We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of La Source Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Source Bleue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very peaceful, comfortable, excellent bathroom, large room, our own terrace, where they brought us coffee when we arrived after a long drive. We were using it as a stop-off so only stayed one night but are now planning to stay there for a short walking holiday in the Spring. The surrounding countryside is delightful, with many inviting paths and a nearby stream.
The hotel started off as a very good restaurant and has only lately been extended to provide rooms, but it has been done very tastefully without ruining the lovely grounds and lake. The restaurant is rather expensive (though excellent) but the rooms are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was one of the nicest rooms we stayed in, in our tour of France. It was exquisite. And we stayed in a room with a jacuzzi - which was well worth it. The verandah was south facing and everything was of the highest quality. Breakfast was wonderful. I ought to be giving it five stars. But our whole experience was spoiled by a plague of flies. I mean, I have never experienced so many flies - at least twenty in our bedroom. I had to go onto the verandah to get a break from them. Mercifully they slept at night. But at daybreak they started attacking again. We could not rest. I guess from the other reviews that we were probably unlucky. Maybe it was because it was September. (The owners were absent.) I would love to return - but I will bring something to kill the flies!! I really am sorry to write such a negative review.

Room Tip: 7 and 12 look to be the best if you like a good bathroom. 7 is a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandDiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for one night whilst travelling through to Italy, what a find! The hotel is an old paper mill in a truely beautiful setting, dating back to 1600's. A more modern accomadation building has been very tastefully decorated , with rooms having an art deco style interior, all with view over mill pond, plus balcony/patio area. Superb italian style shower. The hotel is owned by a husband and wife who are extremely friendly and helpful, and give the place a very relaxed feel, not stuffy at all.
For dinner we opted for 38 euro set menu. 5 courses of lovely french cuisine. As has been previously mentioned watch the wine list though, prices range from 12 euro's to over 600! You know the food's good when the restuarant was full of locals. Michelin recommended apparently.
Room itself was only 75 euro's a night, great value. We definitely plan to stop here again, only next time will arrive early to fully appreciate location.

Room Tip: don't be put off by remote location, easy to find...follow the railway line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayAddictSuffok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Utterley delightful, setting, design and service could not be faulted. Would definitely return. Fantastic value for money and a great way to start your holiday. Food was wonderful but I thought the breakfast was particularly good.

Room Tip: All fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Country_Bumpkin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent one night at this fabulous location with our dog en route to London from our property in Switzerland which we rent out, so this review is written with an owners eye for detail. Le Source Bleue is convenient for the motorway but is sufficiently far away to be entirely tranquil and very rural. It is well signposted from the main roads.

On arrival we were nicely welcomed in person by Nathalie the owner and upgraded at no extra charge to the separate 2-storey beautifully renovated stone outbuilding. All fixtures and fittings were first class and how nice to see that the owners haven't scrimped on such things. Spotlessly clean too which is essential.

Lovely dinner and nice breakfast despite the surprisingly ghastly tepid cafe au lait that we ordered (another couple of tiny criticisms - all the brown squidgy bananas could have been removed from the fruit basket, and there could perhaps have been more than one salt & pepper condiment in the room) served in a super high-ceilinged part of the main house.

Nathalie the owner was the epitome of superb customer service and the decor and luxury styling of La Source Bleue must surely be to her credit.

The house has been in Nathalie's husband's family for many years and we loved the 5+ acres of grounds. Particularly the blue grotto/spring feeding the lake and millstream. SO VERY BLUE!! The clarity of the water is incredible. Worth a visit in its own right.

Lovely attention to detail with excellent quality sun-loungers, and a canoe for more intrepid guests.

For E110 plus a fixed price dinner of E38 each (3 options - we chose the middle 3-course option) we thought this was good value considering the terrific location, the outstanding quality of the place, the excellent customer service, and the great food. The wine list was extremely well thought through and one could be very extravagant with that and also the a la carte menu if so desired.

Compared to other chateaux we've stayed in the region, this renovated mill house was head and shoulders better value and quality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If there's just 2 of you (with or without a dog!) the renovated 2-storey stone outbuilding (room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosiedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wonderful hotel and fabulous restaurant .old converted mill with new boutique bedrooms we ate outside in courtyard having the set 50e menu choose one la mer and one la terre probably the best food I have eaten and beautifully presented 7 courses .dont eat for a day before you go! Excellent value for money .Great stop over going to zeebrugge

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookie186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is really off the beaten track, in beautiful surroundings, by a marvelous lake stocked with trout, and close to the canal and river Marne. Lots of nice walking all about. The source blue is a colourful spring. My wife loved everything about this. The rooms are all stunningly decorated, and Natalie, who runs it has really excellent taste. So everything looks fabulous. The breakfasts are good, and the evening meals are of a very good gastronomic standard, quite French and very well cooked and presented. The balconies get plenty of sun if it is sunny.
The only drawback is getting there, as both Gumont and Villiers, the two nearby towns are singularly unattractive and when we drove through them my heart sank as I expected something similar despite the reviews I read. But the hotel is in the nearby countryside and just exceptionally nice. We would have stayed there longer if we hadn't booked somewhere else. We'd definitely go back!!!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ancientpistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Source Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Source Bleue

Address: la Source Bleue | Gudmont, 52320 Gudmont-Villiers, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haute-Marne > Gudmont-Villiers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gudmont-Villiers
Price Range: $93 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Source Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Source Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing