We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Loddon
Price range: $11 - $23
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we had was lovely. It was large it had plenty of room to move around with a large bathroom with walk in shower. However I asked for a double room, we got two singles fastened together, not exactly what I expected. Another let down for our stay was the lack of sleep due to an unexplained noise throughout the night. It sounded like either a drill or electric saw being used. this lasted for about 3 mins and occurred every 30 mins.This happened on 2 / 3 nights the first & last. When reported at breakfast after the first night the staff said they would look into it. The breakfast was also a bit of a let down with limited choice. Full English with toast or cereal I feel this could be easily improved, by adding a small continental choice along with fruit & yogurt.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Swan and had breakfast on three mornings. The cooked breakfast was very good with excellent locally sourced sausages and bacon. However, if you didn't want cooked breakfast, there was hardly any alternative; no porridge, no yogurt, no pastries or croissants, no pancakes, no waffles, no fresh fruit salad. Just three cereals, fruit juice and a bowl of very tired fruit (which appeared on all three mornings with less and less fruit in it). The toast was cold with a very limited choice of jam/marmalade. The breakfast room was lovely and the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful, but it was poor value when included in the expensive overnight stay. The evening meals at The Swan were great, which made the breakfast even more of a let down. They are promoting this as 4 star accommodation and breakfast; pity it isn't there yet.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lavender246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! The food here was amazing equal to fine dining. Faultless, beautifully presented and wonderful friendly staff. Even our Siberian husky was made to feel welcome.
The food was so good we visited twice while moored up along the Broads.
A lovely pub and village too. A must visit and a welcome change from the greasy pub grub at the pull in pubs along the Broads.
Simply stunning!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank huskyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Foods good, nice place, clean, good service but no atmosphere, I’d love to recommend this place but I feel no draw to go back, it’s a pity because everything else was good

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank mikemiller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

Good food and plenty of outdoor seating. Food was reasonably priced and the waitress was very helpful.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

 
Framingham Pigot, Norwich
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing