We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a few small problems”
Review of La Source Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Source Bleue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel the reception was not staffed and we had to search out someone. They showed us to the room and were very helpful despite many people arriving for a conference.
The room was on the ground floor and had its own patio with a table and chairs and 2 loungers.
The bathroom was very good but finding a wet towel was a let down and no plug in the sink.
Despite being told that there were English channels on the TV these were not available. This was mentioned but not rectified.
The restaurant was excellent and good value at 29 euros. However there were only 2 choices for the starter and main courses and did not change on our second night. The 4 courses ended up being 6 courses with the addition of a 'mise-en-bouche' and a second dessert.
The wine list was massive with wines starting at about 22 euros.
The breakfast, served in the old mill, was the best we have had in France with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon in addition to all the usual items.
The surroundings in the garden were beautiful with the source and a small lake.
There was a canal and river near the hotel with walks to the village along the canal towpath.
The hotel was very quiet and we enjoyed 2 good nights sleep.
As mentioned in other reviews there were a lot of flies in the garden, in the room and in the lounge. I killed a large number of these on the first day and was disappointed to find the bodies still on the carpet the next day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbGilberdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for La Source Bleue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Totally lives up to the good reviews here. We arrived and were greeted by Natalie and shown to our rooms, whihc are superb. Extremely well appointed, huge bed, good quality furnishings, spotlessly clean and everything working just as it should.
The grounds are worth a walk around - the blue spring is there somewhere, but we didn't find it.
We were a group of 6 and had our own private room for dinner, whihc, again was superb with first class service and an excellent wine list. Good value for money too. Breakfast was just the same - a good selection.
Now all we need to do is come up with a good reason to go again...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel which we rate as the best we have stayed in. The room was perfect with an extremely comfortable bed and great shower. The terrace looked out on to the grounds and lake making us feel very relaxed.
The restaurant is great with a fantastic menu and a wine list to go with it.
Nathalie is a great host and the chef is one of the best
We look forward to returning for another stay soon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Oxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

From check in to check out you could not ask for more.
The hotel is tucked away and very quiet. The rooms are very modern and have everything you could need and the shower is great.
We ate as a group of 14 in a private room and the food and service were worthy of any 5* hotel but not overpriced. The wine list would take you a week to read and offers somthing for all tastes and budgets.
Unfortunatly the weather was not good so we did not get a chance to sit out in the ground but from what we did see they looked well kept.
We will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a wonderful discovery this was, tucked away beside the river Marne. We received a warm welcome from Natalie, were shown to a spacious, comfortable bedroom, enjoyed a sumptuous dinner and went on our way after a lovely breakfast. All this in the beautiful rural surroundings of this charming hotel. We shall return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I want to tell you this was awful, so that we can keep the place for ourselves, but I just can't it was too good. Generous bedrooms in a very peaceful setting, a beautiful lake with the wonderful blue spring of the hotel's name and an excellent resturant. Overall it is a hidden gem which we will definitely visit again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Swissfahys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The quality and attention to detail which has been applied to every room in this quiet and serene hotel is second to non. Located next to the clear blue lake filled with trout and surrounded by dragon-fly, and far enough away from any other habitation or roads to be absolutely quiet you will find yourself instantly chilled and relaxed.

The Michelin recommended restaurant offers fabulous food and wine at a price which is complete value for money. All the staff make this a personal experience and remained friendly throughout our stay.

So the question is "would we go again?" and the answer is "we are!!! " :o)

Room Tip: Make sure you eat at the restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gudmont-Villiers
14.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Chaumont Centre Gare
13.6 mi away
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restaurant
La Grange du Relais Hotel-Restau...
#1 of 2 in Colombey-les-deux-Eglises
267 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Val
Hotel Le Grand Val
#4 of 10 in Chaumont
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Hotel des Pirates
Hotel des Pirates
#1 of 2 in Dolancourt
176 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
18.5 mi away
Bio Motel
Bio Motel
#1 of 1 in Semoutiers-Montsaon
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Source Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Source Bleue

Address: la Source Bleue | Gudmont, 52320 Gudmont-Villiers, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Gudmont-Villiers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gudmont-Villiers
Price Range: $95 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Source Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Source Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing