We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
0
0
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
0
0
4
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is my 2nd stay at Roemah Djawa which is a far far different experience from the 1st.
The check in took quite some time eventhough we're the only guest checking in at the time. Our room was not even ready when we arrived. The toilet seat in our room had a lot of urine stains all over it. We asked them to clean it, but when we arrived back in the afternoon, they didn't clean it. When we asked, the front desk said they're never informed about it. The hotel staff were sure not communicating to each other (considering it's only a small resort), it's terrible. Eventhough we had asked them for the 2nd time to clean the toilet, but nobody came to clean it.
The pillows had stains and bad odor all over it. I can't sleep.
And at night a lot of small insects crawling into the room, n we have to clean it ourself. The house keeping services were not functioning at all here. Apparently I found out that for house keeping, the resort outsource it to the local people there.. No standard at all!
The whole resort is not well maintained. The swimming pool was dirty. The furnitures are dusty. Even the eating utensils had stains.. :(
The breakfast is decent. The resort is located far from the center of the city.

Date of stay: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lydie8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Positive:
- Unique, Javanese style.
- hot water.
- large family room.
- friendly staff

Negative:
- full of insects - our children got some kind of wood-insect bites and needed to see a doctor.
- we found a large gecko in our room - very dangerous because they bite.
- swimming pool is not usable - looks more like a pond - not fun for kids.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara_a_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed there with extended family. For my family we had the family suite. The view from the suite is fantastic! It overlooks Mount Merapi and on new year's eve, there were so much fireworks to see. The sight really set off the year with a blast!

However, on our first night, as we were looking up the ceilings, we saw cobwebs on the ceiling. Not just one, but a few. Don't mind going there if they have better cleaning services.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicwallgazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Having looked at the reviews for Yogyakarta accommodation I really wanted to stay at Rumah Mertua, but as it was fully booked for our dates, I choose to stay at Roemah Djawa Resort for 4 nights instead as the accommodation looked very nice on the internet, although we were unable to place it on google earth even though we knew it must be quite far from Yogya.
The resort is a very small, family-run "bed and breakfast" - it is also home to the family that run it. We stayed in the family room which is very roomy: two seperate bedrooms with very comfortable double beds, and a television in each; a large "reception" room with sofa, a table, and a fridge, and a large bathroom with 2 basins, with an attached toilet and shower room. The rooms were very clean, simply but nicely decorated, with beautifully clean, white bed-linen and towels, and all toiletries provided. We also liked the dining area of the resort......outdoors and very pretty, with a small swimming pool, which although again looked very pretty, but I didn't want to swim in it - due, I think, to the dark colour of the tiles which had been used, which made it look more like a fish-pool than for swimming. We also liked the dining area had a Dakon game. And, the girls that helped out at reception were very friendly and likeable.
This resort is badly let down by 3 major faults -
1) The location: located in a gated residential area of Slemen, it is at least 20 minutes to half an hour drive away from Yogyakarta - very time consuming and inconvenient.
2) The owners: who are very present (using the dining area themselves to eat/do paperwork/use the computer etc) but wholly unwelcoming - not bothering to acknowledge guests arrival, or even say hello. We thought it might just have been us they took exception to, but no, we also witnessed the arrival of a Chinese family who stood uncertainly with their luggage, not knowing what to do or who to approach, as they were ignored.
Also, when we came to breakfast the first morning (and we were the only guests at that point), the owners sons each had a laptop and papers spread out on both large tables, and there was no room for our family to sit down to eat!
3) The food is very poor, unappetising, and disappointing! Breakfast consisted of greasy fried rice, greasy french fries (!) and a toaster with "supermarket-processed" sliced white bread. These items were also on the very limited menu for other mealtimes......and considering the remote location of the resort and dificulty to reach anywhere else to eat, this is just not good enough!
Despite it's location this place could be a little oasis - indeed already the rooms and public areas make it so.............owners - pull your socks up and take note! You need to be alot more welcoming and attentive towards your guests, and also sort the food situation out!

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews