We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My father and I spent a week at Raja Ampat Dive Resort from the 9th to 17th of February 2013 and can comfortably rate it as one of our best ever holiday together.

Location: Raja Ampat is probably one of the most difficult dive spots to get to in the world. From Singapore we took 3 flights and 2 boat rides from door-to-door with a total of 24hrs of travelling including layovers in Jakarta both directions. Once you arrive you see why people travel from all over the globe to be here. The quality of the water, marine life and surrounding islands is breathtaking...and thats before you even start diving. The Resort itself is about a 20min speed boat ride from Waisai (the closest major town). Waisai is about a 2.5hr ferry ride from Sorong the nearest major city.

The resort has been built alongside the water but not on the water (ie not like the houses on stilts that you can see). As a result you are more protected from the heat of the day and you like you are in your own private village. The actual beach is just 5m from your cabin doorstep but from the ocean the villas use of building materials mean it remains well disguised to passers buy.

Accommodation: The wood cabins are very comfortable with nice bathroom fittings, comfortable beds and adequate storage space. The accommodation is not hotel standard however for those with a priority towards diving, snorkeling and not spending their spare time in a room the facilities are more than suitable. Guest should note that there is no hot water. This might take a day or so to get used to but after a week of diving and swimming in the hot sun you learn to quickly look forward to a cool refreshing shower at the end of the day.

Diving: Amazing....absolutely brilliant...beyond words. in the 7 days we spent there we did about 20 dives and just under 3 a day. As well as all the classic dives like Mikes point, the passage etc etc we did a number of excellent lesser known dives that were, depending on the time of day and some luck, equally as impressive. All the big ticket items were seen in abundance. plenty of mantas, turtles, sharks, pigmy sea horses, giant sea slugs, stingrays and on and on... At this point i should make special note to Ariff who was our dive guide for the week. Ariffs knowledge of the currents, weather and underwater life made him a invaluable part of our holiday. Without his guidance and leadership it would not have been such an enjoyable holiday. At this point i should make ANOTHER note that all the staff at the resort were friendly and helpful. One final point is that at all times we were only diving with a max of 5 guests at the one time and 2 dive guides. Ariff and Sonny. Compared to the livaboards that we saw with up to 10 guests per dive master we were blessed for attention.

Recommendations and notes: The seafood meals could have been better. Given the resort is surrounded by some of the finest seafood in the world, we would have liked to had a bit more variety in the meals. However, the clockwork combination of fish, vegetables and rice meant we all lost weight!!

Overall: an amazing holiday! and while you are there be sure to sit out on the private jetty and watch the starts.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank MrCostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 93 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stay in the resort for 6 days and its feel not enough and want to spent more. The resort in the beach are basic but clean and the food is good. they still building a restaurant and more room. The resort are surounding with tropical forest and still very natural and you can hear bird in the morning.

But the diving is the best of all dive i ever did. The coral stil in prestine condition and a lot of fish. the water viz also 30-40m so you can see everthing there. We find a black manta ray, baracuda, GT, snapper, wobegong, crocodile fish and may other fish that you can find there.

the staff are very friendly and also helpfull. But you may condiser bring a jacket when you go for dive because the use a speedboat from fiber glas so its very fast and the water will spash inside the boat...

overall it was one of the best trip i ever did...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fulvio187801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I go to raja ampat dive resort on nov 11 thats my first time to papua. A bit scary about all the story but when i arrive everthing was forgoten, Agus the owner pick me up at the airport in Sorong and take me around. The view was sooooooo beautifull and we go by speed boat to Waisai where the resort is. The resOrt is basic but very nice.

Next day we go for first dive in Blue Magic. It was amazing, ive never experience the dive like that ever. The spot that we dove there was sardine, max point, manta sandy, cape KRI and more. It was 27 amazing dive i do there and i will never forget it. The best in the world.
Higly recomen. The guide also very nice and know the area very well, Berjons, Cliff, Yefta very friendly and helpfull and also Kharis.

Cant wait to back to raja ampat again

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ditajong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We spent a week at Raja Ampat Dive Resort in May 2012 and had an absolutely wonderful time. The current resort is new - only a few months old - and was still under development when we visited (we weren't bothered by construction but didnt at the time have use of the restaurant). The staff are still learning but take care of their guests extremely well.

The resort's setting is stunning. It is set on a private white sand beach, which is very clean. A highlight is the jetty, which is great for hanging out and sunbathing - you can jump stright into the water and do some fantastic snorkelling (a huge shoal of fish hang out right under the jetty). We were told that whales and dolphins are sometimes seen passing the beach, but we didnt spot any!

The new wooden bungalows, although simple, are well built and have lovely open air bathrooms facing the jungle. They are leaving the canopy in place so the resort area is shaded and you feel like you are partly in the jungle, with the sound of birds. We had very few mosquitos, although the beds have nets.

The diving was, of course, incredible. Arif, who runs the dive operation, is extremely professional, and a lovely guy. As far as we saw, he was the only dive guide/instructor, but he is training other guys. We dived the same sites as Papua Diving, although we didnt try to go to any of the sites further afield (the Passage, Manta point etc - for which, apparently, there would have been a fuel surcharge). We felt extremely safe with Arif, who is a wonderful and experienced dive guide and is truely passionate about sharing, and protecting, the underwater world of Raja Ampat.

Raja Ampat Dive Resort lets you pay per dive and is very flexible – you’re not tied into a cripplingly expensive dive package as with some of the resorts. Arif also went out of his way to help us do other, non-diving activities while we were there. We did a morning walk with a local guide to see the bird of paradise, which is well worth doing, and took a boat trip around some of the small islands. We also took camping gear and arranged to camp on a deserted island for a couple of nights, which Arif helped us to arrange.

We have seen older reports of this resort which are quite critical. Please don't be put off by these. They have recently moved and changed ownership (they explained that until recently the resort was a joint venture with the government and was operated from close to Waisai) The Indonesian owners have now been bought out.

We researched our trip to Raja Ampat very carefully and Raja Ampat Dive resort was one of the most economical ways of visiting, and diving, in what is a very expensive destination. This is a great low(er) cost option for experiencing what is truely one of the most wonderful destinations on earth. We cant recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have just returned from a one-week stay at Raja Ampat Dive Resort and I would like to take this opportunity to share my experience with others.

Raja Ampat Dive Resort is a small Indonesian run Resort on a small, deserted island called Waiwo.

For all divers out there, this is the place to go if you want a unique Papuan experience and you travel on a budget. Raja Ampat is not only reserved for the mega rich.
The guy, Angus, who runs this place is the most friendly person I can think of. He always makes sure that you have pleasant stay. The food is excellent and the two bungalows are very clean. It is a very remote island and everything there is about diving.
The dive guide speak very limited English but I didnt feel unsafe the whole entire time!
They find everything you want under water and make sure that you get what you paid for while diving with them!

The resort still needs a little improvement but the people working there are doing a great job to make the customers happy.

There is no reason to stay in one of the big European resort!!!
They overcharge you by far and offer the same service, same accomodation and also go to the same dive spots!

If you want to support Indonesian people trying to set up their own business and have an amazing time out diving this is the place to go!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Besser rechts vom Restaurant, dahin kommt etwas Sonne und es ist zumindest ein wenig heller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Agentrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raja Ampat hotels
4 mi away
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
#11 of 49 in Raja Ampat
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#2 of 7 in Raja Ampat
68 reviews
1 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#12 of 49 in Raja Ampat
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#6 of 7 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
27.1 mi away
Cove Eco Resort
Cove Eco Resort
#9 of 49 in Raja Ampat
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Ampat Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Ampat Dive Resort

Address: South Waigeo Island, Raja Ampat, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Raja Ampat
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Raja Ampat Dive Resort is located on the edge of the world famous Dampier straits on the South of Waigeo Island - the largest of the Islands in the park. This is a vast area of the equatorial Pacific Ocean known as the Coral Triangle which holds the title for being the heart of the world's greatest coral reef biodiversity - including 75 percent of all known coral species on Earth. Raja ampat Dive Resort - bungalows. We are located just a short drive south of Waisai (Capital of the Raja Ampat Regency, located on the island of Waigeo) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Raja Ampat Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing