60usd a night (some negotiation is possible). Since tripadvisor didn't list the prices we almost went for a cheaper option in town. However we're glad we did decide to stay at Yabbiekayu. It is the best value for money we have encoutered so far in Indo.
After some quick and responsive calling and smsing with the professional Bakti we first opted to stay in the "outhouse" since it was cheaper than the bungalows. The outhouse is located on the other side of the property next to the main house of the owner. Bathroom is in the main house (5 m away). The outhouse is spacious and a queen bed. However it is closer to the main street and village so it's more noisy (mosque and traffic). Since we stayed during rainy season things got really moist there. We were pleasantly surprised that when we extended our stay they offered a free upgrade to one of the bungalows since another booking had cancelled. And all I can say is wowsers! Those bungalows are just the best. Where to begin, they are so comfortable you just want to relax there all day. Enjoying the open air bathroom, private patio, inside fish pond, etc. Well worth the higher price without a doubt.

Next to the exceptional bungalows there is the exceptional staff. You can just notice that this is a well run place since all the staff is very friendly and happy to work there. From the security guys to the gardener. The room rate includes the best breakfast of all our stays through asia: organic muesli, fresh wholewheat bread and decent cappucino's. You can opt to have a communal lunch as well.
We also hired a driver and car for a day to see the Borobudur, Pramaban, Merapi etc. We also stopped at an originally Dutch sugar factory which was very interesting. Sorry forgot your name mister but we had a blast and some interesting discussions about soccer and politics. Price was very reasonable at 47us from 5am till 3pm. We got our breakfast to go to enjoy it at Borobudur. What a service.
Any negatives at all? Only thing is that to go into the city you need a taxi (about 40k). Trust me you won't mind it when you see the city centre and the sleeping options there. And if you're paranoid about insects maybe stay elsewhere, there will be a lizard or two in your open air bathroom (you're in the village life here). And the outhouse is much less value compared to the bungalow.

So if you still have doubts don't, this is easily the best stay in Indo for us. You'll end up staying longer so don't make too many plans after.
Big thanks to all the staff at the Yabbiekayu!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chrisnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manajer Umum at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Hey Chris
Thanks for the great review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Yabbiekayu.
I'm amused to read your description of Pondok 1 using the word "outhouse". In Australia this does not translate so wll as it's the colloquial term for an outside toilet haha
I'm glad that you did enjoy your time there in the Pondok though and also glad that coincidentally we had a last minute cancellation in one of the bungalows and we were able to offer you an upgrade. We do charge a bit more for the bungalows but as you point out they are still very good value for money. Each one is hand built from restored traditional solid teak houses from the mountains above yogya, with large outdoor bathrooms including 2 meter bathtubs under the stars, private out door living areas, beautiful antique furniture and all the mod-cons.
As a constant traveller myself with work, I try hard to ensure that the bungalows have all the features I would hope for in a boutique eco-villa , super yummy international and local breakfast options, biodegradable organic toiletries, comfy beds, free wifi, friendly staff, a high standard of cleanliness and a full range of services. The team and I are always happy when guests notice the effort we go to and enjoy the space we have created.
We look forward to your next visit.
Yours
Yabbiekayu team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Yabbiekayu staff are very responsive to the needs of guests, for example they purchased some brand new quality hybrid bicycles for us to use. They went to a lot of trouble to find us bikes that are big enough for two tall Australians.

There are currently four beautiful bungalows, and plans are afoot to build more. Each one is unique.

They make a great effort to ensure everything is sustainable and environmentally friendly. It is a really healthy place to stay. They also offer activities like yoga, film nights and invitations to have regular authentic Indonesian banquets with the other guests.

We have met some cool travellers staying at Yabbiekayu from many countries.

Room Tip: All the rooms are aesthetically beautiful and comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manajer at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016


Dear Hal
Its been such a pleasure hosting you and Joanie.
You are now officially our longest staying guests and are truly now "part of the family"
Hope the bikes are going well, along with Yoga classes, film nights, shared lunches and the rest
Sharing a glass of wine with you two on your front verandah really adds to life here in the village
Its going to be sad when you leave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Amidst the fertile rice paddies south of Yogyakarta lie these unique bungalows. A great place to slow down and connect with a village but still be just a 20 minute ride to the city. Take a book or ride a bike through the surrounding flat landscapes. The timber structures have so much character and the outside bath is terrific. It is not 5 star but you will remember it for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manajer at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016


Thanks Rod for the great review
I'm so glad that you enjoyed our little guest house. It's so lovely when we have guests like you who take the time to slow down and enjoy the wind across the rice fields and a lazy day on the front porch reading a book or a long slow bath under the stars.
Enjoy your onwards travels Rod and I hope we get to see you again on your next visit to Indonesia :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was blown away when I looked at the Yabbiekayu's photos on the internet, but nothing prepared me for the amazing sights and wonderful feelings when I was finally there myself. Perhaps because I'm a true blue Javanese, seeing the traditional Javanese style house (Joglo) well-made this good-it was really nostalgic and emotional, in a great way. The owner's attention to details and his efforts to keep the rice & corn fields are worth a zillion hugs.

I look forward to come back for more awesome experiences.

Room Tip: Please pick Room Number 1! ;)
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady_Java
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YabbiekayuManager, Manajer Umum at Yabbiekayu Eco-Homestay Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016


Wow Roro,
What a great review, thanks so much
Reviews this good almost leave me worried as I know we are very new and still have a long way to go. On the other hand they also make me proud of how far we have come and that our reality still lives up to or exceeds peoples expectations.
Thanks for allowing us to share our vision and a little bit of Javanese village lifestyle with you
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews