We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biodiversity resort was above and beyond my expections.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raja Ampat Biodiversity Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Loved this resort! Friendly staff and owners. Brand new and very clean. Amazing and plentiful meals and new dive equipment with great dive locations! The owners are very experienced and knowledgable about diving and made us feel very safe diving in a secluded location. We had a fabulous time here!
They have no wifi and only have power for 4 hours in the evening, but we didn't miss either (and we're a young couple normally always
connected online). They also have very simple bathroom facilities, but extremely clean. Everything is cleaned daily, including your rooms.
This place is paradise!!! And since Raja Ampat is a very expensive destination, Biodiversity is the perfect, more affordable alternative. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Raja Ampat Biodiversity Eco Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

We (50yo german couple) spent 2 weeks at Biodiversity Resort. Diving was great, felt like swimming in fishsoup! We saw lots of different corals, mantas, sharks, a couple of walking sharks, every day a wobbegong and many small things too. Our cottage was very comfortable, the indonesian style meals were delicious and the staff was very friendly. We did´nt miss TV and aircon and will return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hilleroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent a week in 4 resorts in RA area. RABR was the not most expensive but it was well worth the cost for us. Rooms were spacious. Outdoor mandy was adequate. Great staff (true of all the resorts). Clean as possible. Very good house snorkeling and, of course, world-class diving. Patricia, co-owner/manager, was an absolutely superb instructor. Rey, her partner, could really dance the bye-bye wave. Kudos to staff and management, and Thanks.

Room Tip: The beach-front rooms were right out of a travel magazine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill_Carol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at Biodiversity Resort at the beginning of march for 5 nights. We had a very nice welome in Sorong at the airport and our transport to the resort was smooth and easy. When we arrived at the resort we were amazed by the beauty of the place. White beaches, turqoise blue waters, a comfortable (and quite large) cabin and the peacefull sound of the sea just in front of the cabin. We really loved this place and oh yeah...we were here for diving! We had amazing dives, with manta rays (and we weren't even at manta point, but at blue magic), beautifull corals and many big groups of fish. Every time we were suprised by the underwater beauty. Patricia is a very good instructor and we felt very comfortable and safe diving with her. The food at the resort is perfect, very nice Indonesian food (non-spicy for the tourists!) and there always is plenty. If you feel like diving in Raja Ampat, go to this place!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daisy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We (30yo swiss-dutch couple) concluded our 7 week honeymoon with a week in Raja Ampat Biodiversity. It was a perfect choice :). Not only did Rey take us to the most amazing dive spots (we saw the full lot, from mantas, turtles, sharks, wobbegongs, seahorses and the most amazing corals), but we loved our stay at the retreat. You can notice it only has 4 rooms so you eat together with other (open and friendly guests) and Patricia makes sure there's a good vibe to the place. The food was delicious (Indonesian flavoured so that we Westerners LOVE it). The main thing is that you notice that everything is done with love and personal attention. This is not the kind of place where people are polite because it's there job. Everybody is friendly and willing to help because they love where they and Patricia and Rey's passion is addictive.

If there is one thing "negative" to add, it's that the "budget room" beds are quite small for a couple. You really need to like each other A LOT to share that bed with two people :).

We'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Room tip: if you are a couple, take one of the cottages. The budget room bed is quite small
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nielsrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Four of us (New Zealanders) stayed five nights and did four days diving with Patricia and crew. Three of us were divers and one was snorkelling. Each day, Patricia took us to places where we could all be in the water at the same time - just experiencing different parts of the same reef. Dive equipment was new and Patricia was very thorough - altogether a very professional experience. The food was nice and plentiful; with breakfasts and deserts being a particular treat (compared with the homestays we later stayed at). Toilets and mandi were very clean and each one was only shared between two rooms. Again, a quite different experience from later stays at homestays. There is a couscous that visits the garden regularly - a real treat. And the house reef is exceptional. We did a great trip to the Kabui Passage from Biodiversity. Thank you Patricia.

Room Tip: Standard room is right on the beach, slightly bigger bed than budget, and is stand alone. Budget is...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It's very easy to rave about the wonderful, tremendous diving Raja Ampat offers and associate it with the resort. I'll be reviewing the the resort ONLY. This resort is a very cool place to base yourself while in Raja. Rey runs a tight ship on the dive boat which is good as he runs the diving operation in a very professional manner. All the equipment is top notch and he is big on dive safety which my friend and I found very reassuring as we're both inexperienced divers and the more cheaper diving outfits in Raja can be quite reckless. Dive sites are all really close to the resort, 5-15mins boat ride. The house reef is also pretty good, though no the best i've seen in the area.

The accommodation is really good and comfortable and most importantly, clean. The big appeal here is there is only 4 bungalows so you'll only ever get maximum of 8 people at the resort. This gives a wonderfull feeling of privacy and seclusion and it allows you to appreciate the region even more. The location of the bungalows also is excellent, just back from the beach. The beach itself is superb with nice white sand and lazy palms dangling down, and with minimal people there it really is special.

The food is mostly of pretty good standard with a variety of dishes served 3 times a day and there is always enough for seconds which I think is important. Drinks cost extra so maybe you'll want to bring drinks with you from the mainland.

The owners themselves are also very good and accommodating and mostly do their best to ensure you have everything you need.

The resort is definitely a cool place to stay, for sure! some only minor blemishes though, some of the food (desserts) can be a little hit an miss and the service may not be 5 star at times, considering the price you're paying to stay there these little things could be improved on. Also perhaps some hammocks right on the beach would seal the deal, other homestays/resorts around Raja do it. Lastly I came with a friend to stay here, none of the rooms have twin beds all are double beds. They were very good at providing a mattress for myself to sleep on, but having the option there of a twin room would be more appropriate.

Otherwise this definitely a top notch place, worth checking out!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaFooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raja Ampat hotels
5.9 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#1 of 5 in Raja Ampat
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#11 of 44 in Raja Ampat
41 reviews
3.4 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#12 of 44 in Raja Ampat
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
#10 of 44 in Raja Ampat
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#5 of 5 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
23.7 mi away
Cove Eco Resort
Cove Eco Resort
#13 of 44 in Raja Ampat
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Ampat Biodiversity Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Ampat Biodiversity Eco Resort

Address: | Gam Island, Raja Ampat 98417, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rey and Patricia would like to welcome you to Raja Ampat Biodiversity Eco Resort in Gam Island, Raja Ampat! home of some of the best diving in the world! We are the owners of this small and friendly Diving Eco Resort, our maximum capacity is 14 divers. We will be your hosts at Raja Ampat Biodiversity, our intention will to make you feel at home, here at our home, and to give you an enjoyable diving holiday! Our mission statement: Our intention, as divers and nature lovers, is a resort with environmentally sustainable eco-tourism in the hope of managing natural resources in the best possible way in order to help improve the lives of the surrounding community as well as maintaining the quality of nature / environment around the island of Gam. The layout of the resort is arranged so as not disturb native habitat, therefore an attempt to accommodate conservation of flora / fauna. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing