We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning place and diving!”
Review of Misool Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misool Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning place and diving!”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

My wife and I are traveling the world and we saw many places. However, this was just one of the best resorts we've been to. The food is delicious, the service is impeccable, the bungalows are beautiful. The dive sites were absolutely unique and wonderful. The space here is just to short to count all the creatures we saw there.
We would like to say thank you to the Misool Eco Resort Team for establishing and maintaining the "no-take-zone" in order to protect this huge area form illegal fishing and shark finning! Great people, great place, great job!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    12
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
87
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

i just came back from paradise...
i needed holidays after a very busy year. a place where nobody could disturb me... No mobile phone... lost at the end of the world on a paradisaical island Misool eco resort is the place to go... everything there is divine... the resort is so gorgeous... the people are angels... the dive guides rocks... My friend and i are beginners divers and went there with our paddy dives only... they took so well care of us.. taught us so many things.. the local staff is so cool with some great looks... having a boat driver that rock a rockabilly hair cut is pretty cool... ;)
i will not say much about the diving as everybody might know that this is the best in the world...
the food was simple and delicious... i am fed up of those resort that serve non organic greasy products... there we had home made bread, sustainable tuna, local tofu and sambal...
those guys got it right... the resort is super eco friendly in all the ways..
voila, i am going back next year...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisonpelletier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2010

We just came back from a recent trip in Raja Ampat, Indonesia. We stayed in the beautyful MisoolEcoResort, which is on a very nice island in the area Misool, Irian Jaya respectively West Papua/Indonesia. It is an unforgetable trip to one of the best divesites all over the world. The aquaticlife is just amazing. It is hard to discribe in words, you have to see that with your own eyes. Every dive was fantastic. The scuba diving in this area is marvelous. The resort is built in an ecologically way and has a special charm. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. I can recommend the MisoolEcoResort to everybody. I will definitley go again to this beautyful place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgdiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from an 11 night stay at Misool Eco Resort in Raja Ampat. Our experience has exceeded our expectations and would be delighted to recommend this resort to anyone. This is a very unique resort in all aspects, from the service, accommodation, quality as well as the location for diving and snorkeling. We shared the week with a group including those that were snorkeling only, very experienced divers, families as well as an older couple. Everyone in the group during this time was delighted with their experiences. I would like to share some specific details regarding the trip to give a better idea of our experience and some tips for anyone else deciding to enjoy this resort.
Arrival: We flew into Jakarta via Singapore to catch our local flights to Sorong. As we arrived late into Jakarta, we needed to spend a night in a hotel. We stayed at the FM7 hotel, about a 5-10 minute drive from the airport. There is also an on-airport hotel which is accessible from the airport terminal. In terms of quality, I would recommend FM7, but for convenience I would recommend the airport hotel. We caught our domestic flights at 5 am with Merpati airlines. They were on-time and have fairly nice planes, I guess 737 (2-3-2 arrangement). We had a short stop in Makassar after the first 1.5 hour flight, then a second 1.5 hour flight until reaching Sorong. There are a few strange time changes along the way so it looks longer on paper, but it goes very quickly. Makassar airport is surprisingly modern so very easy to spend the hour walking around between flights. We arrived in Sorong at around 12 local time to be met by Sangut the representative from Misool Eco Resort. He was there when we arrived, and very friendly. He arranged with the local porters to collect our bags and load them into the arranged cars. He accompanied us to the hotel to spend one more night in Sorong before the morning boat departure. It seems that this night in Sorong was required to ensure that all guests have time to arrive on their respective flights, but next year there will be a specific flight that all guests are recommended to take to better plan. This will then avoid the extra night in Sorong which will not be missed. Sorong seems to be a standard small Indonesian town, but not much to do other than wander around the local shopping center or venture into some of the art/antique shops. The boat transfer itself was a very pleasant surprise as it was hard to judge from pictures online and the meaning of speed boat. This should have been referred to as a private charter boat as it was a very comfortable transfer. The boat seats about 20 people, it is a very new boat with seats similar to a bus that recline. There are nice big windows on each side to enjoy the fresh air and watch the scenery passing by. I especially appreciated this as I tend to get seasick, which I thankfully did not experience on this trip. The trip also only took just over 3 hours, not 4-6 like warned. The first hour is entertaining with the passing villages and islands out of Sorong, I think we slept the next hour over more open seas, then the final hour we can already see the resort island in the distance while passing the many little islands. Our return trip had a bit rougher seas, but also only took 3.5 hours so was not influenced by the seas. We were welcomed to the resort with a small pod of dolphins and pilot whales, which we sadly did not see the rest of the trip but certainly made the arrival very special. We were welcomed at the dock by the resort staff and owners then given welcome drinks at the restaurant and shown to our bungalows. Our return flight was on Batavia airlines which also departed on schedule and had similar planes to that of Merpati. I think the other airline which guests used was Express Air, also without problems.
The Resort: We were very relieved to find that the resort does look the same as it does on the website, sometimes pictures can be quite creative, but not in this case. The water bungalows are all on stilts over the water bordering the resort bay and reef. They are spacious with good shelving for unpacking your suitcase. The bathroom is also very nice, with all modern amenities of a western hotel. The terrace is the most enjoyable with the lounge chairs, day-bed and hammock makes deciding where to relax and have a nap a tough decision. The resort bay provided for much entertainment with the fish, baby black tick reef sharks and blue spotted rays, we found something new each day sitting on the deck or walking around the resort.
The Dive Center: As my wife and I are only beginner divers, we had to rent our equipment (bcd,fins,mask,computer). Luckily, most other guests have their own equipment so the equipment we rented was brand-new. There was also a selection of masks and fins so we easily found everything that fit and worked well for us.
The Restaurant: This was also a very great experience, the area around the restaurant has a fantastic ambiance and is very relaxing. All of the furniture is made from real wood and gives a nice feeling. There are a few lounge areas with pillows as well to sit for coffee or tea which we were happy to use with our afternoon cookie break. There were generally 4 organized meal times per day, 8am for cereal, fruit, juice and tea/coffee, then 10am for hot breakfast of pancakes, french-toast, fruit, rice and cakes, then 1 for lunch then 7 for dinner. Each lunch and dinner always had a different variety of food, with the staple rice and noodles. There was also the occasional pasta, but the local food was great. Optional spices for the brave ones, but standard seasoning for the rest of us. There was also chicken, fish and meat plus vegetarian dishes. In-between meals there were jars of fresh cookies and cakes and fruit for snacks, as well as juice or any other softdrink or beer. The restaurant staff was always on-hand in case you needed anything, although it was generally self-service so very easy and quick. I don't think that there was a moment that we ever felt hungry, the all-you-can-eat buffet and frequent meals kept us eating and very well fed. As we were at the resort for Christmas, the staff created some local decorations and arranged the dinner area to be a bit more festive.
The Diving: We have been diving in Hawaii, Great Barrier Reef, Egypt, and Thailand and must say that this was clearly our best diving trip ever. We were amazed by the number and variety of fish, as well as the corals and so many creatures in the sea. It's hard to describe being surrounded by massive schools of fish and having a manta swimming around you. I wasn't accustomed to the many small creatures, so took some time to learn how to spot them. Once I learned what to look for, I found it hard not to see the many brilliant nudibranchs and pygmy seahorses. I had to remember to look around as well to still enjoy the passing gray sharks and napoleons, it was really a sensory overload each dive. My wife joined the snorkeling group a few days and sometimes saw more fish than we did, including the famed mobiles. They had their own private guide and boat so were able to choose specific sites best suited for snorkeling. There were either 3 or 4 guided dives per day and every second day a night dive. The house reef as available for diving at any time with a buddy, and could have passed for the highlight of many other diving trips in itself.
In general, this was an absolutely fantastic trip to a gem of a resort. We are already thinking about our next trip back to share the experience with our friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chtripscip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We have recently returned from a dive trip of a lifetime. Misool Eco Resort is unbelievable... we have been to some incredible dive resorts around the globe and this must be the King of them all!!! We had great viz, awesome coral fields, numbers of fish that I can't believe could be matched anywhere, not to mention the biodiversity which has been heralded as amongst the highest on the planet. All of this seems to good to be true and then just to make it all even more perfect the resort is not just luxurious but it has been made this way with the environment and the local community in mind.

Misool Eco Resort is Shangri La!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mc_pearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Hi everybody
There is not much to ad to the other reviews maybe just this:
After having visited MER in Nov. 2008 we decided to come back in 2009.
If you’re looking for great diving in a special location combined with a unique tranquillity, than this the right place to be. Friendly people in unique surroundings!
We really can recommend the place for the ambitious diver & photographer who appreciate to be away from all but in an easy and luxurious environment.
Again Thanks to everybody at MER, especially Torben, Lauren & Mischa and not to forget Marit & Andrew

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank funrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Hello everybody
the misool eco resort is absolutely unique. Not only as to the incredible divesites covered with soft and hard corals. Paradise for Makro (pygmy seahorses, nudi branches all over) but also wide-angle (barrakuda schools, mantas, etc)
The resort itselfs combines luxury and environmental consciousness in an unique manner. The fact that it is build just using drift wood is simply amazing. The kitchen is great too, 5 meals per day between the 3 to 4 dives per day
Besides the diving, a nive boattrip to very old wall painitings and to impressive mangrove woods made it a wonderful holiday.
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raja Ampat hotels
125.5 mi away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#12 of 42 in Raja Ampat
88 reviews
126.0 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#1 of 5 in Raja Ampat
61 reviews
125.5 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#11 of 42 in Raja Ampat
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#5 of 5 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gurara Dive Resort
Gurara Dive Resort
#25 of 42 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
125.5 mi away
Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misool Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misool Eco Resort

Property: Misool Eco Resort
Address: Misool, Raja Ampat 98483, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Misool Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misool Eco Resort is an exclusive dive resort and conservation center located in the southern part of Raja Ampat, Indonesia. Our private resort island is nestled deep in a vast archipelago of uninhabited islands, in the heart of marine biodiversity. Our island and our scuba dive sites are surrounded by our very own 1220 sq km No-Take Zone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Misool Eco Hotel Raja Ampat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing