We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much to offer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papua Paradise Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Papau Paradise Resort on Batanta Island in Raja Ampat very much. Chris and Lea, the managers, were always there to answer questions about the resort and the fish. The diving/snorkeling staff was so helpful with taking us out snorkeling and showing us the fish and corals that make this area famous. Our room and balcony were large with comfortable beds covered with white mosquito netting (bed veils) and a wonderful bathroom great for rinsing off the saltwater. We had a cabana that was on poles that extended right over the oceanfront. We snorkeled over very healthy corals and on every day had the choice to go to neighboring sites of beautiful coral to snorkel and picnic. The house reef is also very interesting as is the waters under the dining area, where baby black tip reef sharks, moray eels and large garfish regularly make an appearance. The entire visit exceeded our expectations and we heartily recommend Papau Paradise.

Room Tip: all are over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveling_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 198 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending a short time at Papua Paradise EcoResort and it was amazing. You literally have the place to yourself and can easily pack in 4 amazing dives per day. With over 50 sites within 5-10 min proximity to the resort it has everything for all diving enthusiasts.
The staff make your stay a true pleasure and are extremely accommodating. The dive instructors are the most knowledgeable I have ever encountered, so for those looking for a hands on experience of the best there is to offer in the diving world, this is the place to get to as soon as you can.
Accommodation is in stunning Papuan overwater bungalows at a reasonable price and an all inclusive restaurant makes a brilliant variety of local and western meals.
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for an authentic Raja Ampat experience as most of the staff are from the local village and really go out of their way to give you a great stay in this ecological wonder.

Room Tip: No need as all rooms are overwater bungalows and are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethPSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending a week at Papua Paradise in April 2012 when there was only one other guest. It was a very special stay in many respects. We are both marine ecologists and have been diving all over the world for decades, but Raja Ampat is hands-down the best coral-reef diving we have done. The dive staff was well trained, highly accommodating and knowledgeable about the local marine environment. We felt that we received a very personalized experience. We particularly appreciated the fact that most of the staff were recruited from the local village and took great pride in both their work and their natural heritage. The cooking was superb and evenings were spent in convivial conversation with the manager and other staff members. We felt relaxed and well cared for; everyone was remarkably attentive and courteous. The over-the-water cabins are clean and as close to paradise as you might get, with a constant parade of small rays and reef sharks swimming by your deck and a myriad fish jumping day and night. The shrill of tree frogs in the evening completes the jungle ambiance. The only unwanted members of the fauna were cockroaches that inhabited the thatch roof and emerged in droves at night. They are harmless of course but none-the-less evoke the heebie-jeebies in some (like my wife). A little pest control would go a long way in enhancing the evening experience. Other than that the cabins were perfect: just the right blend of rustic and comfortable surroundings. We hope they don’t change a thing (other than nixing the roaches). We will visit again, it’s well worth the cost and places like this are becoming exceedingly rare.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rescheib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I was in the resort for 2 weeks. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: this region are the best place for diving in the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a real paradise. The diving place best of the world, tha natura are untached, the food is excellent, the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had alovely stay in papua paradise eco resort. The resort is only one and ahalf year in operation. It has trained local dive guides which is a good thing, unfortunately the guides spoke very little english. The diving was very nice, the corals really untouched. Due to its remote location there were no other divers, fantastic!
The cottages were beautifullly located with a view over the ocean. The pictures on the website are correct! Unfortunately, the trails through the jungle were washed away due to the excessive amount of rain. I hope they will be restored. The birdwatch over the swamp was fun.
À lounge area would improve the resort. The restaurant is big enough .
the divemanager and his family were very helpful and knowledgeble.
The lack of warm water in the morning did not bother us, the result of an eco friendly system. (copper pipes) The warm mandi after the night dive was a nice solution for the lack of warm water when the sun is down.
The divingtrips to the sites around Kri are different, more current thereby more big fish. We recommend booking them despite the extra cost. The spots around biri are more for macro. The manta dive we had was superb, we were lucky, no other divers and good visibility.
In conclusion, we had a wonderful time and will definitely try to come back.
It is an expensive destination, compared with other resorts, the price is good.
Please invest in english lessons for the divestaf!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eizemeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The resort has a beautiful location – right on the beach front of Birie Island in West Papua. Each of the bungalows is over water and the view and setting is magical. (For once, the internet photos don’t really do this place justice.) The couple who run the resort are very welcoming and go out of their way to ensure your stay is a good one.
The resort food is adequate but not a fine-dining experience and drinks are expensive so take some spirits if you like an alcoholic drink.

The dive operation is well run and the dive sites are around 15 to 30 min by covered speed boat. Dive conditions within Raja Ampart would suit more experience divers due to the changing currents. Bird watchers will be interested in the bird hide that the resort has built beside a swampy area within the island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raja Ampat hotels
24.8 mi away
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
Raja Ampat Doberai Eco Resort
#11 of 51 in Raja Ampat
108 reviews
23.2 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#2 of 6 in Raja Ampat
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#6 of 6 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#14 of 51 in Raja Ampat
92 reviews
23.0 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#10 of 51 in Raja Ampat
44 reviews
33.7 mi away
Cove Eco Resort
Cove Eco Resort
#12 of 51 in Raja Ampat
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papua Paradise Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papua Paradise Eco Resort

Address: Birie Island | Batanta, Raja Ampat, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range: $136 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Papua Paradise Eco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on an idyllic tropical island, surrounded with pristine reefs and unspoiled flora, Papua Paradise Eco-Resort, situated in the heart of Raja Ampat brings you closer to Mother Nature at her best. With all essential standards of service and comfort, combined with personalized service making Papua Paradise an unforgettable holiday for divers, snorkelers, bird watchers and nature enthusiast.Papua Paradise Divers is one of the very few PADI dive resorts in Raja Ampat. The diving facility operates according to best safety standards, tailor made service and professional approach. With this standard, numbers of divers diving at the same time are maximum 4 divers with 1 guide, guiding you through the underwater world of Raja Ampat, with over 1300 fish species and 540 coral species, considered as the heart of the world’s coral reef biodiversity, making Raja Ampat the richest coral reef ecosystem in the world.Our four vessels are purpose built for divers and all contain drinking water, coffee/tea and cakes, fresh towels, the latest safety equipment, and crew standing by for assistance. Small diving groups and experienced guides make your underwater experience unforgettable. Dive with manta rays, sharks, and shoals of schooling fish; explore the slopes of nudibranch, pipefish, and all the best macro in the region; discover the best of Raja Ampat diving in all its spectacular diversity.The island is teeming with exotic bird life, lush jungle foliage, and a spectacular array of fauna. Just a short boat ride from the sites of several endemic Bird of Paradise species, the resort offers specialty birding trips, jungle treks to waterfalls, and world class diving in the heart of Raja Ampat.Built in traditional style, entirely out of locally-sourced materials, and in partnership with the inhabitants of the local island village, Papua Paradise offers an exceptionally high standard of comfort and service, while maintaining eco-tourism values.Our spacious sea breeze-cooled bungalows contain modern hot & cold fresh water showers, comfortable beds with bed veils, tea and coffee facilities, a hammock and cushioned deckchairs facing the sea. Directly beneath the room balconies our nursery of juvenile black tip reef sharks can be seen, and moray eels, blue spotted rays and various other beautiful tropical fish are a constant presence along the house-reef. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing