We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Kri Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kri Eco Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our first time at Raja Ampat and the introduction could not be better! To begin with the house reef is amazing. Juvenile black tip reef sharks circling around right under the cottage which sits on stilts above the water. Lots of other fish as well. The diving is superb. Mike's Point, Sardines and Arborek are nice, plenty of coral with a mass of inhabitants as well as schools of barracuda on the former two. All the staff are very helpful, dive guides spot fish and critters that are harder to find, food is wonderful and the transfers are punctual and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
61
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It is indeed a long journey, before you arrive at Kri Eco Resort, but who cares, when you get an experience beyond your expectations. Diving in Raja Ampat has been on my diving bucket list for a long time, and I was not disappointed. The diving is extraordinary with crazy colourful corals at “Melissa Garden” and “Anita Garden” at Fam and amazing schooling of fishes at “Sardines”. I can’t really leave out “Cape Kri” or “Blue Magic” just round the corner from the resort – amazing coral life, sharks, pygmy seahorses, nudi branchs and tons of fishes. Night diving included “walking” shark, robust ghost pipefish, wobbegong and all the normal night critters (shrimps, crabs etc.). Raja Ampat is for sure a must for divers - at least ones.
The resort is run very professional (arrival, transfers, daily dive schedule etc), and the staff always meets you with a smile, so you can just focus on relaxing and having a good time. The food is crazy good, and if you think you will go to Kri Eco Resort and maybe loose a few pounds during your holiday, you are so wrong.
I had a great time and will for sure return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunePedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

... as close to nature as you can be! The beautiful little wild island, comfortable bungalow, large double bed covered with a mosquito net, sunrises and sunsets seen from the porch every day, delicious, freshly fish roasted on a stone (!), very nice service... I want to go back! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewelina_Blaszczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent two weeks diving here, with the specific goal to see and document as many different kinds of fish species as possible. We were totally overwhelmed. This is THE coral reef biodiversity hotspot par excellence and this was our best diving trip ever - some of our dives are "historic" for our personal diving records in terms of species diversity and density.
The resort offered all we needed to explore it:
1. A professionally organised dive crew offering up to four dives per day to dozens of sites in the surroundings - all in small boats for 4-6 divers and usually 2 guides per boat.
2. A restaurant with a daily fixed breakfast, lunch and dinner menu (the best, most tasty, fresh and diverse food we have ever had in Indonesia - awesome, really).
3. All else we needed to feel comfortable: a simple, but clean and effective mandy-style shared bathroom, flushing toilet, mosquito nets, WiFi, enough electricity sockets to charge equipment and batteries, drinking water in the room, coffee and tea and small snacks for free, towels and water after each dive on the boat, etc ...
4. Very friendly and helpful personnel and management

We strongly appreciate the "adequate simplicity" philosophy of the hotel: Reduced to the elementary requirements to feel happy and yet quite comfortable and clean - designed for people who primarily come to see and experience the diversity of the reef. For those of you who are used to going to traditional hotels, this place is an interesting experience: "less is more" is what you learn. So yes, it is actually quite comfortable to live in a simple, palm-leaf covered hut with no air-conditioning on the reef flat. And yes, by literally living "on" the water, you do get an incomparable impression of what a reef ecosystem actually means. We also appreciated the efforts of the hotel to minimise environmental impact and for its substantial contribution to the protect the Raja Ampat!

Thank you Max, Dwaine, Ross, the dive crew and the kitchen crew, for making this possible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Much better than the upscale sister resort around the corner on the same island (Sorido), Kri Eco has the right balance and feel close to nature but with more than adequate facilities and a lot of charm at a much more reasonable price. And you also avoid the company of misbehaving spoiled brats as a bonus! Very strongly recommended for your diving holiday to Raja Ampat.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but away from the main pier is a little more private and quiet (due to generator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tortellini28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PapuaDiving, Manager at Kri Eco Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Guests from both of our resorts Kri Eco and Sorido have a first class resort and diving experience which is why we get so many guests coming back. Some guests even come back within the same year. Each resort is designed differently to appeal to different guests personal tastes. Some guests prefer the close to nature feel of Kri Eco and its elegant simplicity. For others their preference is for some Western style luxuries and with touch of sophistication.

We are confused by the comment about the generator as there are no generators or compressors at Kri Eco resort. Its usually so quiet that the only sound is the outboard engines when the dive boats leave and return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I arrived at the resort with quit different expectations from what is actually was, and left with an amazing experience in diving, people and memories for a lifetime. It is a true diving resort for people who at least have some experience, which I do not have. After a few snorkeling trips and the amazing staff being very patient and helpful to me, I went back in the water to dive again, 5 years after I got my Padi scuba certificate and a little frightened still. It was absolutely amazing and didn't get out of the water ever since. Manta rays so close you can touch them, pygmee sea horses, more turtles than you can dream of and unreal beautiful corals. My dive instructor Ross was even so nice to take some pictures of me because I had no adequate equipment for it.

Besides the amazing diving, the staff was very friendly and happy all the time, the food was amazing and very various (took all my allergies into account without a problem), accommodation homely and views that make you speechless.

Besides the amazing experience, the resort is also very involved with the local community and sustaining the Raja Ampat area.
If you're into diving (make sure you at least have your open water certificate and some experience) this is the place to be. And besides the diving, the beautiful sunsets and happy locals are already worth it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank KBoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Spent 10 days here in February. I did the research, read previous reviews and knew what to expect. However, in several ways, Kri Eco resort exceeded my expectations in the quality of accommodations, service and diving.

Kri is a charming island with many birds whose pretty singing is heard throughout the day. Bungalows are situated right on a pretty beach with turquoise water and lots of fish. I found the accommodations, although basic, to be comfortable. Electric fans are really useful and sometimes strong winds provide natural air conditioning. Outside bathrooms are relatively close. I felt that the management makes a big effort to be eco friendly, although, occasionally some garbage (plastic bottles, cans, etc) flow downstream from nearby local villages.

The service was very good. The entire staff make an effort to be friendly and helpful. Although, some of the staff and local dive guides were a bit too laid back for my taste, in my opinion, a high degree of service is maintained largely due to the efforts of Ross Pooley – an experienced and very efficient (British) head of guest relations and head dive guide. He ran the diving operations like clockwork, always focused on the guests, and I felt, raised the level of service and overall experience to five star resorts equivalent. In a place like Kri where a good dive guide is crucial, Ross made an effort to find and point out interesting fish, diligently ensured that no one touched and accidentally damaged the coral reefs and several times when I drifted a bit too far from the group, swam against the current to check that everything was ok. This level of service significantly exceeded my expectations.

Compared to my previous diving around the world, diving around Kri was outstanding. The corals were magnificent and the healthiest I’ve seen. Lots of fish, often schools, both large and small. Dive guides were adept in locating and pointing out interesting things like the pigmy sea horse which I would never find myself. There were many divers with various degrees of experience during my stay and everybody was impressed with the abundance of sea life and quality of diving.

I highly recommend Kri and will plan to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lenvindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raja Ampat
35.8 mi away
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
Papuarts Alter Native Stay
#11 of 43 in Raja Ampat
36 reviews
36.0 mi away
Waiwo Dive Resort
Waiwo Dive Resort
#1 of 5 in Raja Ampat
64 reviews
24.5 mi away
Agusta Eco Resort
Agusta Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Waisai
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
TeraAilan Heritage Resort
#5 of 5 in Raja Ampat
1 reviews
36.7 mi away
Kakatua Hostel
Kakatua Hostel
#14 of 43 in Raja Ampat
8 reviews
35.6 mi away
Hamueco Dive Resort Raja Ampat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kri Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kri Eco Resort

Property: Kri Eco Resort
Address: PT Papua Diving, Raja Ampat, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Raja Ampat
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kri Eco Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Kri Eco Hotel Papua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing