We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Unique vacation spot”
Review of Bruce Bay Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruce Bay Cottages
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Unique vacation spot”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The cottages and lighthouse are in a beautiful location and have quaint charm and everything you need to have a fun outdoors vacation. Hosts Pat and Larry have worked hard to get the buildings, grounds, and trails into shape for guests. Value for the money is excellent, and I would recommend this experience on Lake Superior to those looking for a real lakeside vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJSTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed for two nights at Bruce Bay cottages and loved every minute. Pat and Larry were very welcoming and very interested in making our stay the best it could be. The cottages are cute and well-maintained with everything you would need, and the lake views are amazing. Beautiful location, great sunsets, and we wish it were closer so we could go back every weekend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stay at the Lighthouse annually in late October. The accommodations are wonderful with virtually all the facilities of home. The location offers much, including sitting outside watching the water on Lake Huron (or watching one's ship come in to the dock across the bay), hiking on many trails, visiting the small shops in town, and having dinner at the German restaurant downtown. It's not a long drive to Sault Ste. Marie or to Thessalon. We plan to return every year until we either are no longer able to drive or we run out of money.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erie910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My family loved the cottage we rented #8. We enjoyed exploring the island on foot, canoe and kiyak. It was the most relaxing stay we had on our trip across Canada. My wife and three kids where very comfortable in this spacious cottage. We have booked again for this August.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank youngZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruce Mines
10.0 mi away
Carolyn Beach Inn & Restaurant
18.9 mi away
Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct
Drummond Island Resort and Confe...
#1 of 2 in Drummond Island
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bavarian Inn
The Bavarian Inn
#1 of 1 in Bruce Mines
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Beach Inn
Hilton Beach Inn
#1 of 5 in St. Joseph Island
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Bay Cottages

Property: Bruce Bay Cottages
Address: 82 French Island Road, Bruce Mines, Ontario P0R 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Bruce Mines
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bruce Mines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bruce Bay Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to nature on 2 private islands and stay in a cozy waterfront cottage on Lake Huron or the McKay Island Lighthouse. Complimentary bikes, canoes and kayaks. Bruce Mines is 45 minutes from Sault Ste Marie and the International Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Bruce Bay Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruce Bay Cottages Bruce Mines, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing